We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lonsdale House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Lonsdale House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 60: English reviews
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is slap bang in the middle of the town, with a car park opposite. The decor in some of the corridors is a big tired, but don't let this put you off. The rooms are lovely have everything in you need and are spotless. The breakfast is wonderful, and the best thing about this hotel are the staff who... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samwalkerpi
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on the weekend of 22/23 October. The hotel is contained within a lovely building. Check in was quick and smooth and the staff polite. We were in a standard double room (room 309). I would say the overall decor is somewhat dated now but the hotel is otherwise clean and a good place for a stop over... More 

Helpful?
Thank Almighty_Alan
Management response:

Dear Alan Thank you for your kind comments on Lonsdale House Hotel. It is true the Hotel is a lovely old building and again, true that as commented we will be starting a refurbishment programme in early 2017 to bring the hotel back to where it should be in the market place. As with the Restaurant we plan to reopen... More 

Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here Fri/Sat and couldn't fault it. Room lovely and clean (room 322 has 4 poster bed, jacuzzi bath but we didn't use so can't comment) decorated very nice and is a large comfortable room. Staff were lovely, very friendly and chatty, lovely breakfast with great friendly service, I would definitely recommend, we will be coming back here. Before... More 

Helpful?
Thank jaqgee
Management response:

Thank you so much for your kind comments on Lonsdale House Hotel. We believe in giving the best service possible and look forward to seeing you again in the Future Nic Rawlins Manager More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

It's a difficult one this, we had a very enjoyable stay but I can see why people might have a different opinion. The Pro's: - Very central location but still quiet even on a loud Saturday night in Ulverston - The room was spotless with lots of period features, everything worked and the bed was comfy. We were in room... More 

Helpful?
Thank mystabe
Management response:

Thank you so much for your comments on the Lonsdale House Hotel. We will be re-launching our Restaurant and Bar in the coming months and will thus be able to offer both Food and Beverage offerings of a high standard. The same will be done for the front décor of the hotel and a refurbishment of this area is now... More 

Sunderland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We needed a central place to stay in Ulverston and booked here. The location is excellent and the rooms are satisfactory if you don't expect a luxury experience and I didn't find the bed comfortable at all. Breakfast was tasty, with vegetarian options, and they happily offered small offerings for a toddler. The gardens are beautiful, and would have been... More 

Helpful?
Thank blaisey
Management response:

Thank you for your kind comments on the Lonsdale House Hotel. There is a planned Refurbishment of many of the bedrooms to further enhance the guest experience along with a re-launch of our restaurant and bar. I look forward to seeing you back in the near future Nic Rawlins Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2016

I have stayed in Ulverston on many occasions, nearly always at a wonderful B & B in Church Walk. This time I needed something with more amenities and looking at Lonsdale House Web site it appeared perfect. It showed pictures of the lounge bar and the afternoon teas served there or in the garden. As I wanted to take my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gina C
Management response:

Dear Gina C I apologize for the length of time it has taken to answer your comments Having recently taken over the Management of the Hotel I am determined that what we offer on our website is put into place within the hotel, so all I can, at this time is offer you my sincere apologizes that Afternoon Tea was... More 

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I had a top floor room (lots of stairs) but comfortable four-poster bed and Jacuzzi bath. Breakfast is comprehensive and promptly served. Staff very friendly and helpful. Plenty of pubs within a short walk, do try the Mill.

Helpful?
Thank Dave K
Management response:

Dear Dave K, Thank you for your kind comments on the Lonsdale House Hotel. Please be aware that we will be re-launching our restaurant & bar in the near future that will benefit all our future guests allowing guests to either dine in the hotel or choose from the vast array of establishment available nearby Yours Sincerely Nic Rawlins Manager More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Visited the hotel last month. The hotel is very tired and in need of a full refurbishment. In the upper rooms there is no water pressure and in the room I stayed in there was no water at all for a shower or wash, this was also the case for some of my colleagues. We ended up moving out as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary H
Jessey B, Operations Director at Lonsdale House Hotel, responded to this review

Gary, Thank you for your recent feedback. Please let me apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us. The property itself, an historic town house, has struggled previously to maintain a strong pressure on the top floor when the hotel is full. However, as a direct result of your feedback and external issues from our water supplier we... More 

Travellers are raving about these Ulverston hotels

Workington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here on Saturday.. paying £104 for 1 night through Booking.com. The rooms are in dire need of updating - the sheets, wallpaper and carpets need replaced urgently and everything else needs a thorough clean. However the main issue was the fact there was no water ... At all. The incredibly rude and downright insulting staff... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank elliejenkins1006
Jessey B, Operations Director at Lonsdale House Hotel, responded to this review

Mrs Jenkins Our customer guest experience is so very important to us and in this vain i am very disappointed that even after corresponding with us directly after your stay you have decided to open up an online tripadvisor account and maliciously spread assertions that simply are not true. The hotel is most certainly open for business and whilst for... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights for a family wedding. Big rooms suitable. The staff were very friendly and did lots of things to make our stay pleasant. Also a great full cooked breakfast served at the table - none of this Buffett make it your self nonsense!

Helpful?
Thank James M

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverston
2.8 km away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
86 reviews
4.0 km away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#3 of 5 in Ulverston
33 reviews
11.9 km away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
601 reviews
1.0 km away
Hill Foot Hotel
Hill Foot Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ulverston
36 reviews
7.3 km away
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Clarence House Country Hotel & R...
#2 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated just 2 minutes' walk from the centre the small market town of Ulverston, the family-run Lonsdale House Hotel offers a warm welcome to all those who visit. Originally built in Edwardian times, we have strived to retain that old-fashioned charm, mixed with modern convenience, that Ulverston is renowned for. Being just 10 minutes' drive from Lake Windermere, it makes for a perfect getaway from the crowds of central Lakes. The rooms at Lonsdale House Hotel include a flat-screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The rooms all benefit from an en suite bathroom. Some rooms boast a four-poster bed and a spa bath. We have free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, and a lovely secluded garden or lounge to relax in, if you wish. In the mornings, guests can enjoy hearty full English breakfast. Central Ulverston is home to numerous shops and pubs, boutique and general, many of which are located on the stone paved main street. The town offers many country festivals, well known throughout the area, which are great for young and old alike. There is a public carpark just across the road, if you arrive by car, and the train station is just quarter of a mile away. The Lonsdale House Hotel is just 15 minutes' drive from the coast. Guests can visit the Manjushri Centre at Conishead Priory, which is 2 miles from the property. Coniston Lake is 12 miles from The Lonsdale House Hotel. The surrounding area offers the Wildlife Animal Park in Dalton in Furness, also the Dock Museum in Barrow In Furness. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lonsdale House Hotel

Address: 11 Daltongate, Ulverston LA12 7BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Ulverston
Price Range: $139 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lonsdale House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lonsdale House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale Hotel Ulverston
Lonsdale House Hotel Ulverston, Cumbria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lonsdale House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Parking - take the first right after the hotel there is a car park just up the hill that is only £1 for 24 hours”
 of 5 bubbles mystabe, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Well I've only stayed in one on the ground floor at the road side but not noisy at all. Good bathroom with plenty of hot water.”
 of 5 bubbles GinaC846, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 307 a twin room with good shower,”
 of 5 bubbles claireBlackpool, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere!!”
 of 5 bubbles ChampagneLiverpool, 25 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Can't make a point our room was top floor only family rooms they have but my son was 14 and never caused a problem maybe younger children it could be a problem”
 of 5 bubbles Sharon677, 29 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay