We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Chimney House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chimney House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

621 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 617: English reviews
Start your review of Chimney House Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I stayed due to business in the area for few days some parts dated food was good check in very warm friendly great service from lady called lisa will return due to the welcoming approach good parking too

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happysays
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I went here with a friend for her birthday, we were nicely surprised to see how clean, and smart it was. The lovely waitress made a big fuss of us and the food was really tasty, we were offered unlimited tea and coffee. All the food was fresh and the cakes were all soft and obviously baked there. So much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grangie60
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We used a small meeting room for 14 people coundnt fault it at all the room was set up well for us boardroom style with crisp clean white table cloths, paper pens water glasses etc . Very reasonable rate .. afterwards we enjoyed a meal in the restaraunt .. absoloutly lovely many of us had steak which was cooked to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jewyjewy3
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for let us know about your day at the Chimney house hotel. I will share your comment to the team and will thank them to the work the delivered. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel

lancs
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday night as we were attending a function nearby. Booked 1 night room only at £59. Upon arrival the hotel looks very nice from the outside and also at reception. It goes downhill once you leave the public area with tired and smelly corridors. Didn't sleep well at all in warm room with poor mattress and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Overnyter
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for having taking the time to let us know about your stay in our hotel. I would like to apologise to not having reach your expectation. I am pleased to tell you, that we are planning a full refurbishment program for the hotel this year and all your comment will be taken on board to improve the quality...

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

my husband and I were also at this hotel sat 11th feb,a xmas present from our kids so we weren't too worried about the hotel as long as it was clean.Our room was very nice,no complaints there.There clearly was a lack of staff and the young man did seem to be doing the lions share of the work.As our meal...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kimcliff
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

I would like two apologise for your experience in our hotel on that evening, but several issue happened which been causing problem at the service. All this issue as been raised and reviewed. The situation is back to where it is supposed to be.

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Looks so beautiful from the outside but don't be fooled.. run down, harsh white lights in the cold, noisy restaurant make it impossible to relax . Offering a very limited meat eaters menu with no provisions for vegan, gluten free or vegetarian. Breakfast even worse. Avoid!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for your comment on your visit in our hotel. On our menu, we have a choice for vegeterian people, and for any other allergy, the staff are more than happy to assist you.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited this hotel on Saturday 11 February for a 1 night stay. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist called Lynne and given our room number and booked evening meal for 7pm. We arrived at the restaurant at 18.50 and was just told to find a seat, which we did. 40 minutes later a waitress came and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nickyp1126
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

I would like two apologise for your experience in our hotel on that evening, but several issue happened which been causing problem at the service. All this issue as been raised and reviewed. The situation is back to where it is supposed to be.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Looks good but sadly lacking ,booked this place because it was close to where we needed to be for a competition for my son ,booked it through 3rd party site booking.com or late rooms and stated that we needed a family room 2 adults and 1 child, payment was made online and we arrived after 9pm after driving for over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevensonstouring
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for having taking the time to give us your feed back on your experience at the chimney hotel. I would like to apologise for your stay as it doesn't reflect at all the quality of service we are delivering on daily basis. The issue has been investigate and the appropriate training was given to avoid an other situation like...

Appledore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My eldest Son and I travelled from Kent to Anfield for the Liverpool versus Chelsea game. Having checked out the travel options, (rail services being disappointingly unhelpful), we elected to drive up and stop over somewhere convenient and return home the following day. The hotel was identified and selected on line as looking reasonable from a quality and price perspective....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for your comment on your experience at the Chimney House Hotel. We are happy to have participate to make your journey to Manchester. We looked forward to welcome you on your next trip.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found the hotel to be really nice, although the receptionist did explain they were undergoing renovations, which we did not realise or see or hear anything that showed this. The night Porter was a lovely man, very efficient and friendly. On our second night there, our key card did not work and he could not of been more helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gwen k
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment on your experience at the Chimney house hotel. We have an information folder in all the room, for you to have all the infos you need about our service. Following your comment, we are reviewing all the room to make all are in place.

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandbach
6.9 km away
De Vere Cranage Estate
7.2 km away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Congleton
282 reviews
8.9 km away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
39.4 km away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
7.9 km away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crewe
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled within 8 acres of tranquil grounds just 500 metres from Junction 17 of the M6, this Tudor-style Country House offers a stylish restaurant with free Wi-Fi and on-site parking.Ideally positioned between the historic market towns of Sandbach and Congleton, this charming half-timbered Hotel has undergone a full refurbishment, combining original period character with the best of modern comfort. Peace and relaxation exist in abundance, whether it is the scenic beauty of the surrounding gardens and woodland or the friendly yet professional service, guests are assured of a truly memorable stay.The Hotel offers bedroom types to suit all travellers, including Standard, Family and Executive options. Each of the 50 en-suite rooms has been individually designed and decorated with stylish, contemporary furnishings. They all come equipped with free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, radio, hairdryer, Room Service and tea & coffee making facilities. Many rooms also feature spectacular scenic views of the grounds and surrounding Cheshire countryside.The warm and welcoming Patio Restaurant offers a modern brassiere-style dining experience. Open for lunch and dinner, including a traditional Sunday lunch, the extensive menu is complemented by a superb selection of wines from around the world. With its polished wooden floors and high leather stools, the bar is the perfect place to spend an afternoon. It offers a variety of speciality coffees and drinks as well as a lounge menu serving a selection of light meals, sandwiches and snacks.With its convenient and peaceful location, the Hotel is the perfect conference venue. It offers five flexible meeting rooms each designed to provide a traditional, yet thoroughly modern working environment.The Hotel is situated less than a minute’s drive from Junction 17 of the M6 and offers free on-site parking for all guests. Stoke-on-Trent is about 20 minutes away and it is about a 40 minute drive to Manchester, both of which offer excellent transport links to all major destinations across the country. There are also regular bus services to Sandbach, Congleton and Crewe that are all within walking distance from the Hotel. For those flying in, Manchester Airport is a 25 minute drive away.The Hotel is with close proximity to an abundance of fantastic attractions and tourist spots, making it the perfect base from which to explore the area. For outdoor enthusiasts, the Peak District National Park is a scenic haven of unspoilt beauty, perfect for a range of activities including walking, hiking, cycling, rock climbing, horse riding, fishing and much more besides. For family fun there is Alton Towers, Britain’s premier theme park and Chester Zoo, home to over 7,000 animals including some of the most endangered species on the planet. History lovers will surely appreciate the sights at Tatton Park, The Crewe Heritage Centre and Nantwich Museum, and sports fans will be well-served by the nearby Malkins Bank Golf Course. For more urban pursuits, the cities of Crewe and Chester are both easily accessible whilst shopaholics will be spoilt for choice at both the Trafford Centre and the Potteries shopping complexes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chimney House Hotel

Address: Congleton Road, Sandbach CW11 4ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Sandbach
Price Range: $83 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chimney House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Chimney House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimney Hotel Sandbach
The Chimney Hotel
Chimney House Hotel Sandbach, Cheshire, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chimney House Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Chimney House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only went for afternoon tea”
 of 5 bubbles Grangie60, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles stevensonstouring, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ring direct if you must stay here and ask for their best price including breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles 812dirkm, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Winter so ?”
 of 5 bubbles Ken201455, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in Room 37, nice view of trees!”
  • Tired room
 of 5 bubbles markcA6953DV, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5