We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Huron Motor Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Baymouth
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Huron Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 38: English reviews
Start your review of Huron Motor Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

The lodge is conveniently located across from the ferry. The place is clean but very dated. Beds were just alright. There wasn't even a hair dryer. Tub, sink, & toilet were pink. I haven't seen that since 1990! There was no where to put toiletries. The woman that worked in reception was 'just there' not overly friendly but not rude...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jettboo
Waubaushene, Canada
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Yes, this motel may be dated, but the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Service was great. The room has a TV, microwave and small fridge. We were pleased with the accommodations - it is a motel and not a hotel. Suited us just fine as we spent most of the day out and about. We will stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WaubMD
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

This hasn't been updated since it was built in the 50's??? Whenever they put pink appliances in bathrooms. It was clean but overpriced for midweek and out of season at $140. There was satellite tv which was the only perk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shona31
Eric S, Owner at Huron Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us,we keep hearing the same thing ( outdated but clean) we try to keep with this look in keeping with the spirit of Manitoulin Island. Many people like it and say don't change a thing as you said the sat TV was a perk how about the flat screen tv,frig,and microwave the beds...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We called in and booked 8 hours ahead of our arrival for a group of 5 adults. They booked us a cottage 2 beds and a couch. The rooms were not prepared for us at all. Spiders and cob webs all over outside as well as inside. They did not take the time to clean it up for our arrival...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billierules
Ajax, Canada
Reviewed 15 September 2016

No coffee making facilities or coffee available unless you want to buy it in the motel snack shop. Wifi only worked outside our room. No signal inside. Ice maker broken. Only one outlet in our room was available to charge our phone. No shampoo supplied. Place needs a facelift or ploughing into the ground. They get by because of the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Marty912
Eric S, Owner at Huron Motor Lodge, responded to this review

So sorry for the ice maker breaking down but equipment failure happens and it was a hot summer,we did have shampoo in the office if needed. We don't advertise free wi fi because our DSL is at the end of the line however it is there and free to guests usually works OK most of the time. We are a...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We made a last minute reservation. The location was great. It is across the street from the ferry terminal and close to food shops. We had a two person cottage which had two beds plus couch and could probably actually fit 4 people. The shower had a skylight which was great. The temperature was cool so no AC was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cyndy S
Ontario
Reviewed 4 September 2016

This review is relates only to the Chalet Gift Shop and service I received at the Huron Motor Lodge as I did not stay at the Huron Motor Lodge. While waiting for the ferry to Tobermory, I had the opportunity to stop in to take a peak around at the Chalet Gift Shop. I was met by two lovely ladies...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTraveller13
Niagra Falls
Reviewed 1 September 2016

we stayed there aug 25-26 waiting for our ferry the next morning,the place is a little dated ,but was very clean,beds were comfortable,good resturants close by,close to the ferry get on gates,they have a pool to enjoy,over all a nice stay for the money,would stay again no problem.people are very friendly and willing to help you in anyway they can,keys...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank duskie
Reviewed 29 August 2016

This place is right at the ferry dock, therefore just about right on Lake Huron. My room was very nice, with a fridge and microwave. There's no coffee because the motel runs a little coffee/ice cream shop. I didn't like that, but you could boil water in the microwave and make your own coffee if you were prepared. Staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ghengiscon
Trent Hills, ON
Reviewed 20 August 2016

I had the ground level end unit overlooking the harbour and ferry terminal. Great view. This is an older, somewhat dated motel, but it was very clean. More than good enough for a good night's sleep. Convenient location right as you come off the ferry. There are a number of restaurants in the area, although a lot of the businesses...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bradford M

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Baymouth
23.6 km away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
52 reviews
47.4 km away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
25.9 km away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 km away
Mindemoya Motel
Mindemoya Motel
#3 of 3 in Mindemoya
48 reviews
25.8 km away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#2 of 2 in Manitowaning
31 reviews
31.6 km away
Red Lodge Resort
Red Lodge Resort
#1 of 28 in Manitoulin Island
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are situated on south shore of Manitoulin Is.Largest fresh water Is. in the world Facing beautiful Lake Huron one of the 5 Great Lakes.21 units including, motels, cottages & suites all non smoking ,Come and enjoy the cool breeze off Lake Huron, recommended by AAA-CAA Coffee Sandwich & Ice Cream Shop for your convenience All units have Satellite TV friges & microwave ovens, Swimming pool & sun deck.Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Huron Motor Lodge

Address: 24 Water. St | Hwy #6, South Baymouth, Ontario POP 1ZO, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > South Baymouth
Number of rooms: 21
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Huron Motor Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Huron Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First unit (#1) has a deck - good view of the lake”
 of 5 bubbles WaubMD, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else. There are other places available.”
 of 5 bubbles Marty912, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“we had room 7 and liked it very much”
 of 5 bubbles duskie, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“My room, #3, has a view of the harbor.”
 of 5 bubbles ghengiscon, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room # 14 if you don't want to sleep with ants.”
 of 5 bubbles 849sandyd, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5