We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Peckforton Castle

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Peckforton Castle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,959 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Peckforton Castle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,952: English reviews
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

My son got married here last weekend and although I knew he was getting married in a castle I certainly didn't know what a fabulous place it would turn out to be! It exceeded my expectations in every way. The venue itself was just magical which was complemented hugely by the standard of food and drink. It was an amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sue W
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Great to read how much you and your family enjoyed the wedding. Huge congratulations again, to your Son and Daughter-in-law, from all the team at Peckforton.

Newport, South Wales
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

Had an incredible day as the maid of honour at my friends wedding. Incredible service, wonderful food, perfection to a tee. Rooms decorated tastefully with many homely touches whilst keeping in with the ethos of the castle. Beautiful place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahhh21
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed the wedding and thank you for taking the time to review us.

Cheshire
Reviewed 20 January 2016

This hotel is a stunning building in a fabulous location with attractive rooms BUT what a disappointment . We booked by phone and were offered a 4 poster bed , which we didn't get. Dinner was delicious but the portions were TINY eg a scallop starter comprised one seared scallop and about 1/3 raw scallop. I actually went to bed...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Dangerwoman
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

I'm sorry to read that you did not enjoy your visit. We do work very hard to maintain high levels of service at all times. I will be using your feedback to effect improvements where possible.

Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2016

This is our fifth visit to Peckforton. Once again this place never ceases to amaze me. It was my nieces wedding and everything ran smoothly. From the minute we checked in, to the minute we left, two days later, the staff could not do enough for us all. A special mention to Peter on reception. Extremely professional, with nothing too...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tfgj
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

A fantastic review, thank you! We're so glad that you continue to enjoy the experience that the Castle offers and we look forward to seeing you again in April.

sutton in ashfield
Reviewed 19 January 2016

It's a year on since my first review & still find this place amazing!! We were travelling back home from an overnight stay in Wales & had pre-booked Sunday lunch at Peckforton's 1841 restaurant. As with our first visit to the hotel in 2015 we were certainly not disappointed. First class food in fabulous surroundings finished off with excellent service!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DLNY
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words. I'm glad you enjoy our hospitality and we look forward to hosting you for an overnight stay soon.

Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Firstly the Castle itself warrants 5 stars alone! I have never been so taken a back by a building or its location. I took my wife here for a relaxing spa break and was not disappointed. The deluxe couples package was great value for money and included three spa treatments, dinner, bed & breakfast. Brasserie Bar/Restaurant: On arrival we went...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank p-hudson4
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thanks for the comprehensive write up. I enjoyed reading it and it's great to know that you had such an enjoyable time. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the beginning of January and whilst the castle itself was beautiful it was let down by the staff in the Brasserie restaurant. They were inexperienced and rude; when we arrived the hostess completely blanked us and walked away. There were a few mistakes made and we received no apology for this. Maybe it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JaneAnne1988
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

My apologies that my Brasserie team did not deliver the service levels that both you and I, expect of them. I will be addressing this matter with my food & beverage manager and ensuring that additional training is given to the team member in question.

Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

I treated my partner to a night away staying here and it couldn't have been more perfect! From the gorgeous grounds and castle itself, to the beautiful period-featured rooms, to the relaxing and beautifully-lighted Spa area, to the meal in the Brasserie, to the breakfast the following morning! The staff were all extremely welcoming, professional and courteous - making check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TripMember01142016
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review. So great to read what an enjoyable stay you had and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Runcorn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2016

We recently had visitors from New Zealand to stay. Top of our kiwi friends list was a castle visit. Their faces were a picture when we arrived here to announce that we had dinner, bed and breakfast, along with archery, shooting and spa treatments to look forward to! On top of this our rooms were on the top floor in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CliveBooth
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

I'm glad your New Zealand visitors enjoyed the castle experience and thank you for writing a review. Look forward to welcoming you back to try out the Land Rover Experience some time soon.

southport uk
Reviewed 14 January 2016

This is a lovely place to stay set in lovely wooded hills and with activities on offer(at a price). Its a replica medieval castle (built 1850 ish) but pretty authentic in detail. The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable although there was an adjoining door in ours 3rd floor)to the room next door through which at night could clearly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andymSouthportUk
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing you experience with others. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

1,046 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1018)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (242)
Viewed
Room/Suite (130)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (21)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (536)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
12.8 km away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
12.2 km away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
795 reviews
5.8 km away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 km away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,017 reviews
14.3 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
15.9 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
1851 Restaurant
1851 Restaurant
Cuisines: British
2010 Brasserie
2010 Brasserie
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Peckforton Castle - An enchanting Hotel in the heart of Cheshire. Rising majestically above the Cheshire landscape, the castle is both enigmatic and enchanting. Originally the home of Lord Tollemache and built in the early 19th Century, this Grade I listed building is the only intact medieval style Castle in the country. Over the years the castle has been the location for numerous movies including Robin Hood and Dr Who. Now owned by the Naylor family, the stunning exterior has been complemented by a loving and considered restoration programme resulting in a magnificent hotel and venue offering contemporary luxury and impeccable service. Services include 48 stunning individual guest rooms, conference, events, and wedding facilities for up to 180. Tranquility beauty, on site Falconry and team activities all adding up to a rather magical experience. Dining at the Castle truly is a special occasion, welcoming the public as well as hotel guests. The 1851 Restaurant offers a dining experience fit for royalty. Holder of 3 AA Rosettes and a Taste Cheshire Award. Alternatively the more informal and cosmopolitan 2010 Brasserie, located in the former scullery of the castle, features many of the amazing features of the original scullery including two cast iron cooking ranges dating back to the 1840's. Peckforton Castle's enchanting medieval style beauty and stunning location make it a truly impressive and desirable venue for weddings, christenings, birthday parties, or just about anything that's worth celebrating. Everything plays a part; the fabulous setting, stunning location, the attentive service and smiling faces, the bespoke menus and decorations. A magnificent venue for conferencing and meetings. Within the medieval walls, old and new combine seamlessly to offer state of the art multi media and conference facilities. Captivating on arrival, Peckforton Castle's unspoilt, natural beauty will stimulate and motivate, delight the eye, inspire the mind, tantalise the taste buds and leave you enchanted. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Peckforton Castle

Address: Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Price Range: $222 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peckforton Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Peckforton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peckforton Castle Hotel Tarporley
Peckforton Castle Tarporley, UK - Cheshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Peckforton Castle staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Peckforton Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not all rooms can be accessed by the lift, you will need to let the hotel know if you cannot climb stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles CFA69, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The castle has LOTS of stairs so you may like to ask for a lower level room if you think you may struggle.”
 of 5 bubbles 904ad, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you can afford Executive go for it!”
 of 5 bubbles teacher-clo, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“clasic rooms are smaller up grade would be better”
 of 5 bubbles bobi120, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 107 is not good”
  • dressing table
  • Tatty decor
  • Mirror too tall
  • Scratched furniture
 of 5 bubbles Suzyjovi1, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5