We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Blockade Runner Beach Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Expert photos
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,775 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Blockade Runner Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,769: English reviews
Morrow
Reviewed 26 June 2016

The ability to be able to obtain quality food and access to the beach at one location is a definite plus we will definitely be back The exceptionally friendly staff is a plus The room is always clean and comfortable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank randyr664
Collin H, Assistant Front Office Manager at Blockade Runner Beach Resort, responded to this review

We are so glad that we could provide with with convenience as well as great service. We hope to see you again soon.

Mount Holly
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Went for our 20 year anniversary- will definitely be back! Love all the amenities and the staff was very courteous and on que with all our needs and concerns- beautiful scenery as well as quaint, area restaurants have great seafood with reasonable prices-

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 973claytonn
Ashley P, Assistant Front Office Manager at Blockade Runner Beach Resort, responded to this review

We are so glad that you chose to spend your 20th Anniversary with us! We look forward to seeing you for many more!

Yadkinville
Reviewed 25 June 2016

We absolutely loved our stay at the Blockade Runner! It was a very family oriented place or could be a nice place for just couples! Everything about it was awesome! I can't wait to go back next year!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonyam989
Collin H, Assistant Front Office Manager at Blockade Runner Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for coming to stay with us! We are glad we could make your stay a great experience.

Clayton
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Reservation desk promptly adjusted my room from king to 2 queens upon my request. However, AAA rate may not have been applied. Charged 452 for two nites. Advertised rate was 414. No refund has been provided.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertaI3118NK
Lebanon, Virginia
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

I only have one word for this resort...fabulous! The hotel is beautifully decorated, inside and out...and very clean! We never met a rude staff member...everyone was so nice and helpful. And the breakfast was delicious! My family and I went there for a vacation and we will definitely return! Thank you Blockade Runner Beach Resort for a wonderful time!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carla B
Ashley P, Assistant Front Office Manager at Blockade Runner Beach Resort, responded to this review

We are so happy that you had such a fabulous vacation. We are excited to see you again on your next family getaway!

Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 24 June 2016

My daughter and I had a very pleasant stay. Beautiful room that they let us check in early. Would have been nice to have a room higher up on the harbor side but we were in a hurry to hit the beach and we would have had to wait to check in. Grounds are beautifully landscaped. Drinks at the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VickieLA
Campobello, South Carolina
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Great hotel. Great staff doing their best to accommodate everyone! Their breakfast buffet was really great which was included in the hotel rate. Outside staff was really nice offering towels or drinks! Awesome beach chair staff took care of everything!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank william_ankney
Morganton, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Love this place because every room has an oceanfront balcony! There are chairs and a small table on the balcony and, unlike many other motels, enough room to sit outside and move around. The outside of the motel has a sixties vibe, which we thought was cool. There was nothing out-of-date in our room. We got an efficiency (only because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 123gloria
Durham
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Excellent staff and service all the way around! Amenities galore! We opted for a room on the street side of the hotel and were overwhelmed by the amazing view of the sunset and water!! I twas enjoyable to watch the boats, kayaks, paddle boarders and more!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coastalfun2016
Ashley P, Assistant Front Office Manager at Blockade Runner Beach Resort, responded to this review

We are so happy that we were able to exceed your expectations with our amenities and views.

Matthews
Reviewed 22 June 2016

A great hotel that has been updated. We took a room with a balcony facing the ocean and it was worth the money. The hotel has been cosmetically updated and the room we were in was redone with a rain shower head. The hotel has been updated and has Wi-Fi but the Wi-Fi coverage is spotty in the room we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank williamjW2704TD

532 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (291)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (45)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (103)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (192)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Beach (2)
Viewed
Club Level, King Oceanfront Room (27)
Viewed
Harbour View Queen Room (22)
Viewed
King Oceanfront Room with Balcony (29)
Viewed
King Room (22)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
State Room, Oceanfront King Suite (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
1.2 km away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
116 reviews
2.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
22.2 km away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 km away
Courtyard Carolina Beach Oceanfront
5.0 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
4.8 km away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
East Oceanfront Dining
East Oceanfront Dining
Cuisines: Asian, American, Seafood
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Blockade Runner is uniquely located on Wrightsville Beach Island, North Carolina’s accessible outer-bank. On the east side, the resort fronts the Atlantic Ocean with a wide sandy beach while the west side fronts an Intracoastal Waterway harbor and anchorage. The resort offers the most complete water related activities possible. Our famous Blockade Runner full service breakfast is included for all guest including groups (not applicable to cottage groups). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blockade Runner Beach Resort

Address: 275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-2021
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: $160 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blockade Runner Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blockade Runner Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blockade Runner Wrightsville Beach
Blockade Runner Hotel Wrightsville Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blockade Runner Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Blockade Runner Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“New Building Ocean View - beautiful!”
  • trip hazard in ALL of the rooms!
  • ocean view rooms WITH balconies
  • butterfly garden flowers
 of 5 bubbles conniec63, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Oceanview gives you sunrise views and harborview is sunset views.”
 of 5 bubbles nancyrF6646GA, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles tourismwallawalla, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles gmujake, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles DiAnna_7545, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay