We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Taplow House Hotel

Agoda.comUSD 135*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 155*
USD 135*
Great Deal
USD 155*
USD 155*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Taplow House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

644 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Taplow House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 639: English reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

I visited Taplow house with family for afternoon tea as a birthday treat. The food was generally good - not everything was to our taste but you do get a nice selection and unlimited tea or coffee was a bonus! Tea is served in a grand dining room with super high ceilings, stunning mirrors and a lovely view of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank amylouise380
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review on your champagne afternoon tea at Taplow House. The window tables in Berrys Restaurant do give a wonderful view of the gardens and a stroll after the indulgency is, as you say, tranquil and quiet. Do come again and thanks from all of the team. Dave Seward General Manager

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2015 via mobile

We went to Taplow House hotel for lunch whilst staying with family nearby. The food was delicious, enjoyed both the Seabass and the Duck, also amazing deserts. Food was excellent! Staff were extremely professional and looked after us very well. We were also able to enjoy coffee in the lounge by the fire afterwards. I would definately recommend anyone visiting...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NannyPat1936
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review on your champagne afternoon tea at Taplow House. The window tables in Berrys Restaurant do give a wonderful view of the gardens and a stroll after the indulgency is, as you say, tranquil and quiet. Do come again and thanks from all of the team. Dave Seward General Manager

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2015

Arrived on a windy wet Saturday, the house was lovely and warm. Was expecting something bigger but the house is small enough to come across as a private home rather than a huge modern hotel. Bedroom was ok, small bed (I'd say 4foot 6 wide and less than 6foot long) but the heating was not working so the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juliet S
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Juliet S Thank you for this detailed review on your recent stay at Taplow House Hotel. I am sorry that you felt we were not as good as you had expected. I do apologise for this and I have asked Sarah to discuss this with her team. I am pleased that you were delighted with the Afternoon tea and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

This a beautiful country house set in the heartland of Surrey. The rooms are lovely, spacious and immaculately maintained. The service is what you'd expect from a 5 star venue. Staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. No request is too small. We also ate in the restaurant which the food was excellent. Fresh, innovative and a joy to dine

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Redgibo
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review on Taplow House (just for the record - we are based in Buckinghamshire) Your comments about the level of service are very welcome and I am delighted that you found the staff friendly, helpful and efficient. I have passed on the praise of your meal to the Chef and his team, who sometimes get...

Reviewed 27 November 2015

Spent a wonderful time with wife and parents as it was a belated present. The staff were extremely helpful and couldn't do enough for you. Mark was excellent. Pleasant surroundings and a nice tea with sandwiches cakes and scones. We had a November offer on tea which made things very acceptable, although at full price it's expensive. The 12.5 %...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Flackwellboy
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

What a fabulous review - thank you.

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2015

We arrived for our short stay at Taplow House Hotel. We really enjoyed our visit as well as our room and the staff there.Talking of staff we were sat in the garden when a staff member invited my son to pet the rabbits. The staff member soon disappeared and left my son with the rabbits. I totally forgot about my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rory_Hamij
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the 5/5 review you have given us......... but what are you going on about??? Yes - we do have rabbits in the grounds, but you can’t get 20m near them (believe me the chef has tried!) A scene from Alice in Wonderland methinks? You forgot about your son? The RSPCA let you go? …….. from where? And...

cambridgeshire
Reviewed 22 November 2015

We stayed here as were going to The Fat Duck on the Saturday evening and had a double deluxe room. Reception staff were fast, welcoming and very helpful. They booked a taxi for us immediately we asked. So prompt. The room (Eton Room) was small but comfortable, very clean, and well decorated. A bathroom mirror light was missing it's glass...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DavidnSimon
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review on your recent stay at Taplow House Hotel. I am pleased that your check in was speedy, and your taxi was arranged efficiently. Delighted that you would come again - do give Laura a call to book directly and she will ensure that you have the best rates available. Regards Dave Seward General Manager

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2015

The hotel is in a nice location and has the potential to be good, however, it needs a total refurb. All areas of the hotel are dated and in need of a complete revamp. We pre-paid for breakfast - we were not told that breakfast finished at 10am on a Sunday. A hotel breakfast should not finish so early (especially...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Noddy81
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Noddy81 Thank you for your recent review of Taplow House Hotel. I am pleased to learn the location suited you. I must however dispute your statement that the hotel is in need of a ‘total refurb’. In the past year we have replaced all public area carpets, renovated the ladies rest room, continued with a rolling bedroom programme, including...

Holyport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2015

I went with my Granddaughters for afternoon tea as their guest with their Step Mother to celebrate her birthday. The tea was very enjoyable as was the surroundings. However, I was very disappointed when the bill was presented and the waiter advising that a gratuity had been added to the amount and was that OK! We believed that the tip,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andy G, Thank you for taking the time to review Berry’s Restaurant at Taplow House Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed our afternoon tea offering and took to opportunity to view the beautiful gardens surrounding the house. I am sorry you were disappointed with our gratuity policy. Each of our menus and all hotel literature clearly state we...

Reviewed 9 November 2015 via mobile

We Stayed here overnight whilst going for Dinner in Bray which is only 5 minutes in a taxi Clean, good service and a nice place overall Bed was very comfy, shower and bath all in good working order and room all clean If you want modern hotel probably not for you but has a British old charm feel about it...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Paullw
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review on your recent stay at Taplow house. We are so conveniently situated for the gastro pubs of Bray and, of course, the famous Fat Duck. I am delighted that you found our rooms and facility to be of a good standard and with the lovely comments on the old charm feel that we have...

195 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (156)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
1.9 km away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
574 reviews
3.3 km away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
938 reviews
3.3 km away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
1.0 km away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 11 in Maidenhead
667 reviews
4.5 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A stunning Georgian retreat situated on the border between Berkshire and Buckinghamshire. Taplow House Hotel is a peaceful haven only 15 minutes from London Heathrow Airport and 10 minutes from historic Windsor. Set in 6 acres of beautiful gardens and boasting Europe's largest tulip trees Taplow House Hotel is the perfect setting for a meeting, private event, wedding or relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Taplow House Hotel

Address: Berry Hill, Taplow SL6 0DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Price Range: $170 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taplow House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Taplow House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taplow House Hotel England, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Taplow House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Orkney Room is beautiful”
sarahcX9386ZX, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Book a room over looking the terraces & lawns and not near the main entrance to reception & kitchens. No lift.”
lizziewh46, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an upgrade”
Travelman050, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We did not stay here so cannot comment.”
Anj9170, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“rooms facing the gardens are great”
Deiderick, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
USD 135* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 155
PricelineUSD 155
TripAdvisorUSD 135
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates