We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Guludo Beach Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quirimbas National Park
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Guludo Beach Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 96: English reviews
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2016

When visiting Guludo, you must expect a very helpful and genuine Staff. Congratulations to Marta and Tiago for the excellent efforts in management. The place has a concept that most likely will not apply to everyone: an eco-friendly lodge that uses the resources they have. yes it is a bit expensive, but it is in a remote and beautiful area.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank antonio a
Guludo, General Manager at Guludo Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, it really does mean the world to us. The team loved to have you here and hope to see you soon. More 

Vero Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2016

My husband & I stayed at Guludo Beach Lodge for 7 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It was like stepping back in time, to a romantic, innocent, unspoiled era in nature & history. It was the most wonderful, unique vacation we've ever had & I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for something different. Every member of... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank ntantiques
Guludo, General Manager at Guludo Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. The team absolutely LOVED having you here and miss you already. You were like family, and wished that you could stay longer. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2016

I stayed at Guludo in September 2015. It was the most amazing, wonderful place. Heartening to know that pristine, beautiful, peaceful places still exist in this world. Mart and Tiego, the managers, were so friendly and helpful. The local staff were amazing - so warm and friendly. I would recommend seeing this place at least once in your life. It... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Mignonne R
Guludo, General Manager at Guludo Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so, so much for your wonderful review, it really does mean the world to us. The team absolutely loved having you to stay and also wished you could come again this year. Hope to see you soon. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2016

We hired out the lodge exclusively for the week of our wedding ceremony. Owner, Amy, and on-site managers, Marta and Tiago, went out of their way to make sure we had the wedding we had been dreaming of. The beach was the perfect location for our relaxed ceremony (yes, as previous reviewers have noted, there is seaweed left on the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jossfleming
Guludo, Manager at Guludo Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank so much for your lovely review Joss. Your weeding was the event of the century for our staff, and they still speak about that. They never saw a bride dressing a white dress J. You loved having you here, and wished you could come visit us again someday soon. More 

Nampula, Mozambique
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2015

To run a beach lodge in remote area no doubt its a challenge, for motive to help local community instead of motive to get money no doubt its out of idea, mainly where the country's tourism industry is not friendly and awake like Kenya or South Africa, I salute to the Nema Team to dare and taking care of that... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank irfan q
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2015

We got trapped by the beautiful pictures on the webpage and were convinced to have the time of our life. Unfortunately the place is very run down. People that run it try to be nice, but have not the knowledge or understanding about what makes a place NICE. The beach was very dirty and full of pieces of broken glass... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Anietta18
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Do NOTbook this hotel if you want to enjoy your holiday! We were drawn into Guludo by the thought of having a quite and relaxing break in paradise as depicted on the website... and boy were we wrong! Neither the pictures nor the information available on the website represent the services/ environment the hotel offers at the moment - and... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank ADA x
Guludo, Owner at Guludo Beach Lodge, responded to this review

We were all devastated to read your review and so sorry you felt the need to post this. As soon as we realised that Guludo wasn't the place for you we really did our best to try and make sure you enjoyed your stay as much as possible. It really is a shame that you didn't go to Rolas and... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Very friendly staff and great food - and the positives end here. We were the only guests, there was zero care of the beach (debris, seaweed, junk) and there were only two activities available. It quickly became a very boring and overpriced prison. Wrote a letter to the management and I am still waiting for a reply (I bet they... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank diemmedi
Guludo, General Manager at Guludo Beach Lodge, responded to this review

We were all heartbroken to read your review and very saddened to see you felt the need to post here after all the effort the team went to to find new accommodation when we realised Guludo wasn't your cup of tea (despite your girlfriend, who booked, loving it). While you were with us you could have gone on any of... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2014

Having seen Guludo's website, we thought this was the place we wanted to say our vows but we visited in October just to make sure. It was perfect! If you're looking for a rustic and eco-friendly holiday destination with a beautiful beach, delicious seafood, and the most wonderful staff who are eager to help and always have big smiles (Omar,... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank jossfleming
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2014

Having travelled a lot in East Africa and visited many beaches on the coast of Kenya, Tanzania, Mauritius I know how hard it is to find one that is completely untouched. Guludo has benefitted from the 55km of dirt and sand road that prevents unwelcome development and will only tempt the most intrepid visitors on the road less travelled. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ilovekhaki
Guludo, Owner at Guludo Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so, so much for your wonderful review, it really does mean the world to us. The team absolutely LOVED having you to stay and also wished you could've stayed 7 weeks instead of 7 nights! x More 

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quirimbas National Park
0.0 km away
Ulala Lodge
Ulala Lodge
#1 of 2 in Murrebue
97 reviews
0.0 km away
nZuwa Lodge
nZuwa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Murrebue
40 reviews
0.0 km away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#4 of 8 in Vilanculos
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
0.0 km away
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Quirimbas Archipelago
146 reviews
0.0 km away
Ibo Island Lodge
Ibo Island Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ibo
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Guludo is a tropical, barefoot beach paradise; 12km of deserted powder-white sand nestled between the dazzling azure Indian Ocean and wild African Bush. Accommodation provides everything you need and nothing you don’t. With high roofs, gentle sea breezes, alfresco en-suite bathrooms with a stunning “loo with a view”; barefoot luxury never felt more indulgent. The essence of Guludo is relaxation and discovery. Time is spent drifting over magnificent coral reefs, watching humpback whales, visiting islands and mingling in the local village. Guludo is also responsible tourism at its finest, even while snoozing in your hammock you are helping to relieve poverty. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Guludo Beach Lodge

Address: Guludo | Cabo Delgado, Quirimbas National Park, Cabo Delgado Province, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Cabo Delgado Province > Quirimbas Archipelago > Quirimbas National Park
Price Range: $653 - $794 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Guludo Beach Hotel Quirimbas National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Guludo Beach Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in Suri - right at the end”
 of 5 bubbles ilovekhaki, 4 Dec 2014 | Read review
“We stayed in Assa and loved it!”
 of 5 bubbles GemmaRobs, 26 Nov 2014 | Read review
“They are all good. Bandas are facing the beach, 50 metres from the ocean (unless it is low tide)”
 of 5 bubbles AbilioV, 23 Oct 2013 | Read review
“They are all amazing...”
  • The beach goes on for ever - so idyllic!
 of 5 bubbles 952SusanB952, 22 Mar 2013 | Read review
“The banda nearest the staff quarters is particularly nice with great views.”
 of 5 bubbles krr22, 7 Oct 2012 | Read review
5 of 5