We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

mist at Cape Tribulation

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (147)
Room & Suite (44)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Welcome Pack at mist at Cape Tribulation!
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 special hotel in Cape Tribulation
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled gently at the foot of Mount Sorrow and amidst the majestic rainforest of Cape Tribulation, mist offers three newly completed Air conditioned pavilions that blend a balance of luxury and eco accommodation. Located in Cape Tribulation, where the rainforest meets the reef, mist is perfectly nestled into the natural environment and complimenting its unique surroundings boasting stunning views of the Rainforest. Built with the comfort of our guests at the centre of every design aspect, mist introduces light, airy, modern and fresh accommodation to the rainforest. Freestanding and spacious, with expansive views, mist is the newest luxury boutique accommodation offering 50 sq mt of living space. At mist we believe it’s the details that make your stay remarkable, to ensure you have a luxury escape from the everyday you will sleep on an enormous king size, in your self contained pavilion, with large private deck, and equipped kitchen. For those that Book Direct with us, receive a full welcome pack!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Hiking
Horseback riding
BBQ facilities
Mosquito net
Snorkelling
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Seating area
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Hotel links
Special Offer:Welcome Pack at mist at Cape Tribulation!
134Reviews0Q+A25Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 126
  • 3
  • 3
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
bray493047 wrote a review Nov 2023
Staffordshire, United Kingdom1 contribution
Decided after arrival to stay at alternative accommodation. Be warned, it's not as described. Extremely poor customer service, another couple staying at the same time also wanted to leave. I had a full refund off booking.com
Read more
Review collected with Tripadvisor’s Reputation Pro
Date of stay: November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lilian Matulich, Owner at mist at Cape Tribulation
Responded 21 Nov 2023
I'm unable to respond effectively to your review as you have been vague with your comments. For the record, bookings.com did not refund you, we refunded you and we'll refrain in publicly explaining why we did. Please note that the other couple you have referenced are free to submit their own review and I look forward to constructive feedback from them so as we can focus on providing better customer service if that is what was actually lacking with your experience. We hope you enjoy the remainder of your holiday.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
440graemeb wrote a review Oct 2023
Sydney, Australia1 contribution
+1
Property's Favourite Review
An absolute gem at the end of a dirt (track) street, but still in close proximity to the beaches, board walks and other amenities. We found our unit at Mist to be very well appointed, very clean and with meticulous attention to detail. Adequate cooking facilities were provided including a BBQ on the large verandah. The setting was very quiet and peaceful as long as you don't mind the odd noisy bird call most mornings. The only downside (if there is one) is the trek from the carpark to the unit may be a little daunting for some, but despite our "advancing" years presented no problems for us. If intending to do your own cooking, pay heed to Lillian's advice and ensure you purchase all your food items before you cross the Daintree River as there is limited facilities only in Cape Tribulation. Food shopping at Mossman and Port Douglas is suggested. If cooking is not your thing, there is a number of good quality dining venues in the area. Should we ever get the opportunity to travel to Cape Tribulation again, we would not hesitate to book the Mist again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lilian Matulich, Owner at mist at Cape Tribulation
Responded 23 Oct 2023
Thank you for your review and we enjoyed hosting you both and look forward to your next visit to our magnificent rainforest and reef.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mbrand202944 wrote a review Nov 2023
Nadi, Fiji1 contribution
Excellent stay and fantastic hosts. Very clean, great pet checkin details and super helpful with arranging tours. Superb location for visiting all the top sites and restaurants. Highly recommend and thanks
Read more
Review collected with Tripadvisor’s Reputation Pro
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lilian Matulich, Owner at mist at Cape Tribulation
Responded 4 Nov 2023
Thank you for the review and we do hope you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday and maybe one day we'll see you where the Rainforest Meets the Reef!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tracey W wrote a review Oct 2023
Thirroul, Australia4 contributions
Mist was the perfect venue for us. The pavilions are modern and well equipped and just what we needed for a 3 night stay. The location is beautiful as you feel like you are a millions miles away from anyone and right in the middle of nature to help you relax and get off the grid. Location was excellent for the activities we did. Lillian was lovely and we got everything we needed. I would highly recommend Mist for a couple for a getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lilian Matulich, Owner at mist at Cape Tribulation
Responded 27 Oct 2023
Thank you for your review and I'm thrilled you obtained the tonic for a great break in the Daintree and we are please we are achieving our aim of providing a comfortable base from which to explore our amazing region and sometimes a couple of days is just not enough...
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Magdalena K wrote a review Oct 2023
4 contributions
Experience the luxury cabin in the tropics, the tranquillity of the surroundings, and the warm hospitality of our lovely host Lilian. Our cabin had everything we needed and more for a relaxing getaway, including a BBQ on our own deck. Simply bring your own wine and food, and enjoy!
Read more
Review collected with Tripadvisor’s Reputation Pro
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lilian Matulich, Owner at mist at Cape Tribulation
Responded 17 Oct 2023
Thank you for the kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your time in the Daintree and it was a pleasure hosting you and we do hope you consider a return in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Virginia W wrote a review Oct 2023
Sydney, Australia47 contributions46 helpful votes
Beautiful location on Rainforest setting, accommodation very comfortable with absolutely everything provided, even binoculars for bird watching. Outdoor balcony with daybed. Fully equipped kitchen with outdoor BBQ, complimentary cheese board, crackers and champagne on arrival, complimentary beer and water. Fridge stocked with condiments, homestyle jams, pod coffee machine. Very high class. Only item lacking was hairdryer due to off grid electricity but we managed. Wifi worked perfectly. Beautiful new bathroom, plenty of towels. Plenty of PowerPoints. There is a small natural water hole for dipping amongst the trees a short walk from the accommodation on this beautiful property. The owner, Lilian, who greeted us was very welcoming, kind, and obliging.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lilian Matulich, Owner at mist at Cape Tribulation
Responded 15 Oct 2023
Thank you very much for the review. We agree that we have a magnificent location and we try to offer something special for those that book direct and through LE. We acknowledge that many guests wish a hair dryer and we are more than happy to provide on request and thank you for your understanding on our off-grid location.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cruiser06932179621 wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
My partner and I really needed some time to detach and distance ourselves from our intense working lives and this was the perfect solution. Remote enough to settle our nerves but still comfortable and luxurious enough to feel like we were spoiling ourselves. No hesitation to recommend, our host Lillian was very attentive and welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Choose your season wisely
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lilian Matulich, Owner at mist at Cape Tribulation
Responded 24 Sept 2023
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to seeing you back in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Georgina B wrote a review Sept 2023
Kew, Australia4 contributions3 helpful votes
While the pavilions are well equipped, comfortable & private it’s important to note a few things. Checking in is a nightmare. Unable to find where to check in or indeed anyone to help us check in. There is no pool (as mentioned in both Booking.com & TripAdvisor) , no breakfast hamper (as promised), no gas in the bbq gas bottle & most importantly no remote controls for the air con (they are set to ‘fan only’) The latter becoming a shambles as we were lied to, that they were awaiting new remote controls to be delivered, then mysteriously they were found (minus batteries) We appreciate they are off off grid & need to be mindful of excessive power usage. How you could stay here in the height of summer, I don’t know. Being gifted a bottle of champagne for our troubles hardly made up for the experience with the prompt to ‘please leave a good review’
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lilian Matulich, Owner at mist at Cape Tribulation
Responded 24 Sept 2023
Hi, thank you for your review and hopefully we can clear up and clarify your comments as below. Reception. Normally as owner managers, when available, we prefer to meet our guests in the carpark to tell them about the layout of the property and a watering hole (which has been mistaken for a swimming pool and we'll have this corrected) and other elements of the area, the property and the room facilities. However, we do offer self-check in for our guests, especially those that arrive later in the afternoon or evening. We do have instructions on how to self-check in and obviously we need to improve on these instructions and will update these and including the map on the location of the guest's pavilion of which with three pavilions hopefully will remove any poor experiences that you had suffered. Swimming pool Unfortunately, booking agent websites (bookings.com as an example) do not have free text fields to explain the features of a property. We have a natural small pool in the rainforest which we feel is an opportunity for guests to use and we find it quite relaxing as it provides a cool and quiet environment to cool off. Furthermore, as tree kangaroos have been spotted in that area, it is an opportunity to experience their presence in the area. We have considered many times in developing this natural pool but have decided against this so as to maintain the environment and hopefully encourage more wildlife to remain in the area. Check-in As a small and exclusive property, we prefer to check in our guests in the room and meet our guests as they drive in or at the carpark. As mentioned, some guests request or prefer a self check in and we do provide instructions of which I am sorry we missed in providing these to you both. Occasionally we are unable to check in our guests and do ensure we contact guests beforehand explaining the process and catch up as soon as we can afterwards. We do have details of the room and property in a compendium in the room which generally is enough to understand the key points. As onsite owner managers, we are always available to assist or explain any aspect of the room, property or area. Aircon. Please, I did not lie to you and can assure you we have ordered new remotes and I remembered we still had the old remotes which I checked and provided to you. However, we are not yet convinced we need to install the remotes as we have our room air conditioners serviced and reset every six months and the air conditioning technician sets the temperature and mode relevant to the time of year. Please note, the air conditioners work effectively when the doors and windows closed. Our area has extremes in humidity and there is an ideal setting of the temperatures and mode of the units hence why we have our technicians undertake these for us. We will make it clear to our guests and update our compendium to explain this point. Gas bottles We do check gas levels each time we clean the rooms and replace the gas when the safety gas regulator indicates they are low. In this case our housekeeper overlooked this and do apologise that we inconvenienced you in this case and we did hope the champange was an adequate expression of this inconvenience and will aim to do better. As an assurance, we have many spare bottles on site to address any low gas situation asap. The Breakfast hamper. We truly to apologise for misrepresenting you on the breakfast hamper. Breakfast hampers (among other things) are generally only for those that book directly with us and not through booking agents. However, we have found that we have had significant wastage and are moving away from hampers to providing cafe vouchers (to those that book directly or as part of promotions with our booking partners). We overlooked our welcome email that was sent to you and incorrectly stated the inclusion of the breakfast starter pack and we have addressed that part of our processes. We truly do apologise for the inconveniences and upsetting you in your short break in the Daintree and our mission is to provide a trouble free and comfortable base of which to explore everything the Daintree has to offer and do apologise our gift of champange didn't relieve your frustrations and will aim to do better. Please, one final and very important thing, I did not ask you for a good review. I never ask any of our guests to submit a review and our systems only encourage guests to submit a review. We take these reviews very seriously and we strongly believe your and every guest's feedback is important for us to understand if we are meeting our own standards in meeting our mission. Kind regards, Lilian
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
D and N wrote a review Aug 2023
58 contributions26 helpful votes
This property has everything you would want for a Cape Trib stay. Host Lilian provided detailed instructions on location as well as suggestions for where to eat and things to do. Situated in the rainforest but with easy access it offers superior accommodation. Private but very roomy with a large undercover deck and bbq. Sensational views of the verdant hills. Outstanding.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lilian Matulich, Owner at mist at Cape Tribulation
Responded 29 Aug 2023
Thank you for your beautiful review. It was a pleasure hosting you. Our mission is to ensure that we provide a comfortable base to enable our guests to take in the ambience of the Daintree. We hope to see you again in the future and kind regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kevin W wrote a review Aug 2023
Sydney, Australia32 contributions6 helpful votes
Stylish seclusion where the rainforest meets the sea. Beautiful, ultra modern styled self contained, studio cabins. All done with sustainability and isolation in mind. Central to major Cape Trib attractions but still the feeling of being alone, where the road ends.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Your hostess provides a few grocery essentials to get you started but breakfast foods and...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cape Tribulation area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$401 - AU$718 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandDaintree RegionCape Tribulation
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MIST AT CAPE TRIBULATION: 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Specialty Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about mist at Cape Tribulation
Which popular attractions are close to mist at Cape Tribulation?
Nearby attractions include Daintree National Park (1.7 km), Marrdja Botanical Walk (1.3 km), and Dubuji Boardwalk (4.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at mist at Cape Tribulation?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea.
Which room amenities are available at mist at Cape Tribulation?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at mist at Cape Tribulation?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at mist at Cape Tribulation?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to mist at Cape Tribulation?
Conveniently located restaurants include Whet Restaurant, Turtle Rock Cafe, and Tides Bar & Restaurant.