We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (238)
Dining (32)
Room & Suite (31)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good28%
  • Average7%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“scafell pike”(48 reviews)
“the pub”(65 reviews)
“residents bar”(23 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
287
160
42
38
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
287
160
42
38
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscafell pikethe pubresidents barself cateringritson's barlake districtgarden roomsteak and ale piedrying roomgenerous portionsbar menugreat beerthe barncumberland sausagefish and chipspacked lunchsingle room
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Although not the driver, after the awesome experience of driving the Pass and then skirting Wast Water, it was a welcome break to visit this pub, in its remote valley location, for some food. What a vista surrounded us, with snow still on the higher...More

Thank AussiesBallarat
Response from TheProf_London, Owner at Wasdale Head InnResponded yesterday

Many thanks for your kind review - our staff appreciate the positive feedback, especially when you've experienced good service and food on one of the businest days of the year.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in campsite near by used this pub every day for dinner food was amazing staff amazing very friendly and couldn’t ask for anything else thank you so much . Food was more than enough well presented you will never go hungry.

1  Thank krissadler
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ate here on a Friday evening in January, food was well cooked and presented and the portion size suits active outdoor people, good selection of beers too. The steak pie was delicious and homemade chips too !

Thank jfr531
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Climbed Scafell Pike and returned to the pub where I was made to feel at home by great staff, as usual. Had a fantastic meal, including the best fish I've tasted (beetroot cured salmon gravlax) followed by a great steak and chocolate brownie. Quickly becoming...More

Thank Dave L
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

Family of 3 booked into a triple room which was spacious and exactly what was required. The Guest facilities are good with a well appointed lounge for post-walk chatting with other guests. It is a very popular pub , but even over the Easter holidays...More

Thank One_Pot
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Wasdale Head
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (238)
Dining (32)
Room & Suite (31)
Pool & Beach (2)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lucy C
22 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Will_Ritson | Property representative |
Please call us on 019467 26229 to cancel or rearrange. Our deposits are non-refundable, however if we are able to move your booking and re-let your room we should be able to transfer your deposit to the revised booking
0
Votes
foxale
19 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Will_Ritson | Property representative |
We always have a range of real ales, with typically 6-8 different draught ales depending on the time of year. The actual ones vary from week to week depending on availability but we usually have beers from Carlisle Brewing... More
0
Votes
Joseph_Mantle
17 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Will_Ritson | Property representative |
Our rates start from £59 per person per night with full English breakfast, with a 10% reduction for stays of 3 or more nights. This is for a standard room. The superior rooms and self catering apartments are slightly more... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"There are superior rooms which have a bit more space."
Read review
"best views are the rooms on the front of the hotel"
Read review
"We had room 3 which had a lovely view, but i think other rooms will give you a better one, it was quiet."
Read review
"As with all residential pubs/bars there may be slight noise in a room over the public areas, but I found..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing