We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The White Horse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brancaster Staithe
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The White Horse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

525 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 525: English reviews
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

In October, I organised to meet good friends of ours at The White Horse as part of my husbands birthday celebrations, as it is his favourite Norfolk Restaurant. We love the location and the gorgeous style and decor as much as the food . On this occasion the Sunday roast was delicious and the service exemplary. Our 17 year daughter...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank markbutters
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Husbands birthday celebrations. We are always so delighted to host those extra special days, to help create those lasting memories. Thank you for your support over the last 15+ years, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Christina

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is the second time we have stayed at the White Horse and it managed again to provide a fabulous winter break. The staff are exceptional, very friendly and so willing to help and make the stay comfortable. The bar menu was interesting, well cooked and presented. The breakfast is exceptional. It is a splendid pub/hotel that manages to keep...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jemc159
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to have welcomed you back. I am delighted to read your feedback around my staff, I have passed this on and they are all so happy with your comments. Come and visit us again soon. Kind Regards Christina

St Ippolyts, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

At short notice we were accommodated with a lovely room (12) and a table for 6 for a special dinner. Old school friends and wives from 4 , 3 and 2 hours drive away for a Norfolk treat.we are not disappointed. Local Beers following the England Win against Argentina ,watched at the Jolly Sailor ( sister pub of white horse)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Dear Jon M, We were delighted to be able to host you at short notice. I am so pleased that you had a wonderful experience with us. It sounds like you had a great weekend. I will pass on the great feedback to my team, the will be over the moon with your comments. Kind Regards Christina

Fakenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have visited the restaurant as a couple and with family and are never disappointed. There is always lots of choice, especially for the vegetarians and non red meat eaters in he family. The fish is always fresh and beautifully cooked. Good choice of wines and light, bright atmosphere with views of the marshes just keeps us coming back for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eeore54
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased that you can always find something on our menu that suits. We try to cater for all people. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Christina

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic night perfect room for us and our doggie ! Lovely staff and delicious food and wine ...very comfortable throughout ...breakfast was superb ...the views from the hotel are stunning ....bedroom accommodation is one I could dream of having in my own home ! Blanket and doggie biscuits provided for Lucca our collie .....patio area and view to the staithe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelle966wastell
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review. We love adding those extra touches to our guests stay such as the doggie treats in the room. I am glad that you braved the fresh weather and took in the stars on the patio area. Hopefully you can come and visit us again soon. Kind Regards Christina

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first visit. And we would certainly go again. Our Room was fine although the view of the marshes over the dining area conservatory roof with pretty steel chimneys to the right wasn't quite what we expected. but that is a picky point. The bathroom was very good and so was the bedroom.And whole place was warm without...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Merlin1946
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you had a wonderful experience. I will pass on your feedback to my team who will be so pleased with your kind words. Come and visit us in the summer, you can dine al fresco on our terrace, and the sunsets are amazing. We look forward...

Bewdley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The pub (hotel?) is superb. Our room overlooking the sea mean't that you didn't have to leave your bed to go birdwatching. The meals were excellent and in particular the annual fish evening tasting menu. My only criticism would be the wine list which whilst catholic was a little on the pricey side for the lower end. Having said that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pauln690
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am so pleased that you had a great time. Our annual seafood night is always a fun experience for those involved, it allows us to showcase what the North Norfolk seafood is all about and gives an insight into what our local fishermen get up to on their travels....

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first weekend away without the kids in a few years and we had a super time. The location and views were wonderful, the rooms and service excellent and the food delicious. It really couldn't have been a better choice for a peaceful break. Special thanks to the staff whose happy, enthusiastic service gave the White Horse a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jerryandangie606
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I agree that our location is second to none! We are blessed with tranquil, beautiful views across the marshes. I am so pleased that my staff made you feel welcome. Hopefully you will come and see us soon. Kind Regards Christina

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called in for lunch and elected to sit in the bar area. I had the fish and chips as I wanted to play it safe. It was a small but nice piece of cod in a thin batter and what there was of it was ok. The peas were like bullets and the chips were ready salted and the beer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Dear Tim P, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am disappointed to read your comments and would like to offer my sincere apologies. We take all feedback as constructive and review regularly. Hopefully you will come and give us another try. Kind Regards Christina Christina

Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely 2 night stay with our 4 legged companion, enjoying 2 evening meals. From start to finish all the staff were happy and with excellent customer care to match. The food was incredible, Mussels, Steak etc. The breakfast selection was delicious too with a very tasty mixed fruit compote to mix in the oats and yoghurt. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stuart P
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful, peaceful stay. The views of the marshes are a wonderful sight, and always changing. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Christina

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brancaster Staithe
3.8 km away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 1 in Burnham Market
1,150 reviews
4.0 km away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
684 reviews
4.2 km away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
498 reviews
13.4 km away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
774 reviews
22.7 km away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The White Horse

Address: Main Road, Brancaster Staithe PE31 8BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Brancaster Staithe
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Brancaster Staithe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Depends they have Dog rooms , sea view and pleasant front of house . Room 11 best views.”
 of 5 bubbles jonm330, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“9,10,11 sea facing”
 of 5 bubbles pauln690, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay here, just had lunch”
 of 5 bubbles 450timp, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best views from rooms on the back or garden.”
 of 5 bubbles Jenny41wren, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you have dogs book a Garden Room. It has everything for will need.”
 of 5 bubbles Georginabix, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5