We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (50)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (6)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good30%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“games room”(20 reviews)
“drying room”(30 reviews)
“youth hostel”(22 reviews)
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
151
73
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
151
73
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomdrying roomyouth hostelself catering kitchenbunk bedscamping podstop bunkcommon roomscafell piketable footballhostel groundsreal firelake districtbeautiful locationnight's sleepboard gamesreal ale
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 237 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

My two boys (aged 12 and 14) and I spent two nights in a private room in the hostel during the Easter holidays. The boys absolutely loved it! The setting by the river and the games room meant there was lots for them to do,...More

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank Peterg120xs
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here to start a hostel-to-hostel tour of the Lakes and were pleasantly surprised by the facilities at this hostel. It was great value and we enjoyed our stay - we had tea, breakfast and a packed lunch from the hostel and sat in...More

Thank joeldriver
Response from Rhys M, Manager at YHA BorrowdaleResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for a lovely review, it is much appreciated, I am pleased you were pleasantly surprised by the hostel and I hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable. We try to cater for everyone's needs so we can provide most things especially when...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is great YHA, the staff are helpful and accommodating. There is a great dying room, pretty essential in the Lake District. The facilities are nice and clean. We were in room 12 - which gets some noise from the fans in the adjacent toilets...More

Thank Oakwardenh
Response from Rhys M, Manager at YHA BorrowdaleResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your glowing review, your feedback is certainly appreciated. I am pleased that you made use of our many facilities and our staff were very helpful.

Reviewed 17 March 2018

This is another great YHA. You won't ever beat the price, and the staff are very pleasant and accommodating. Lovely bar/communal area. Toilets and showers always spotlessly clean. Only drawbacks were the pods need bigger heaters - like the ones at Hawkshead - they were...More

Thank caseyjones1236
Response from Rhys M, Manager at YHA BorrowdaleResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review, it is much appreciated. Staff and cleanliness are two big areas for us and it seems that we ticked them both for you. Thank you for your feedback on the food, the menu has just changed and we are just...More

Reviewed 4 March 2018

Arrived quite late when I stayed here during a wintery coast to coast charity walk. For that reason I didn't get a chance to make the most of the extensive facilities on offer - including a walkers bar! I was in a room with a...More

Thank andrewjbartlett
Response from Rhys M, Manager at YHA BorrowdaleResponded 10 March 2018

Thank you Andrew for your wonderful review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope the rest of your walk was amazing, there was certainly some interesting weather to contend with on your journey. It's great to hear the breakfast set you up...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 35 - USD 191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Family Rooms, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
USD 35 - USD 191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Family Rooms, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (50)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (6)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ammo83
7 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Rhys M | Property representative |
Hello, Unfortunately we do not allow fires when camping, the camping field is a grass lawn and just couldn't take the damage. There is a river running through the grounds where guests sometimes make a small campfire. Kind... More
0
Votes
Patrick S
14 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Rhys M | Property representative |
Hello Patrick, Yes you can rent towels with us, we charge £2 per towel and you can retain it for the duration of your stay. Thanks, Rhys
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Perhaps not 12 - Fan noise from toilets"
Read review
"Get a pod in winter - super quiet and showers all to yourself!"
Read review
"book in advance for weekends."
Read review
"Ring the hostel and ask for there assistance, with any special requests."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing