We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Maidment House Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinity
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Maidment House Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 80: English reviews
Saint Albans, Vermont
Reviewed 30 October 2016

The building is an historic building and well maintained. The room was spacious, clean and quiet. The breakfasts were homemade and very good. Karen was a wonderful host and we would love to return to explore more of the area. A truly delightful experience!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DWoollyTraveller
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 30 September 2016

This lovely cottage has been impeccably restored by Eric, tastefully decorated and managed with great attention to every detail by Karen. She serves a delicious, nutritious breakfast in an atmosphere that lends itself to conversation and exchanges amongst guests along with precious tidbits of information on Trinity's past and present from Eric. A great place to stay when in Trinity.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonia C
Blind Bay, Canada
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Not sure if it was the beauty of Trinity, the incredible breakfasts, the wonderful bed and room, reading by the woodstove in the living room, or the special way that we were treated by Eric and Karen, but we left a part of our hearts in the Maidment House. Actually, it might have been hearing Ben laughing as he got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
Burlington, Canada
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Along with another couple, we stayed for three nights at Maidment House and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Karen is a wonderful hostess, ensuring that we had everything we needed as well as preparing delicious wholesome breakfasts and helping us plan our day trips. My husband especially enjoyed Eric's keen interest in the history of the area. Our room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rmassey12
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We had a great stay This was last minute booking and it was fabulous Comfortable beds and linen is ironed!!!!! Clean and spacious We had the double single bed room The other rooms were great, as the guests in those rooms let us have a peak Hosts are very attentive and hard working Food was tasty and plentiful. Enough to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NotSoHardToPleaseInO
Canuck in Mount Hope
Reviewed 13 September 2016

A little disappointing to us. First the good. Rooms were excellent and well amenitied and Karen only to willing to assist with her advice. The not so good. Breakfasts pretty sparce, given the "gourmet" advertisement. No juice for breakfast 1st course, only a couple of fruit slices along side the egg or pancake dish, no baked goods, not even toast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaveAndCarolyn_9
MerryMaidment, Owner at Maidment House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Sounds like we let you down and we’re sorry about that. We work so hard to ensure a memorable stay for our guests; to prepare hearty and healthy meals; to provide a realistic expectation and then work to exceed it. We offer a hot entree of my choosing (made entirely on site, from scratch, with local, seasonal, and organic ingredients...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We loved this B and B, and especially the wonderful family running it. Karen is a whiz in the kitchen and made great breakfasts. We were here for 3 nights and she did not repeat herself and everything was of the best quality. Our room was beautiful and bright and it was so terrific to breathe in the pure air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marlene a
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 16 August 2016

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights in early August. I loved everything about it. The carefully restored home was lovely - our room was immaculate (I loved the handmade soaps) and it could not have been better. Great location in the centre of town. Karen's breakfasts were wonderful (the blintzes were amazing) and she was really helpful giving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmers05
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Reviewed 12 August 2016

You can't get more "right downtown" than this, it's an easy walk to many attractions, hikes and lots of beauty. The owners, Karen, Eric and lil Benjamin are what make this house a comfortable and welcoming home. Our room was immaculately clean and the bed was very comfortable with a wonderful large tub to soak in. Eric is a wealth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 101HappyGirl
Colorado
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We stayed at the Maidment House B&B in July for two nights. We enjoyed the carefully restored historic character of the house and the fact that everything in town is in easy walking distance. Karen was super nice and helpful and her breakfasts were excellent. Her husband Eric shared stories of his family and the history of Trinity, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank randnpeg

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity
0.1 km away
Eriksen Premises
Eriksen Premises
#7 of 11 in Trinity
85 reviews
0.3 km away
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
#5 of 11 in Trinity
29 reviews
36.4 km away
Russelltown Inn
Russelltown Inn
#4 of 9 in Bonavista
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#4 of 11 in Trinity
65 reviews
37.8 km away
Abbott's Cape Shore Bed and Breakfast
38.1 km away
Oceanside Cabins and Oceanview Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built by Enoch Heber Maidment, a local cobbler, circa 1892, Maidment House has been masterfully restored by a third generation local carpenter. Come enjoy our memorable breakfasts, inviting beds, and friendly hospitality. We use eco-friendly cleaning and make our own unscented soaps. Laundry service available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maidment House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4 Dandy Lane, Trinity, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 2S0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Trinity
Price Range: $154 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Maidment House Bed & Breakfast Trinity, Newfoundland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maidment House Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
St. John's, Canada
5 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Maidment House Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick the room with the claw tub , but even the single bed room is beautiful and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles NotSoHardToPleaseInO, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Garden room is quite spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles DaveAndCarolyn_9, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“all the rooms are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles 130marlenea, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed the room with the claw footed tub and Queen bed.”
 of 5 bubbles 101HappyGirl, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Can't go wrong with any of the three rooms. What great decor!”
 of 5 bubbles kbizzle2, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5