We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa

Save
Traveller (277)
Room & Suite (59)
Dining (11)
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good31%
  • Average16%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“ice room”(63 reviews)
“golf trip”(39 reviews)
“golfing break”(22 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (2,124)
Filter reviews
2,121 results
Traveller rating
761
664
359
201
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
761
664
359
201
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsice roomgolf tripgolfing breakrelaxation roomcream teapro shopgreat golfplay golflovely hotelround of golfset menubar pricescheshire countrysiderestaurant staffcourse mealfrom start to finishbirthday treat
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 2,121 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

This is a clean and comfortable golf resort that offers good quality food and high levels of service. The building is surprisingly modern in style and needs a little updating but the levels of service and quality of the food make up for some slightly...More

Thank oswestrian055
Response from James P, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and SpaResponded 5 days ago

Dear Oswestrian055 Thanks so much for the lovely review following your recent trip to Macdonald Portal. I have been sure your to pass on your feedback to my fabulous team! I hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here as we needed somewhere dog friendly and they allow dogs in their courtyard rooms. We stayed for 2 nights and the cost was around £180 per night. The room was ok but nothing really above a Travelodge style room. I think like...More

1  Thank SR23
Response from James P, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and SpaResponded 5 days ago

Dear SR23 Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review following your recent stay. I am pleased that we were able to offer you suitable "dog-friendly" accommodation though disappointed of course to read that you felt you may consider other options...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a nice hotel in a lovely little location. My room was a good size and the bathroom was clean with a nice shower & bath. It’s a shame there wasn’t air con as it was so hot. As I arrived late I decided...More

1  Thank memphis40
Response from James P, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and SpaResponded 5 days ago

Dear Memphis40 Many thanks for the review following your recent stay with us. I was disappointed with your review of the hotel, and am sorry that this was your experience with us. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hi, visited the ‘resort’ with 20 golfers for a 2 round stay , breakfast at £14 was poor. Golf course was average , understandable due to conditions . We have paid near to £3000 for the package. Restaurant was booked . We asked for extra...More

3  Thank nigel p
Response from James P, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and SpaResponded 5 days ago

Dear Nigel P Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review following your recent golf trip. I am of course very disappointed to read that you left the hotel feeling that it had not represented value for money. I appreciate that your...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this hotel for a treat for a German girl we had been hosting for a year as a last night stay in the UK. The advantage was it allowed three adults in one room which reduced my costs I paid B& B rate....More

2  Thank sjw612016
Response from James P, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and SpaResponded 5 days ago

Dear sjw612016 Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us your recent review. Overall, I am sorry that you experienced a disappointing stay with us and can assure you that the neccasary re-training has taken place across our departments to ensure that the...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Silver level
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Wheelchair Access
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Golf Course
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
USD 104 - USD 254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
USD 104 - USD 254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (277)
Room & Suite (59)
Dining (11)
Pool & Beach (5)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (5)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ClaireabelleRed
24 February 2018|
Answer
Response from James P |
Hi Claire. It is a foot treatment including- a foot soak,foot scrub, foot massage heated booties and a scalp massage. It's absolutely amazing! Hope that you enjoy! :)
1
Vote
alison w
16 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from paul f | Reviewed this property |
They do cater for wedding parties so I imagine they might do but honestly I don't know
0
Votes
EmmaLouise2612
17 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Michael O | Reviewed this property |
Yes it has wifi and it is free
1
Vote
Room Tips
"some rooms come with nespresso machines"
Read review
"Ask to upgrade"
Read review
"Top floor is best, Suites have balconies that were great given the lovely hot weather we were lucky enough to..."
Read review
"Check your dates to see they don't clash with the Races"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing