We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cliveden House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cliveden House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

891 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cliveden House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 866: English reviews
Wymondham
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Stayed here this week with my boyfriend - we did 2 nights. The hotel was beautifully grand - steeped in historical tales, and magnificent receptions - BUT ..... the hotel needs to seriously move into the 21st century. There is obviously a fiddle going on between the hotel and local taxi companies in Marlow. Be prepared to pay £25.00 each...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Spangieuk
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

I am pleased to say that I have been able to correspond with these guests directly, to help clarify our charges. We never like to hear that our guests have left us having had a less than perfect stay and that expectations were not met, for this we wish to apologize. Kind regards Sue W

bournemouth
Reviewed 14 August 2015

We used Cliveden as a base for visiting Royal Ascot for the races. Our stay with them was virtually perfect and other than the cachet of its history as one of Britain's favourite party house throughout the centuries and the obvious links with the scandal of the Profumo affair, Cliveden went beyond trading on this and excelled in the thoughtful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pilesasmiles
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Thank you for making special mention of the courtesy of our team, I know it means a lot to them to get a special mention. We always set out to strike a balance, where by we off good old fashioned hospitality but in an environment that is very much moving with the times with in our beautiful Heritage house. We...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We were gifted a lunch for our joint birthdays. The thought of lunching at such a grand place such as Cliveden made me very anxious. However I need not have worried. From the moment we entered, we were greated by very friendly staff who made us feel at ease. The food was excellent. After lunch we took a walk outside...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mpee2015
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

I am glad we could soon make you feel relaxed so that you could make the most of your visit. We have lovely team here and they make all the difference to your experience. Great to hear that you will return one day. Thank you. Regards Sue W

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Cliveden has been on my agenda for so long. In no way were we disappointed. Worth every penny, Cliveden is special and memorable for life. Superb when the public leave the grounds and the house and grounds feel almost private to you. Such open and generous staff made our stay personal and luxurious. Thank you Cliveden House and staff, you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank horsewildwolf
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Now that you have visited I hope we do not get crossed off your agenda. Rather that we soon pop back up at the top of the "to do" list. So pleased you enjoyed your visit and that the team looked after you well. Kind regards Sue W

Luton
Reviewed 12 August 2015

On arriving at the front gate we showed our voucher (provided by friends) and we were directed to follow the Grand Driveway up to the hotel which was most impressive. We took tea in the Grand Hall which is steeped in historical paintings and carvings. The service we received was excellent, being both attentive although not imposing. We started with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdrianCLuton
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing the details of your recent afternoon tea visit. Having that glass of Champagne sets the scene perfectly. Ideal spot to come along and linger over tea and then make the most to the Gardens. Sounds like a great day out. Thank you for your review. Kind regards Sue W

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2015

My wife and I have been fortunate to stay in many excellent hotels around the world, Cliveden House is easily amongst the best. The setting is enchanting, the building is fantastic, the public areas opulent and magnificent and the bedrooms out of this world. The decor of the public areas reflects the history of the building with wood panelling in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike1331_13
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

It is always so interesting as to the different details that our reviewers pick up on. Good to see the Chandeliers getting a mention here. They are striking and we are so fortunate to have 3 of them adorning the André Garrett Restaurant. Thank you for your most considered review and we very much hope to be able to welcome...

Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

First time to Cliveden after years of contemplating a visit. Didn't disappoint, fantastic building and grounds, staff were friendly and helpful and dinner in the hotel restaurant was one of the best we've had in a hotel of this kind. Weekend was topped off on an idyllic boat trip on The Belmont, a beautiful boat expertly captained by Ken, thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stugrant75
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Great to hear that you had an all round good experience during your recent stay. I really am pleased you were able to spend time on the Belmont as it is the perfect thing to do on a summers afternoon. Quiet, peaceful and very romantic. Kind regards Sue W

Reviewed 6 August 2015

This is such a wonderful hotel. It's not about the food, although good, I wouldn't say it's amazing. It's about the rooms, the history and the level of service and the wonderful setting. There is something very special about this place. Walking through the gardens, the view from the library, relaxing in your room after a long walk around the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniel6789123
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Just about my favourite words I have read in any review " there is something very special about this place" It says it all, a big thank you from us all at Cliveden. Kind regards Sue

Orinda, California
Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

After an amazing two night stay at the Cliveden House, the four couples we were traveling with moved to the sister property of Chewton Glen in New Milton. I realized I had left my passport in the room safe at Cliveden. I was amazed at the 'above and beyond' service that the front desk woman at Chewton Glen and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank home4life
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Our pleasure and thank you for your kind words. We have been Sister properties for just over 3 years now and it is lovely to receive a joint review - yours is a first. We share the same spirit and put customer service right at the top of our priorities. We very much hope to be able to welcome you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Very rarely does any hotel surprise me with such a sense of history, comfort and service, for the first time in my travelling experience, a hotel has captured the essence of what it must have been like to live and experience the fabulous wealth and privilege of the wealthy elite of a bygone age, along with the level of top...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gordonbelgraviaplace
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Your review tells me you totally "get" Cliveden, the House, the Heritage and the sense of place. Your words made me smile and feel very proud of our beautiful House. From your kind words I think we may just have crept into your hearts. I very much hope that is the case and that the romance you have with Cliveden...

498 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (460)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (177)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Other (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
6.5 km away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
9.4 km away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
29.6 km away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
555 reviews
3.4 km away
Taplow House Hotel
Taplow House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Taplow
612 reviews
3.4 km away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cliveden is unique. One of the world's finest luxury hotels, this grand stately home is set in the heart of the Berkshire countryside, surrounded by 376 acres of magnificent formal gardens and parkland and with wonderful panoramic views over the River Thames. It is one of the finest luxury hotels near London and Heathrow Airport. Guests have included every British monarch since George I as well as Charlie Chaplin, Winston Churchill, Harold Macmillan, President Roosevelt, George Bernard Shaw, John Profumo and Christine Keeler, and many other well-known names from the past and present. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cliveden House

Address: Taplow SL6 0JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Price Range: $522 - $1,080 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cliveden House 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Cliveden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliveden House Hotel Taplow
Cliveden House Taplow, England, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliveden House staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
Barcelona
5 months ago
Worcester
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Cliveden House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Gibson Room has some great views”
 of 5 bubbles SandyBeach76, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask when you ring about rooms, all lovely really, we got a free upgrade this time as was so quiet so look out for quieter times. ”
 of 5 bubbles Z5931Amber, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“In winter, Canning, in summer Munnings, anytime special treat Shrewsbury... Frankly, any room anytime!”
 of 5 bubbles P209SKchristopherm, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles pennsylvaniahomebody, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Floreat Cliveden, may all who sail within her be utterly, definativly decadent”
 of 5 bubbles ChDYquem, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5