We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Chequers Inn

Booking.comUSD 127*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Chequers Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 131: English reviews
Start your review of The Chequers Inn
 Click to rate
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Well thanks to Martin and his team we had a very good time staying here. Room bar and restaurant all first class. It was good to see a menu with different dishes to the normal bar food. Breakfasts a feast for early morning eyes! We stayed in the Linden room and have no complaints at all. The walk in shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vicbish4
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed three nighs. Three dinners, three breakfasts. All first rate. High quality with management and staff alike eager to please and they did. Rooms very comfortable and very nicely decorated nice touches such as fresh milk for your room team and coffee, nice toiletries and bath robe etc. Food and service first rate very very good indeed, including a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J J
MartinEGM, General Manager at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, praise indeed! We're all so pleased we got everything just perfect for you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. MartinGM

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited The Chequers Inn on Weds 17th May, tempted by their Pizza and wine offer for May. This was definately a case of eyes being bigger than your belly, because we really couldn't do these very generous Pizzas justice. The gentleman in charge was extremely fair asking if he could do anything when we left half of them - based...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EssexBirdDaisy
MartinEGM, General Manager at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent visit with us. And thank you for talking with me, I'm pleased we had that opportunity and indeed the fact you'd return is great news. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon. MartinGM

Bedfordshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visit the village several times a year and do not stay here. This establishment has changed hands several times, its most recent reincarnation is a restaurant and rooms. We ate here one night, very few customers, which made it feel soulless, the staff are mostly new and coming to terms with the role. The food which was a pizza...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulaylott
MartinEGM, General Manager at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry that we have fell short of your expectations, rest assured on your next visit youll have a far better experience. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. MartinGM

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were in Thornham for a wedding and the Chequers is the perfect location, almost right nextdoor to the church. Although our room was quite small, it was very well equipped with everything we needed, and more - it was a first having complementary sloe gin, which was delicious by the way! Everything was top quality, and the staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JessF71
MartinEGM, General Manager at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent visit with us. We're all very pleased that you really enjoyed your experience at the Chequers, and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. MartinGM

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend in Norfolk and we stayed two nights in The Chequers Inn. We thought the room, (we were In the annex,)was absolutely lovely. It was spotless with a very comfortable bed and a beautiful bathroom with very modern fittings. We enjoyed a really great breakfast and our evening meal was good....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
MartinEGM, General Manager at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we're all very pleased you had a great time and would indeed recommend us to anyone! We look forward to seeing you again soon. MartinGM

Newmarket, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I looked for a dog friendly and Mum friendly hotel . We needed a downstairs room and all the home comforts. This place ticked the boxes and we were mostly happy. BUT Mum was concerned about the menu, she ended up eating an omelette which was not on the menu . Her main worry was a simple desire for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
MartinEGM, General Manager at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, although I'm naturally disappointed not to get full marks. I am very sorry that you may have been told that we're fine dining, as I wouldn't put us in this bracket. Quality, locally sourced balanced menu is not fine dining. But, I am pleased my team we're flexible enough to go off menu for your Mum....

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have been house sitting for a week and decide to eat at The Chequers Inn for dinner. I had visited previously before the restaurant changed hands and can I just say what a transformation. We were looked after by Ben (what a character) and also the Manager Martin. Both offered the best of service and acted very professionally putting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeckyConroy
MartinEGM, General Manager at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Such kind words, both Ben and myself really enjoyed your company last night. Its very important to us to offer that relaxed, friendly and professional service, as you quite rightly point out how good the food was, service must equal this standard. Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you both back soon. MartinGM

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped here for lunch while on holiday and our meal was excellent particularly the triple cooked chips which were the best we have eaten anywhere. Nice staff excellent decor. We would visit again on our next trip up to the Norfolk coast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
MartinEGM, General Manager at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Great feedback, thanks for sharing. We'll see you soon. MartinGM

Emsworth
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thornham has a huge number of quite Up market B and B places and this one is good. Our room was very well appointed with a radio playing and lights on in the room as we arrived. The decor was tasteful and I liked the touch of home made biscuits and also hot chocolate sachets. We slept well and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dartmeet
MartinEGM, General Manager at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your recent visit with us. And such wonderful comments, we're all very pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your time at the Chequers. Thanks again, and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon. MartinGM

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornham
2.6 km away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
765 reviews
9.8 km away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,261 reviews
2.4 km away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
851 reviews
5.3 km away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
4.9 km away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dating back to the 16th century, this pretty village inn on the North Norfolk coast is a welcoming sight for visitors wanting somewhere enticing to stay, relax and enjoy a great meal in comfort. Inside you will find a traditional bar with a warm country feel, a vast open fire and low beamed ceiling and a contemporary dining room. You can also enjoy al fresco dining in our charming courtyard or one of the pavilions, which are perfect for groups, private dining, parties and celebrations. There are also 11 stylish bedrooms, recently refurbished with a coastal theme. The luxurious rooms and en-suite bathrooms offer contemporary 21st century comfort and style to relish in. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Chequers Inn

Address: High Street, Thornham PE36 6LY, England (Formerly Old Coach House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thornham
Price Range: $171 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Chequers Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Chequers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Coach House Hotel Thornham
Old Coach Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Chequers Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Chequers Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is downstairs availability if needed”
822alisonm, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“I stayed in Hazel which faces over the front and road which isn't busy, but in summer the tables outside might get busy.”
Den999, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't go for a roadside room.”
543jeannettet, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Def go for a Best room but maybe avoid whitebeam due to the noise from the kitchen!”
Gfunk44, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The Aspen was very good.”
cathos62, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 127* /night
View Deal
PricelineUSD 127
Hotels.com
Hotwire.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates