We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chimney House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chimney House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

634 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 630: English reviews
Start your review of Chimney House Hotel
 Click to rate
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Nice hotel rooms dated lots of moths in bedroom breakfast good food in restaraunt good but check if wedding on first turns into fawlty towers bar area beautiful but kids from wedding running amok need to be kept in function room

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Abit disappointed. .had high hopes of this beautiful hotel in stunning grounds..room was ok but not great..shower was cold in the morning. .when I complained they said a boiler had broke down..breakfast was help yourself ..presentation could have been better..This hotel was not cheap..I expected more..staff were miserable. .I think a lot of eastern European who to be honest kept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goffalot
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What a fantastic night! The setting was lovely, the food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Everyone had a great night, it was a fun atmosphere - thank you to everyone at the hotel for making it such a good night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suegreenbank13
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for allowing us to host such a special occasion we pride ourselves on always giving our best. Thank you for your feedback and look forward to you returning again . Kind Regards

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went for afternoon tea on 26th March, hotel was very nice, we were shown to a nice area overlooking a wooded area. The young lady who served us was very pleasant and helpful. The food was excellent with the offer of tea or coffee. My only negative comment was the receptionist who when we arrived was on the telephone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank harleyCheshire
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your Feedback glad to hear your afternoon tea was excellent , the receptionist is also the reservations line so if they are taking a booking they would be looking at the system entering a booking and would give you eye contact at any first opportunity so sorry if you felt ignored .

northumberland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights as a Xmas gift off our family . Hotel looks nice downstairs . Staff friendly , we booked in and as the gift card included dinner on our first night we booked dinner for 7oclock , we settled in to our room which was in need off updating . Wall paper comming off the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lainyNorthumberland
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for your feedback, we are sorry for the issues, all the hotel is under renovations at the moment. To improve and update future customer service all present and new staff are to re-train to prevent and provide a better service.

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night bed and breakfast at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The bedroom was spacious and clean. The bed was very comfy. Shower was powerful. Breakfast was served hot the next day with as much tea, coffee and toast as you could eat. Excellent all round, would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hilarybt
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we are so pleased your stay was enjoyable, we look forward to your return visit. Kind Regards

lancsahire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Heating not working in room asked to repair not done ,breakfast under warmer all food tepid when mentioned again nothing done complete lack of interest Arrived on Sunday for one night meeting friends from abroad seemed to be only one lady on staff serving bar taking meal orders when meal served Sunday evening delivered by ay a man in old...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank calijah
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear things were not as it should be, we are currently recruiting, in the bar and restaurant so further issues can be avoided further training is being taught to assist customers more importantly. Kind Regards

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My wife treated us to a two night dinner,bed and breakfast deal with groupon,and have to say we really enjoyed it,the hotel is a lovely looking building a stones throw away from the M6,we stayed in an executive room,which was comfortable and clean with a huge bed,the bathroom was spotlessly clean,but the decor could do with a little tlc here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyMeredith
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and feedback, the staff work so hard to ensure guests have a great stay, and your feedback will give them great pleasure it has been recognised . we are currently renovating all the hotel, and on a return visit i hope you like the improvements we are making. Kind Regards

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Food was good, although the sandwiches had clearly been in the fridge for several hours as they were cold - don't understand why they couldn't be freshly made My biggest criticism was that the Gents toilets smelled strongly - it makes you wonder how clean the kitchen must be

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kentalbot
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we apologise for your issue, and we work hard to resolve any issues. Kind Regards

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2017

First impressions of the hotel are good. Building looks nice and well maintained in nice grounds. Check in was quick and efficient and the staff friendly. I had a double room with a king size bed. The room was very spacious with a desk and a small couch and coffee table. Bathroom was clean with a few minor decor issues,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marshwiggle
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and feedback, We are working on improvements through out the hotel and restaurant with renovations increasing staff levels and training. Kind Regards

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandbach
7.0 km away
De Vere Cranage Estate
7.2 km away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Congleton
294 reviews
7.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,076 reviews
7.9 km away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#4 of 9 in Crewe
265 reviews
6.2 km away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled within 8 acres of tranquil grounds just 500 metres from Junction 17 of the M6, this Tudor-style Country House offers a stylish restaurant with free Wi-Fi and on-site parking.Ideally positioned between the historic market towns of Sandbach and Congleton, this charming half-timbered Hotel has undergone a full refurbishment, combining original period character with the best of modern comfort. Peace and relaxation exist in abundance, whether it is the scenic beauty of the surrounding gardens and woodland or the friendly yet professional service, guests are assured of a truly memorable stay.The Hotel offers bedroom types to suit all travellers, including Standard, Family and Executive options. Each of the 50 en-suite rooms has been individually designed and decorated with stylish, contemporary furnishings. They all come equipped with free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, radio, hairdryer, Room Service and tea & coffee making facilities. Many rooms also feature spectacular scenic views of the grounds and surrounding Cheshire countryside.The warm and welcoming Patio Restaurant offers a modern brassiere-style dining experience. Open for lunch and dinner, including a traditional Sunday lunch, the extensive menu is complemented by a superb selection of wines from around the world. With its polished wooden floors and high leather stools, the bar is the perfect place to spend an afternoon. It offers a variety of speciality coffees and drinks as well as a lounge menu serving a selection of light meals, sandwiches and snacks.With its convenient and peaceful location, the Hotel is the perfect conference venue. It offers five flexible meeting rooms each designed to provide a traditional, yet thoroughly modern working environment.The Hotel is situated less than a minute’s drive from Junction 17 of the M6 and offers free on-site parking for all guests. Stoke-on-Trent is about 20 minutes away and it is about a 40 minute drive to Manchester, both of which offer excellent transport links to all major destinations across the country. There are also regular bus services to Sandbach, Congleton and Crewe that are all within walking distance from the Hotel. For those flying in, Manchester Airport is a 25 minute drive away.The Hotel is with close proximity to an abundance of fantastic attractions and tourist spots, making it the perfect base from which to explore the area. For outdoor enthusiasts, the Peak District National Park is a scenic haven of unspoilt beauty, perfect for a range of activities including walking, hiking, cycling, rock climbing, horse riding, fishing and much more besides. For family fun there is Alton Towers, Britain’s premier theme park and Chester Zoo, home to over 7,000 animals including some of the most endangered species on the planet. History lovers will surely appreciate the sights at Tatton Park, The Crewe Heritage Centre and Nantwich Museum, and sports fans will be well-served by the nearby Malkins Bank Golf Course. For more urban pursuits, the cities of Crewe and Chester are both easily accessible whilst shopaholics will be spoilt for choice at both the Trafford Centre and the Potteries shopping complexes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chimney House Hotel

Address: Congleton Road, Sandbach CW11 4ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Sandbach
Price Range: $92 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chimney House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chimney House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimney Hotel Sandbach
The Chimney Hotel
Chimney House Hotel Sandbach, Cheshire, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chimney House Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Chimney House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only went for afternoon tea”
Grangie60, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
stevensonstouring, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ring direct if you must stay here and ask for their best price including breakfast”
812dirkm, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Winter so ?”
Ken201455, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in Room 37, nice view of trees!”
  • Tired room
markcA6953DV, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5