We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 326: English reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

This hot spring seems several hours off any beaten track...not really on the way to anywhere. But if your schedule allows for a detour or your looking for a little getaway, Ainsworth is worth seeking out. The dimly lit cave and hot steamy spring water are a unique experience not found anywhere else. Every time we've been here it's been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Canada321
Rod B, General Manager at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your visit and kinds comments. We are a bit off the beaten track, depending where you are travelling from. We are on a "side trip" along the Selkirk Loop and also part of an informal Hot Springs loop that many guests drive to experience a half dozen destinations. We are 45 minutes from the city of...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The Ainsworth Hot Springs include a large out door pool, which is the temperature of a comfortable bath. You can go up a flight of stairs and enter the hotter pool, which leads into and out of a cave feature. The water in the upper pool is quite warm and not recommended for longer than 15 mins, for good reason....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn R
RodAinsworth, General Manager at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

Hi. Thanks for your visit and feedback. Unfortunately the natural shape of the cave is too irregular to support a continuous handrail but the floor is level and well lit. You are correct that the cave is a very warm, steamy environment and we recommend guests not enter if they have any medical or physical limitations or concerns. The vast...

Richmond, Canada
Reviewed 20 August 2016

The hot spring cave was a bit smaller than I imagined, but it was very interesting and fun. The pools outside was very average and didn't have as much of a resort feel to it.The rooms are a bit dated but still very comfortable. The staff were very friendly - especially the ones at the restaurant. The food was delicious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Attended for the pool and caves but not the resort or restaurant. It was very relaxing and beautiful. I enjoyed the different pool temperatures and wading through the cave was very cool. I'd recommend a stop to relax.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey F
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

We went to the restaurant after a visit at the hot springs. Great value and lots of choice for their lunch menu. Great service too. Get tons of food for the money. The views were incredible too! I would highly recommend this restaurant after a visit to the hot springs!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ronniebach
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 13 August 2016

The location was nice, there was a beautiful view of the lake from the pool, however; the hot springs are open to the public, which we were unaware of and it was very busy from the time they open until the time they closed. The pools were only open from 8 am - 9:30 pm... We had higher expectations considering...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirsten M
RodAinsworth, General Manager at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear your visit did not meet your expectations. You are correct that Ainsworth is open to the public as are the majority of hot springs in BC (Harrison may be the only exception). We are definitely busy in the summer and we welcome everyone from young families to senior citizens, many of whom have been visiting Ainsworth...

Kamloops
Reviewed 13 August 2016

A trip out to Ainsworth for a soak in the hot pool and visit to the caves is simply a must.The cave experience reminds me of a Disneyland ride that you can just keep enjoying. Take the plunge in the glacier fed cold pool before entering caves and you will enjoy the sensation of the caves even better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KennyGKamloops
RodAinsworth, General Manager at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting! Hope to see you again.

Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Would be a lot more enjoyable in the winter time when it is cooler outside. The underground cave was very cool! The scenery is beautiful. Price was reasonable for just a day admission.. had a good time and would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
RodAinsworth, General Manager at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting and for your kind review. Hope you come back to visit in the winter with snow falling!

Québec
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Our room had no view at all. If you're in the back of the hotel, you basically have a basement type window and everything you see is a steep hill, about five feet from your window. The hot springs are more like a very cheap and poorly maintained water park for kids. I don't see the interest for adults to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tony1324
RodAinsworth, General Manager at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear your stay was not up to your expectations. We most definitely have a small number of back rooms with no view that we offer at a budget price point. Many guests choose these because they still get to enjoy the outstanding lake and mountain views from the pools and our top floor restaurant. For those who...

Sun Valley, Idaho, United States
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We decided to stay at the resort and save money on the admission fee since it was included. Staying at the resort also gives early access in the morning, as they open the pools to guests at 8am, and to the public at 10. Plus, if you stay there, you can stay in the pools until 9:30 pm, and that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate W

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ainsworth Hot Springs
12.8 km away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
38.7 km away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Nelson
621 reviews
19.7 km away
Kaslo Hotel
Kaslo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaslo
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.7 km away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 9 in Nelson
222 reviews
39.2 km away
Alpine Inn and Suites
0.2 km away
Ainsworth Motel
Ainsworth Motel
#1 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort is a four season destination featuring 41 newly renovated guest rooms, The Springs Restaurant, Krao Lounge, and a well-stocked Gift Shop. This property offers a unique cave experience where soothing, hot mineral water surfaces from the earth creating a natural steam bath. Stalactites form in abundance inside the caves. The hot water flows into our main pool and is cooled to a comfortable body temperature, suitable for your whole family. Spring, Fall, Summer and Winter bring guests from around the world to enjoy the pleasures of the crisp, clean air and the calming mineral waters of the Ainsworth Hot Springs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort

Address: 3609 Highway 31 | PO Box 1268, Ainsworth Hot Springs, Ainsworth Hot Springs, British Columbia VOG 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Ainsworth Hot Springs
Price Range: $156 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Ainsworth Hot Springs Hotel Ainsworth Hot Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms are small unless you really splurge and get the largest room”
 of 5 bubbles WAPlace, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“choose the pool level to avoid elevators and stairs”
 of 5 bubbles allitonyg, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you were going to be there during the day one with a view would be nice as it overlooks Kootenay Lake”
 of 5 bubbles 191LindaH, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles CharlieGOO, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you get get a room with a view of the lake”
 of 5 bubbles travelingpenguin3, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5