We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

George Hotel Glossop

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
George Hotel Glossop
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for George Hotel Glossop
See the most recent reviews
Showing 46: English reviews
Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Though we didn;t stay here we visited The George for an evening meal whilst in the area (Myself,2 children and my Mum) and were very impressed by the standard of food as well as the quantity!! Our meals were served piping hot and were of excellent quality, Lamb suet pudding was HUGE and packed with meat as was the beef...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leona822
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in room 7 (family room). The room itself was very tired and dated. But the basics are covered. Did have problems getting the shower to get warm, so gave up in the end and used the basin. Good points Bed was comfortable Breakfast was good Staff were nice Bad points Some noise from the outside They're using "the cloud"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard_2547
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your candid review regarding The George Hotel, I am really sorry regarding your experience but I understand from the information that you were a guest before we took over the running of the hotel and pub. The George will be going through a refurbishment due to start shortly 2015 for the Pub and Hotel. I...

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Never been handed a remote control when I've checked in anywhere before. The pub was clean and pleasant, once I ventured up the stairs things weren't so good. Odd smell throughout and my room could have done with a clean. Dust everywhere. Especially behind the bed. Not pleasant. It was freezing, radiators came on for a while but then went...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank sharon f
Johnthegeorge, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

All remote controls are handed out on check in so that we are able to track them. Unfortunately people take them and this would therefore leave us with a television that does not work. All rooms are thoroughly cleaned and dusted prior to check in. To arrive in a Hotel and pull out the bed on entering the room is...

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Hello We stayed at the George over the weekend, the downstairs is clean and tidy, the rooms are very poor. Stayed in room 1 --- never again. The staff however were all very polite and pleasant, the food is very good.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank senots
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Well ok ordered some food and it took about 45 minutes to arrive and when it did, microwaved food or what it was shocking and the staff weren't to great the amount of time one member of staff looked at me whilst I tried I tried to get her attention and yet she hadn't worked out I was waiting the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Ajf1235
Johnthegeorge, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

All our food is homemade and cooked on the premises. Unfortunately you have not stated what you ordered, however on our menu it does state that during busy times there may be a slight delay. I have checked with all staff and the night you stayed nobody waited more than half an hour for food. You have said that the...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Having read the previous reviews we were not expecting a great deal. Yes, the room was small and bathroom could have done with updating but when you're only paying £60 then you have to be realistic. The room was perfectly clean and the bed very comfortable. There is a small TV and shower gel sachets in the bathroom. The property...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheDunsBuns
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Room too small,cold and bathroom in need of upgrade, no parking and on a very busy road, thankfully only booked one night, above entrance so taxis pulling up car doors slamming etc, breakfast nice and waitress helpful, would not stay again

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Janjonathon
Johnthegeorge, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We advertise that we are centrally located in Glossop. If you look at our location on all websites you will see that we are on a main road. We do have quieter rooms at the back of the Hotel and these are available if requested at the time of booking. We do not advertise anywhere...

Millport18
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed one night on business and arrived late due to train delay problems. The hotel is well placed directly opposite the station. Had to walk through 10+ smokers who crowded the entrance - frankly it was disgusting and nobody should have to do that. This is essentially a pub with some rooms and I was given the key for mine....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Millport18
Johnthegeorge, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

This guest was in a double room and paid £35.00 for Bed and full English Breakfast. The room was checked after departure and the toilet roll holder was broken and has now been rectified. As a town centre Hotel with no garden facilities we only have smoking outside the front of the Hotel. There are cigarette bins provided, however we...

Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stopped here on a Saturday night when I was in town for the friends birthday. Not the best hotel you'll stay in but is clean and has everything you'll need. I had a single room and it was nice to pay half the price of a double rather than more. Was good value for what I wanted it for. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katherine G
Hyde, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Had lunch again here today. Have not been for a while as it was always busy. The food is very good and huge portions. Not always able to finish. !! The owner always treats you like a long lost friend! We will definitely be returning soon.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PaulJam6

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glossop
1.5 km away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
5.2 km away
Premier Inn Manchester (Hyde) Hotel
0.9 km away
The Bulls Head Public House, Restaurant & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Queens Arms Country Inn
Queens Arms Country Inn
#5 of 12 in Glossop
69 reviews
3.8 km away
The Woodlands
The Woodlands
#2 of 12 in Glossop
100 reviews
1.5 km away
Windy Harbour Farm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Currently The George Hotel Glossop is currently Closed under the previous business operators. The George Hotel is currently owned and managed by Punch Taverns ... more   less 

Additional Information about George Hotel Glossop

Address: 34 Norfolk Street, Glossop SK13 7QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel Glossop 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your George Hotel Glossop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Glossop Derbyshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from George Hotel Glossop staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not choose room 5!!”
SusanneKu, 19 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Ask for room 1 (double bed) which is near back to avoid street noise.”
TheDunsBuns, 2 Oct 2013 | Read review
“There may be other rooms away from the road and not over the bar area that might be quieter.Check when booking.”
AlanP360, 30 Nov 2012 | Read review
“room not big enough for 4 poster - don't bother!”
NowCousins, 9 Nov 2012 | Read review
“Any room would do!”
martinconroy, 16 Dec 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates