We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club

Booking.comUSD 188*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

862 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 857: English reviews
Start your review of Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
 Click to rate
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Yet another two day break booked through Travelzoo - we had yet to be disappointed with one of their deals, so could this be the 'let down'? Absolutely not! The converted mill building is impressive as you arrive in the car park and from then... we found it just got better! All the staff were really friendly and helpful -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
Lancashire
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked a two night stay with dinner through Travelzoo for £169, previously our stay at a Lakes hotel through Travelzoo was exceptional, however this time it was terrible! The hotel was previously the famous Dolly Blue mill and was converted to a hotel I think in the nineties which would explain the nineties decor! The hotel is easy to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LancashirePolly
HRGuestRelations, Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Lancashire Polly, A one star review is very damaging to any business as I am sure you are fully aware; having read back on some of your previous reviews, it appears that you are very prone to picking a business to pieces offering a one star review. Thankfully the business has a chance to respond to reviews on here,...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here Saturday night as first stop in a long weekend Lakes trip. Have known of the property and past excellent reputation but never previously stayed. Staff very friendly, public areas and general decor of hotel befitting a 4 star property if a little dated, building stunning. Had dinner in main restaurant in the evening, seared tuna to start, partner...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DC W
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Darkest room I have ever stayed in. Room 308 in this hotel has no view what so ever. Lighting is poor and furniture is old and shabby. Wanted to visit neighbouring hotel but reception couldn't find us a taxi. Can't walk along the main road in the dark so had to eat in dolly blue bar. Not good had to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed a two night break here. Staff were great. Nice view to the water from the bedroom. Large comfortable room. Loved the fact loads of milk supplied with the tea/coffee in the room. Nice selection at breakfast and had two lovely evening meals. Sampled both restaurants. Didn't use the leasure facilities so can't comment. No complaints as such.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Catherine W, Many thanks for your kind words and for the time taken to share your experience with us on TA. Your comments will be passed on to the whole team whom I am sure will appreciate the read as they all work hard to keep our guests happy. As a thank you gesture, if you have any future...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the hotel from 18-20 April and was really happy with my choice. We booked through Travel Zoo and received an absolute bargain. 2 nights with breakfast and a 3 course meal on our first night for approx £180. The room was lovely - new bathroom with under floor heating and speakers for bluetooth ( not that we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michelle m
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Michelle M, We really appreciate your kind words and for the time taken to share your experience with us on TA. Your comments will be passed on to the whole team whom I am sure will appreciate the read as they all work hard to keep our guests happy. As a thank you gesture, if you have any future...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice hotel. friendly staff. all was brilliant apart from Fire alarm going of at 12 am for about 20min waking kids up. No explanation or apology. very nice pool and spa. Rooms very nice and clean with very beautiful view

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ramunas S
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Ramunas S, Many thanks for the positive comments. Apologies for the fire alarm incident you refer to. There was a serious fault with one of the smoke detectors which led to difficulties silencing the alarm. We did try to explain to most guests the following day, I am sorry that you were not one of them. As a thank...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in one of the cottages in March and had an really good holiday. The cottages are well equip very clean we were really impressed. The team are very friendly, welcoming and full of local information. We will definitely be coming back here again. Hotel food was good and staff excellent. Only down side is the Cascade leisure centre...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NJenny
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear NJenny, We really appreciate your 5 star review and for the time taken to share your experience with us on TA. Your comments will be passed on to the whole team whom I am sure will appreciate the read as they all work hard to keep our guests happy. As a thank you gesture, if you have any future...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Pleasantly surprised two day easter break at the whitewater hotel If your looking for a peaceful relaxing break this is the place and hotel to vist . Hotel and rooms are clean and tidy. First night we ate in the dolly blue bar , the staff were very polite and the food was good. Will definately be using this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlie P
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Charlie P, We really appreciate your kind words and for the time taken to share your experience with us on TA. Your comments will be passed on to the whole team whom I am sure will appreciate the read as they all work hard to keep our guests happy. As a thank you gesture, if you have any future...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved my two-night stay at the Whitewater Hotel! Driving up to the hotel it looks stunning, very grand with beautiful surroundings. On arrival we found out we had been upgraded to a four-poster room, which was great as we were away celebrating my partner's birthday. The room was amazing-it was huge, clean and had everything we needed, as well as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 261jen
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Jen, High praise indeed! Thank you so much for taking the time to write following your recent visit to Whitewater Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club. It gives me great pleasure to read that all aspects of your stay were exceptional and that your experience was a memorable one. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again...

346 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (299)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
3.4 km away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,237 reviews
1.8 km away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
457 reviews
14.7 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
324 reviews
12.8 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,780 reviews
13.1 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 STAR PROPERTY WITH A ONE ROSETTE FINE DINING RESTAURANT AND THE DOLLY BLUE BAR AND GRILL RESTAURANT. SITTING ON THE BANK OF THE RIVER LEVEN, THIS PROPERTY OFFERS STUNNING VIEWS AND THE PERFECT BASE TO EXPLORE THE AREA. CLOSE BY ARE THE LAKES AQUARIUM, HAVERTHWAITE STEAM RAILWAY, LAKELAND CRUISES, BEATRIX POTTER AND THE LAKELAND MOTOR MUSEUM FEATURING THE DONALD CAMPBELL BLUEBIRD MUSEUM. THE PERFECT LAKELAND VENUE! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Lakeland Village Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Price Range: $218 - $653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, LateRooms, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitewater Hotel And Leisure Club
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club Newby Bridge, Lake District, UK
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
#3 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms to the rear of the hotel have fantastic unspoiled views over the water”
daverE7797NU, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had room 303 overlooking the river.”
CatherineW687, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a room opposite the river so you can sit on your balcony and watch it flow.”
michellemO6651NM, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“They also cater for dogs so you don't have to leave your pets at home :)”
NJenny, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you like the Hotel location why not rent out one of the Club's cottages or apartments for an extended break.”
WallyF845, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 188* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 188
PricelineUSD 188
Agoda.comUSD 188
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates