We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

797 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 792: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel is lovely with great views over the river. The restaurant was very good.All staff where very helpfull. The spa was nice and relaxing. And the bedroom was spotless.A great weekend was had by us both.

Helpful?
Thank Steven S
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Steven S, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience you had with us on the TA forum and for the great 5 star review. We welcome your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your spa and meal experience. As a thank you gesture, if you have any future booking need, kindly contact... More 

Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

great place for a break the staff were so friendly we had a 4 poster room which was huge with great views the all you can eat buffet breakfast was very nice and the pool in the leisure centre was free with free towels will deffo be going back

Helpful?
1 Thank John W
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear John W, Thank you for taking the time to write following your recent visit to Whitewater Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club. It gives me great pleasure to read that all aspects of your stay were exceptional and that your experience was a memorable one. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.... More 

Manchester, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently visited the hotel on a two night Travel zoo deal. The room was large and comfy . The meal in the evening was very good ,as was the breakfast It was great to relax in the leisure Facilities after a day walking the fells .We will definitely return.

Helpful?
1 Thank 231lindyloo
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for the positive comments. Should you decide for another return visit we will be delighted to welcome you back and as a gesture we will be able to offer you the best rate if you call the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym. Thanks and Regards, Guest Relations at Whitewater Hotel More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived mid PM Friday and checked in. The reception was rather cool and unwelcoming, with staff offering minimal detail on the hotel, offering the keys and that was it. We had to ask for directions to the room and nothing else was offered. A poor start. The room was ok but nothing special, and we found the doors opened... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob M
HRGuestRelations, Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Bob M, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay with us. I offer you my apologies for the short falls you mention herein, and appreciate you taking the time to share your constructive feedback as it is important that we monitor the level of service we deliver and identify areas which require... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

break away on offer £169.00 for 2 nights b&b and dinner on 1st night which was delicious. friendly, helpful staff. enjoyed the leisure facilities. childrens swimming lessons are on tues 4-6pm so dont go then to the pool.

Helpful?
1 Thank mozandfiona
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Many thanks for the positive comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your mini break and got to enjoy the hotel facilities. Should you decide for another return visit we will be delighted to welcome you back and as a gesture we will be able to offer you a 10% reduction to the best advertised rate if you call the hotel... More 

Bacup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed on a two night Travelzoo deal. Our room 308 was larger than usual, but was missing any sort of view. Yes we had a large sash window, it overlooked the adjacent roof which started at our winow sill and rose eight foot above the window. All we could see were tiles, yes probably local slate and very good... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbrittania
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Many thanks for the positive comments. Should you decide for another return visit we will be delighted to welcome you back and as a gesture we will be able to offer you a 10% reduction to the best advertised rate if you call the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym. Thanks and Regards, Guest Relations at Whitewater Hotel More 

Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at the Whitewater Hotel before and have always thoroughly enjoyed it Lovely friendly hotel with good food, comfortable rooms and in an ideal spot for exploring the Lakes. Spa and pool facilities are very good.

Helpful?
1 Thank lynnenilsen
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Lynne, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience you had with us on the TA forum and for the great 5 star review. We welcome your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a thankyou gesture and in the hope we might see you again, if you call the hotel direct... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights during the half term holidays. Our family room was large and could well accommodate a family of 4. The furniture in the room was dated and could do with being upgraded but the beds were comfortable and we had everything we needed including an iron and ironing board. We ate in the restaurant... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Laurel J
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Laurel, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience you had with us on the TA forum and for the great 5 star review. We welcome your comments and are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. As a thankyou gesture and in the hope we might see you again, if you call... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went for a day at spa. Very happy, had a lovely day. Treatments were all good and staff made the day special. Little remote but worth the effort. Had the afternoon tea also more than enough. Good value

Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa G
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Theresa, On behalf of the Spa therapists and the hotel, we thank you for your kind words and praise. As a thankyou gesture and in the hope we will see you again, if you wish to visit us again, call the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym to receive a 10% discount off best advertised rate. Thanks and... More 

Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a spa day here what a lovely hotel so clear the staff working so hard to make us happy. A big thank you to a young girl Amanda she was working so hard and looked after every one will definitely be back 👌🖒

Helpful?
Thank kennyulverston
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

On behalf of the Spa therapists and the hotel, we thank you for your kind words and praise. As a thankyou gesture and in the hope we will see you again, if you wish to visit us again, call the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym to receive a 10% discount off best advertised rate. Thanks and Regards, The... More 

320 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (276)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (111)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
3.4 km away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,157 reviews
1.8 km away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
367 reviews
14.7 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,654 reviews
22.0 km away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
13.1 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 STAR PROPERTY WITH A ONE ROSETTE FINE DINING RESTAURANT AND THE DOLLY BLUE BAR AND GRILL RESTAURANT. SITTING ON THE BANK OF THE RIVER LEVEN, THIS PROPERTY OFFERS STUNNING VIEWS AND THE PERFECT BASE TO EXPLORE THE AREA. CLOSE BY ARE THE LAKES AQUARIUM, HAVERTHWAITE STEAM RAILWAY, LAKELAND CRUISES, BEATRIX POTTER AND THE LAKELAND MOTOR MUSEUM FEATURING THE DONALD CAMPBELL BLUEBIRD MUSEUM. THE PERFECT LAKELAND VENUE! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Lakeland Village Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Price Range: $178 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HRS, Agoda, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitewater Hotel And Leisure Club
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club Newby Bridge, Lake District, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Melrose, United Kingdom
Bolton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room overlooking the river is best”
 of 5 bubbles 904JohnW904, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on the back of the hotel had the best views”
 of 5 bubbles 231lindyloo, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“river view would be good, road outside can get busy”
 of 5 bubbles Bobby387, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go in room 308, no view”
 of 5 bubbles Bobbrittania, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a superior room excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles Kate021252, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay