We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort

SA HotelsUSD 775*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 1,235*
USD 775*
Great Deal
USD 1,040*
USD 1,040*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 119: English reviews
Nanjing, China
Reviewed 14 February 2015

It is the best holiday of my life. Peaceful island, friendly staff of hotel, best service, and best food. Snorkeling, sailing. My lady doesn't know swimming, but one staff accompany us for snorkeling, she really loves it. For the hotel, Only 12 rooms, with few visitors, peaceful island. And the chief even made Chinese noodle for us, since we are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yang M
Cpezel, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Yang M, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and comment on your holidays with us. I have passed on your appraisals to the team and you made them very proud. We will welcome you back with great pleasure and will make sure to have a new challenge ready for your lady! Looking forward...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 10 February 2015

The perfect honeymoon destination We spend 7 nights here for our honeymoon following 10 days on safari. The island is simply breath-taking and the flight onto the island is just as stunning. There is quite an extreme tide. We spent over an hour walking through knee deep water to get to somewhere deeper and eventually gave up. We learnt there...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James M
Cpezel, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear James M, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and thank you for loving Medjumbe so much. We have passed on your appreciation to the staff although we do apologize for the few mishaps you have experienced. With much training and effort we hope to improve the quality of our service to a higher...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 13 January 2015

The location of this island is breathtaking. The beaches are good. The resort itself is terrible. Nothing more than a 3 star location. The lodges are very dated. Extremely small with ancient decor. The towels are horrendous. The food was nothing excitng with limited seafood options. Served pasta for lunch and dinner. They need a new chef. Tea time at...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank yolanderose
Cpezel, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear YolandeRose, Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback and we would like to express our apologies for the disappointment you experienced during your stay with us. As a valued guest, your comments have received the highest priority and we would like to share with you some of the action taken in response to your feedback. We...

Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewed 18 December 2014

We enjoyed a perfect weekend in November on the beautiful Medjumbe Island. Completely exclusive, warm cristal clear calm sea, white sand beaches, uncomplicated and very good accomodation. Easy and beautiful scuba diving with good visibility and lots of huge corals. Very good food, mostly seafood of course, beautiful sunsets and no mosquitos! The massage was wonderfully relaxing, a few days...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marietheres S
Cpezel, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Marietheres S, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and share your experience. Our top priority is to ensure our guests have the most memorable and enjoyable experience with us. Do not hesitate to contact us when planning your next holidays, we will be delighted to welcome you back! Warm regards Celine and the...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 December 2014

We have just returned from a ten day holiday on Medjumbe Island. The setting is stunning, the rooms (each with their own spa pool) were very comfortable and fully air conditioned. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous and Joanne in the Spa gave a very professional service. Sadly there were some negatives. As there were only a few of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ForeverYoung321
Cpezel, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear ForeverYoung321, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and share your experience. Your kind words have been passed to our associates and they feel very proud! We are delighted to read that you have had a great time with us. Unfortunately, we did have had some issues with wines due to deliveries being delayed,...

Reviewed 19 November 2014

What's not to love about a beach / island holiday - right? Well, Medjumbe Island surpasses other beach /island holidays I have experienced. A little dot in the middle of the ocean, I don't know if I can describe adequately how beautiful it is. The blues of the water and the soft white sand all sounds very clichéd but holds...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GotPassportWillTravl
Cpezel, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear "GotPassportWillTravl", Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are delighted to read you have had a great time on our tiny piece of Paradise, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back for another amazing stay. Warm regards,

Johannesburg
Reviewed 12 November 2014

Our first private island and will definitely look at doing it again. The staff (although working on skeleton staff due to voting) were all amazing and attentive. Our favourite was the barman Adamo who was keen to tell us stories and painstakingly made every cocktail on the menu for us! The food was great, most of the meats were grilled...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank GCSJohannesburg
Cpezel, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear GCSJohannesburg, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. Yes, the election week was a bit tricky at the resort, as most of our associates went back to their villages to vote, but the few ones who stayed on the island to take care of the guests did an amazing job! Thank you for putting...

Pescara
Reviewed 11 November 2014

Me and my wife had been stayed in Medjumbe for almost a week in August 2013. Well, it was our Honeymoon and we were expecting the top. What can I say? The level of Medjumbe was much much more over the top we would ever have imagined. The chalets are so incredible nice, with the private swimming pool, the possibility...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank geigei
Cpezel, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Geigei, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. Our top priority is to ensure that our guests have the most memorable and enjoyable stay with us. It is a great honour to read that after 1 year, you still keep talking about it! It makes us very proud! Please do come and visit us...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 8 October 2014

The management practices at Medjumbe are more reflective of a hotel half their price. Think long and hard before you commit to a holiday on Medjumbe as you could be buying off far more than you planned. Medjumbe is one of the 32 Quirimbas islands. The lodge is the island and the island the lodge. If you are looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
20Thank Alera
Cpezel, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tracy, Warm greetings from Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. The island is situated in a location with a four meter tidal range and with the beautiful white sand beaches this allows for fantastic walks around the island and out to reef heads for snorkeling....

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 24 December 2013

It takes a bit of getting to, but well worth it! My wife and I went here for our honeymoon for a week in 2011, and just loved it! The beach is stunning, with a long thin stretch of sand that stretches out at one end which is the perfect spot for watching the sunset. The rooms and food were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MJMaroundtheworld

335 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (222)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Other (106)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (113)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (46)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quirimbas Archipelago
1785.6 km away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#2 of 22 in Maputo
448 reviews
1787.0 km away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#1 of 22 in Maputo
535 reviews
1264.0 km away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
141.8 km away
Ulala Lodge
Ulala Lodge
#1 of 2 in Murrebue
104 reviews
1232.6 km away
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
438 reviews
1845.0 km away
White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa is a small and remote 5 star and multi award winning Island resort. It is a 50 min flight from the nearest town Pemba. The island is 1km long and 300m wide at the widest point. It has no mobile phone reception due to its remoteness. It has some of the best diving in the world with pristine corals and a wide selection of fish. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort

Address: Quirimbas Archipelago, Cabo Delgado Province 0000, Mozambique (Formerly Medjumbe Private Island)
Region: Mozambique > Cabo Delgado Province > Quirimbas Archipelago
Price Range: $1,028 - $1,684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, South African Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Jovago.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort Mozambique/Quirimbas Archipelago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Coventry, United Kingdom
sydney

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Villa 9 and 10 are close to the main building, and have great views. Villa 12 or 14 if you want a little more seclusion”
dalipt, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 14 was fantastic for privacy”
SR22TSC, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Room number 14 is PERFECT”
pingers_10, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“right side to the hotelis good”
, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All villas are excellently positioned for privacy and view.”
arthursrestpn, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
SA Hotels
USD 775* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUSD 1,040
Expedia.comUSD 1,040
HotelQuicklyUSD 1,235
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates