We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bush Bunks

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Bush Bunks
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bush Bunks
See the most recent reviews
Showing 35: English reviews
Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewed 22 December 2013

we went to bogie river house and it is a fantastic place, beautiful tidy accomodation, gorgeous grounds, very australian experience...loved it...fabulous hosts, Terry & John. they are very proud of the hard work they put into the property and are obviously endeavouring to raise standards beyond backpackers who don't abide by australian customs and rules....well done to bogie river staff....we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bianca s
John V, Guest Relations Manager at Bush Bunks, responded to this review

Thankyou for staying with us in our ealry stages, it was wonderful to meet new people and share expereinces and ideas. we hope to see you again one day

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights, at first the owner Terri was nothing short of helpful. That soon changed once we were in the door and she had our passports as a "security deposit". I worked on a nearby farm and my travel partner worked in the Bogie River Bush Bunks to cover both our accommodation costs. Slowly Terri's attitude...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Kevin C
glendascharli, Manager at Bush Bunks, responded to this review

We have many backpackers who work from here and save their money for their travels and this years have been great BUT there are a small minority that don't come on the same agenda. Kevin C obtained work within one day but was sacked by his employer after one week, he left owing a fellow backpacker money, he signed an...

cannonvale
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have just returned from an unusual experience - the Bogie River Bush House. It is a 'b 'n' b' full of character run by delightfully hospitable Glenda and Erni plus an equally delightful Terri who is taking over the reins shortly. Pretty rooms, comfy beds, immaculate shared bathroom in such interesting surroundings. The 'wild but tame' kangaroos and wallabies...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sheena B
John V, Guest Relations Manager at Bush Bunks, responded to this review

Having guests that are looking for something just a little different and in turn take the time to share their travels and experiences is what a break away is all about, its always a pleasure to look after like minded people.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed at this place in June 2013 and were very disappointed with the standard of accommodation, the lack of amenities and the very unfriendly attitude of Glenda, the host. The room was the smallest I had ever stayed in, it was only possible to have one person moving around the room at a time and was expensive. Glenda was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank 3Dan
glendascharli, Owner at Bush Bunks, responded to this review

Sadly one can only try to be accommodating and advise people before they stay, this guest was advised of room size, cost and that we were booked out for the weekend, On offering breakfast or evening meal which I do for all my guests because of the location I was rebuffed...... I couldn't do any more

Airlie Beach
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This last weekend, The Zonta Cl;ub of the Whitsundays had their annual changeover event at Bogie River Bush House. I had stayed there many times before as part of The Rotary Club of Airlie Beach but this is the first time I was able to introduce this wonderful resort to my friends in Zonta. 7 couples stayed over night and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RozAirlieBeach
Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I had the greatest pleasure of celebrating my 70th birthday with my wife Maureen and close family members with a weekend at the Bogie River Bush House. Ernie and Glenda catered to all of our needs and requests and made our stay a memorable and joyous occasion. The food and accommodation were excellent and we all had a relaxing and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivan C
Bowen, Australia
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We recently stayed overnight at the Bogie River Bush House and were amazed by our relaxed bush experience. The children were entertained in the Australia shaped pool, kids' cubby area, games room and the creek. They definitely loved hanging out and feeding the tame kangaroos that cruise around the property. This allowed us time to relax by the bar with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 721JulieM
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 18 March 2013

To be fair, if you are a normal paying guest and not a backpacker, the owners make your stay unique and memorable. They are hard-working people that established a great place over the last decades. It truly is an "oasis in the bush" or "a magic place to stay" to quote other people. But every magic place has its downside....

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Lucy S
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 12 March 2013

The original owners are back after 4 years of poor management. I loved this place more than anywhere I have stayed in the world. The house and property are special, handcrafted and designed for elegant, simple comfort. There is beautiful hardwood furniture everywhere in little nooks for seating. The beds and airy rooms are perfect. There is free wifi, free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrBug1
Cannonvale, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 4 November 2012

A great place for a local overnight getaway. Ernie was such a gentleman (unfortunately Glenda was away). You can hear his passions for the place in his voice. Treatment of his guests, including the backpackers was excellent

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shane B

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowen hotels
49.6 km away
Rose Bay Resort
Rose Bay Resort
#2 of 8 in Bowen
109 reviews
46.0 km away
The Pearly Shell Motel
42.6 km away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#5 of 8 in Bowen
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.9 km away
Bluewater Harbour Motel
48.6 km away
Palm View Holiday Apartments
50.1 km away
Horseshoe Bay Resort
Horseshoe Bay Resort
#3 of 5 in Bowen
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Its hard to find a more relaxed atmosphere than the Bush House located a short 40 minute drive West of Bowen in Whitsunday region. The property is set on 25 acres of virgin bushland on the banks of the Bogie River with visiting wildlife and houses built from recycled materials. The B&B accommodation consists of 11 Queen rooms, 2 also have single bunk beds for families, all B&B rooms are air-conditioned. The main B&B lounge area has a large flat screen TV with most channels and movies, limited wireless internet is available.The bunkhouse has 4 rooms and sleeps 12 people and has ceiling fans.The Licensed Restaurant is open to the public as well as catering for house guests and also has a large flat screen TV, games room including darts, pool and table tennis free of charge. The swimming pool which is 12m x 6m and in the shape of Australia is set in tropical palms beside the restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bush Bunks

Address: The BogieRiver Bush House | 284 Normanby Road, Bowen, Queensland, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Bowen
Price Range: $25 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bush Bunks 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Bush Bunks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bogie River Bush House Hotel Bowen
Bush Bunks Bowen, Queensland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bush Bunks staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the bedrooms are beautiful”
JaymieOK, 5 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to book/enquire well in advance.”
Postcard_Diary, 26 Jan 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are top notch”
yvstS, 15 Apr 2014 | Read review
“You can choose whichever room you want from those that are available. They are all gorgeous.”
Paula_Boo_11, 16 Mar 2012 | Read review
4 of 4