We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
See the most recent reviews
Showing 142: English reviews
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Double room was very small - no room to put two suitcases. Only one bedside table and a small shelf, no bedside lamps only one big light over the bed. Disturbed by big red light shining all night. Decor should be updated. Breakfast disappointing - there was no Cumbrian welcome here! Don't expect nice bread, Cumberland sausage or good coffee....

Thank dianamaryjones
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

We Visited my sister in Ravenglass and stayed here for 2 nights. Room was ample with a good view of inside the castle. The reception and kitchen staff were lovely and the breakfasts were quality Fresh tasty food.

Thank Geoff C
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Beautiful setting, but remote from the southern lakes. Very friendly and helpful staff. Bird displays excellent.Breakfast good and as much as you can eat. Castle interesting but sadly, never saw a ghost. Room 9 the granary, comfortable and clean but was in need of renovations. Excellent location for walkers.

Thank J9atmedowview
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We spent 3 nights in a pleasant room opposite the aviary, so we had hooded vultures looking at us when we pulled back the curtains in the morning. The room was good, though redecoration is probably due soon. The bed was comfortable, the shower excellent. The £80 per night included access at all hours to the wonderful gardens, and a...

Thank Ian F
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Room 9 The Granary. In need of some tlc and fresh paint, not maintained and tired. Good points: Staff excellent at Reception. Accommodation is very spacious with separate kitchenette with sink, microwave, crockery, cutlery, glasses, table and chairs, bathroom and, 2 sofas, chair, double and twin beds. 1st class white towels and bedding. However, needs a refit to bring it...

Thank GunnerH
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Very pleasant spot. Room was comfortable but tired looking. Owners were very helpful and friendly. Early breakfast was arranged for me and was good. Slept very well. Only wish I had time to walk around the grounds as they seemed well looked after.

Thank David W
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016

I booked three rooms for my family back in May and we were promised that they would all be together at one end of the accommodation. Unfortunately when we arrived this was not the case & we were all split up across the building. It appeared that someone had switched us around beforehand to accommodate families with young children. The...

Thank Shelia438
MuncasterCastle, Owner at Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent stay. We always try to accommodate guests wishes and regrettably whoever took your booking did not put a note on it to say you wanted your rooms to be kept together therefore subsequently your rooms were moved around to allow some families with young children to stay. I do...

Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Accommodation is pretty average- but it is worth staying here for the out of hours garden access, refused entry to the castle and decent breakfast. The owl and hawk centre is great- the displays were brilliant and the staff are clearly passionate and knowledgeable. A treat to see the step eagle up close! Longer walks around the extended grounds were...

Thank Crazycavylady
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We booked a night in the Coachman's Quarters because we spent a lovely day at the castle last year and decided to make the most of the free access to the grounds when the castle is closed to visitors. Before we set off, our email queries were answered by the very helpful and friendly Coby. Although we had booked breakfast...

Thank MabelCheshire
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016

The room stayed in was quite spartan and smelled of 'wet dog', the smell hit you when you entered the room. It was room number 8. The bed needed a change of an old mattress. We did tell the staff and asked for an air freshener to be put in there but it was to no avail. We couldn't change...

Thank TerryB81052

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (64)
View from Room (3)
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Room/Suite (3)
Bathroom (6)
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenglass
1.9 km away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
339 reviews
0.6 km away
Muncaster Country Guest House
4.2 km away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#1 of 7 in Eskdale
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Rosegarth Guest House
Rosegarth Guest House
#1 of 5 in Ravenglass
157 reviews
1.9 km away
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
4.0 km away
The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters

Address: Muncaster Castle, Ravenglass CA18 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Price Range: $128 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muncaster`s Coachman`s Quarters Hotel Ravenglass
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book accommodation elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles latestfilly, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 3 was a small double with shower. Room 7 had a larger double plus a single.”
 of 5 bubbles NottsGirlsontour, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for the annex”
 of 5 bubbles J9atmedowview, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid Room 8”
 of 5 bubbles TerryB81052, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“A higher room may be better as we could hear upstairs walking around”
 of 5 bubbles youcantraveltheworld, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5