We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms

Hotels.comUSD 123*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

435 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 435: English reviews
Start your review of Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were staying at Fantinos to attend our son's wedding which was at Byland Abbey. The location of the hotel was perfect. We ate in the restaurant on the Friday night which was very good and the breakfasts were excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chardy_126197
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Came with friends for a meal on a quiet midweek evening. Lovely ambience and decor in the various rooms. Staff were knowledgeable about drinks and their accompaniments. Food was ok but apparently not up to their usual standard. Pizza's from the pizza oven were very good. Will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivy291104
Bedale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My retirement meal was held at this restaurant. The food was wonderful, the service superb. A delightful sitting room where we all gathered before and after the meal. Nothing was too much trouble for all the staff. I would not hesitate to highly recommend this venue and the fabulous staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susannejames
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Enjoyed a one night stay on route to Edinburgh. Peaceful location and views from the village towards the moors. Beautiful B&B. Helpful welcome. Lovely meal in the restaurant - great decor and liked that the tables were spaced out and not on top of each other. Good breakfast too. Thank you.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judi4B
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic review. We hope to see you again very soon.

Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this lovely inn for 2 nights while enjoying the Moors! Our room was very comfortable and spacious, with a large ensuite bathroom. The staff are so friendly and helpful! We had dinner both evenings in their charming Italian restaurant. As we are vegan, we were unsure if they could accommodate us. The first evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol Ann B
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this fantastic review. We are all delighted you had such a good stay here at Fantinos.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A really nice stay in a comfortable room and having the Italian Restaurant as well is a real bonus. Within easy walking distance of the town and the racecourse. We will definitely come back for another stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank janesD2243BC
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review.

RUNCORN
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was lovely. The bar and restaurant very quirky, we loved it. Breakfast was good, enjoyed by all. We stayed on a Sunday for the family race day, unfortunately the restaurant closes as 3pm which was a shame. We did however visit the Thai in Thirsk which was really, really nice. Would visit all again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha M
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, we do hope you visit us again soon.

Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great find - lovely authentic high quality Italian food in the evening. Breakfast was good too - nice rich coffee, good quality bacon sandwiches and a very impressive granola/yoghurt pot. The rooms are basic but clean, the bed is very comfortable with crisp linen. There is plenty of water and the shower is powerful. A great stop over place...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaytie66
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this fantastic review, we are all delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

washington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My mother and farther had booked in for four days , but unfortunately my farther became I'll on their arrival so had to return home. They were charged for what would have been there entire stay over £500 when they in fact due to health reason they left after 1 afternoon. I fined this totally despicable on the hotels part.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank adrobinson007rian
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

I am saddened that you felt that our handling of your parents situation was unfair. We did discuss this fully with both your mother and father and they said on numerous occasions that they understood that we were full. I am happy to discuss this further with either you or your parents so we can find a way to reinstate...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here and I have got to say it is on parr with the Hyatt regency in Miami , except fantinos is friendlier and the breakfast is better. The rooms here are beautiful and the staff second to none. Very clean and in a beautiful area. We will be going back again soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertcarr2017
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this fantastic review, we are all delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
2.0 km away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
803 reviews
8.4 km away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
2.0 km away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thirsk
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
16.9 km away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
452 reviews
3.1 km away
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are an Italian restaurant with 16 bedrooms. We also have a fantastic bar serving great Yorkshire beers and Italian lagers and wines. Our rooms are very well appointed and we only use the finest white cotton sheets and lovely fluffy towels. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms

Address: Church Farm Front Street | Sowerby, Thirsk YO7 1JF, England (Formerly Oswalds Restaurant with Rooms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Price Range: $158 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswalds Restaurant With Rooms Hotel Thirsk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Poynton
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The whole place was nice. The 2 bed suite great for a family or friends.”
samanthamW9491OZ, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Eat all the goodies”
joansieg, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the Annex with one other couple and it was great to have an extra loungearea”
Graeme79, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I've stayed in most of the rooms and they are all great”
andymuss1964, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“a 7 minute stroll from the market street in Thirsk and a welcome haven”
SusanM411, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 123* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 123
TravelocityUSD 123
Priceline
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates