We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
01/10/2017 02/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Wasdale Head Inn

    Wasdale Head | Near Gosforth, Wasdale Head CA20 1EX, England
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    01/10/2017 02/10/2017
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wasdale HeadSee available hotels in Wasdale Head
    Traveller (220)
    Dining (32)
    Room & Suite (27)
    The Wordsworth Hotel
    1,218 reviews
    #8 of 14 hotels in Grasmere
     
    The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
    1,796 reviews
    #6 of 14 hotels in Grasmere
     
    Scafell Hotel
    827 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Rosthwaite
     
    Mary Mount Hotel
    544 reviews
    #4 of 17 hotels in Keswick
     
    Overview
    • Excellent53%
    • Very good29%
    • Average7%
    • Poor6%
    • Terrible5%
    Travellers talk about
    “scafell pike” (48 reviews)
    “the pub” (64 reviews)
    Free Internet
    Free Parking
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Pets Allowed
    Breakfast included
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    The Wordsworth Hotel
    1,218 reviews
    #8 of 14 hotels in Grasmere
     
    The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
    1,796 reviews
    #6 of 14 hotels in Grasmere
     
    Scafell Hotel
    827 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Rosthwaite
     
    Mary Mount Hotel
    544 reviews
    #4 of 17 hotels in Keswick
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (529)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 527 reviews

    Reviewed yesterday

    Visited while on holiday in the Lake District. To get there we had to drive along a very narrow single track road a bit hairy at times especially if someone came the other way!! but what great scenery. We had lunch in the Inn and...More

    1  Thank DavidJP123
    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    Lovely view from both bathroom and bedroom and huge cooked breakfast each morning. Nice pub with resident exclusive area, friendly atmosphere and wide variety of meals for lunch/dinner. Packed lunches also available. Very helpful staff! Great location for mountain climbing, would recommend.

    1  Thank Sophia K
    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    A friend and I stayed at Burnthwaite Farm for a week's walking. After three nights of eating here we took the advice of others at the B and B and went to Nether Wasdale to eat, where the food was excellent and the service attentive....More

    Thank Jim S
    Response from Will_Ritson, Owner at Wasdale Head InnResponded 2 weeks ago

    I'm sorr yyou didn't enjoy your food or the service. To help me understand how to resolve the problem for the benefit of others, can you tell me when you were there please? What meals were served cold, and did you ask for a refund...More

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    We stayed at the Inn for 2 nights because we wanted to climb Scarfell Pike and in terms of location for the mountain - you can't get closer. There is a direct route from the Inn to Scarfell and it's a walk that you hopefully...More

    1  Thank a_villeLondon
    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    Visited the Wasdale Head Inn today (28/8/17 Bank Holiday) for lunch. Ritsons bar obviously very busy due to it being a bank holiday so did expect a little wait for food which we didn't have a problem with. Ordered starters and mains, starters came out...More

    1  Thank Clare S
    The Wordsworth Hotel
    1,218 reviews
    #8 of 14 hotels in Grasmere
     
    The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
    1,796 reviews
    #6 of 14 hotels in Grasmere
     
    Scafell Hotel
    827 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Rosthwaite
     
    Mary Mount Hotel
    544 reviews
    #4 of 17 hotels in Keswick
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free Internet
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Suites
    • Number of rooms
    • 20
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Cumbria >
    • Wasdale Head
    • Also Known As
    • Wasdale Head Hotel Wasdale Head
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (220)
    Dining (32)
    Room & Suite (27)
    Pool & Beach (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (159)
    Bathroom (4)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby
    Mary Mount Hotel
    544 reviews
    13.12 km away
     
    Scafell Hotel
    827 reviews
    9.47 km away
     
    The Wordsworth Hotel
    1,218 reviews
    15.10 km away
     
    The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
    1,796 reviews
    15.56 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Restaurant at Wasdale Head Inn
    263 reviews
    .01 km away
    The Strands Inn
    295 reviews
    7.82 km away
    Brook House Inn and Restaurant
    310 reviews
    7.96 km away
    The Boot Inn Restaurant
    175 reviews
    7.73 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Scafell Pike Mountain
    325 reviews
    2.71 km away
    Wastwater Lake
    317 reviews
    5.07 km away
    carolclimb
    19 reviews
    5.27 km away
    Hardknott Roman Fort
    145 reviews
    7.91 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Lucy C
    22 August 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Will_Ritson | Property representative |
    Please call us on 019467 26229 to cancel or rearrange. Our deposits are non-refundable, however if we are able to move your booking and re-let your room we should be able to transfer your deposit to the revised booking
    0
    Votes
    foxale
    19 June 2017|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from Will_Ritson | Property representative |
    We always have a range of real ales, with typically 6-8 different draught ales depending on the time of year. The actual ones vary from week to week depending on availability but we usually have beers from Carlisle Brewing... More
    0
    Votes
    Joseph_Mantle
    17 April 2017|
    Answer
    Response from Will_Ritson | Property representative |
    Our rates start from £59 per person per night with full English breakfast, with a 10% reduction for stays of 3 or more nights. This is for a standard room. The superior rooms and self catering apartments are slightly more... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "We had room 3 which had a lovely view, but i think other rooms will give you a better one, it was quiet."
    Read review
    "As with all residential pubs/bars there may be slight noise in a room over the public areas, but I found..."
    Read review
    "Best avoid the hotel and camp on their camp site"
    Read review
    "Mosedale apartment has a good view of the fells, St Olav's Church and the fields, full of sheep and lambs..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing