We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

White Horse Lodge Hotel

PricelineUSD 70*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
White Horse Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 186: English reviews
Start your review of White Horse Lodge Hotel
 Click to rate
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Absolutely ridiculous, one person serving a 45 person event. Drinks were served in warm glasses on a 23 degree day. There was no fruit for the pimms. The poor girl behind the bar was so stressed she didn't smile at any guests. The food was left in 23 degree heat for god knows how long on the trays wrapped in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steph H
Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stay in 2 or 3 different hotels each week and this was sadly one of the worst experiences I've had. Booked a week in advance but on arrival was told the restaurant was shut so I'd have to drive in to town to eat. Thought I could get a drink when I returned but no as the bar shuts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
Kimberley P, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our Hotel, I've looked over your comments and I'm dealing with that certain staff member immediately – I’m sorry that I wasn’t on shift when you were at the hotel to discuss these issues face to face. If you wish to speak to me directly please contact the hotel by phone or email – I’ll be...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived at hotel thought it looked nice from the outside. When we checked in at reception asked about food, was told no food on as they had a party booked that night. So we were shown to our room and I thought it was a ok until I noticed crumbs on the floor. Also when I pulled sheets back one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bessieblot1988
Kimberley P, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and providing the comment you have stated in the review. I have address the cleanliness issue with housekeeping as this is a recurring issue, I'm not satisfied that what you stated in the review is what you experience and I’ll make sure that it won’t happen again in the future I’m due to make...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited on Sunday for a Carvery Lunch, a small dining area and bar, very busy so you need to book in advance. The food was very good and the staff very very friendly. One negative was my wife found the ladies toilets were dated and could have been a bit cleaner. We would definitely return as it was a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
Kimberley P, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for review our Sunday Carvery, We are glad you enjoyed our Sunday Carvery, and found our staff helpful and friendly. We have a routine system for the cleaning of the hotel, and we are due a few changes regards to the décor of the hotel to bring some aspects of the hotel into a modern aspect. Thank you...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Got in the room late at night to find no pillows, no cups, no towels and no glasses. Breakfast was poor and not enjoyable. No atmosphere in the place at all, shame as it's in a lovely location. OVERPRICED at £100 for the night, was worth no more than £50 for the service received. Definitely won't be going again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
Kimberley P, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I apologize for not having pillows within the room, however if did ring the hotel for assistance we would of therefore got you everything you require as the phone would of been transfer to the night porter phone and they would of got you the pillows and extra you may need The reasoning for...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In much need of some investment, overall very dated. Showers are low pressure, no WiFi, booking system needs manual emails to confirm or make changes, food basic at best, front door locked at 10:30, limited soundproofing between rooms etc. Staff were great and doing their best to make up for the short comings, but we plan to be regularly in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fly400
Kimberley P, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I can confirm and comment on a few things you've mention within your review. I can confirm that the Wi-Fi has been upgraded and can be accessed throughout the hotel and is free to use. Regards to the doors being locked at 10.30pm - 11. We do allow guest to return later than that...

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2017

We choose this hotel in Thirsk because it allowed dogs, but they wanted £15 a night which we thought was bit steep as our wee dog has her own bed and we feed her, so to pay £30 for the 2 night stay for her to share our room space was bit much, we are used to paying £10 or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
Kimberley P, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for review our hotel, I can now inform all future guests that the Wi-Fi has now been upgraded and can be access in all locations in the hotel include the bedrooms. We are due an upgrade with the bathroom to make them more suitable with the size of the bathroom. I've taken all other comment on board will...

Reviewed 11 April 2017

This accommodation is tired, in need of refurbishment and dirty. My experience with the staff (receptionist) was that she was unprofessional and rude. Booked in seen the conditions and decided not to stay at this hotel due to standards and again the receptionist who had also taken on the role of customer service made it clear there would be no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xtresawnjiyt
Kimberley P, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Regards to your review - We are not entitled to give refunds after the rooms have been in use and I can ensure that all rooms are checked prior to guests checking in to make sure all cleaning standards are met. Regards K Pilkington, Guest Service Manager

Notts. UK
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 2 nights with a Groupon voucher which was a very good deal. We felt that we hot excellent value for money. The room and bathroom were small but very clean and comfortable. The bar and restaurant areas are a little sparse and higgledy piggledy but this did not effect the service we received. With only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suziebabe
Kimberley P, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, The chefs are glad that you enjoyed the food you received, I'm happy that you're happy with the overall service that you received by our front of house member of staff I'll be more than happy to welcome you again at the hotel Thank you again Kind regards K Pilkington, Guest Service Manager

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Went here with a groupon voucher, the food was very well cooked and tasted delicous. We ate at 2.30 and unfortunately the food had gone luke warm,it didnt really bother me but for anyone who liked their food piping hot would have been dissapointed. Very friendly staff. The place itself seemed sort of disjointed and dated. There was a table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fireguards
Kimberley P, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review, I'm glad that you enjoyed the Carvery - I have taken notes regards to the temperature of the food when it gets later in the afternoon and layout of the Carvery - I'll be making a few changes with what you stated to make sure the food is hot all the time. Thank you...

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
2.1 km away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
804 reviews
2.1 km away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thirsk
436 reviews
8.0 km away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 km away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
15.4 km away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
279 reviews
3.1 km away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
White Horse Lodge Hotel is 3 star AA rated offering comfortable accommodation with spacious bar and restaurant facilities, free WIFI and a large free car park. Ideally situated 1 mile out of Thirsk in beautiful countryside close to Sutton Bank, within easy reach of the Yorkshire Dales, National Park, York and 10 minutes to the A1. ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Horse Lodge Hotel

Address: Sutton Road, Thirsk YO7 2ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Price Range: $117 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your White Horse Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from White Horse Lodge Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Grimsby, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Grimsby, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from White Horse Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“field next door has been laid out for static caravans so it could well become busy in the Summer with those staying in the caravans.”
SpudRotherham, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are ok.”
michael9991158798, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room faced the road but rooms at back had a lovely view”
, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Cannot think of one”
bsrc2016, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for wifi code”
SandraOllyGee, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 70* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 70
LateRooms.comUSD 70
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates