We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West

HIExpress.comUSD 122*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 122*
USD 122*
USD 122*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West
See the most recent reviews
Showing 202: English reviews
Orange Park, Florida
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Wonderful facility and staff. Very courteous professional and friendly. Room was comfortable and clean. Stayed 4 nights enjoyed it. Breakfast was a good value buffet or cooked to order. One note the bathroom door in the room closes automatically😠kind of annoying but I understand why.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Van P
Bradenton, Florida
Reviewed 26 November 2016

This HIE has an above average breakfast and breakfast area as compared to other similar hotels. We have always found it well maintained and with lots of choices. The hotel location, the friendly staff, and the above average breakfast are its positive points and the reason for the very good rating. Our room was clean and comfortable, but some renovations...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian0ntheGo
Reviewed 12 November 2016

As a platinum Holiday Inn member and an IHG member-owner, this visit will not stop me from using the Holiday Inn brand. With that said, the bathroom was not clean when we checked into our room so not so pleasant partaking in what the previous guest left behind. Some updating has occurred but not enough as the elevator was so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamara T
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West, responded to this review

Dear Tamara T, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are happy to know that you liked our breakfast selection and we certainly appreciate your nice feedback on our staff. On the other hand, we would like to apologize for not living up to your expectations regarding our elevator and the...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 5 November 2016

I log in more than 150 nights a year on the road. This is a special place... Rooms are the same as all other Holiday Inn Express franchise across the country; but It is the people that have the touch making this place a truly home away from home. Front Desk Manager Crystel patiently listens to each and every guest's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SustainableOne
Hingham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

About a 5 minute drive to the back entrance to WFU. Also, located across the street and next door to a whole foods and Publix. Positives were clean rooms with comfy beds and pillows, strong shower water pressure, nice clean outdoor pool, good selection at free breakfast and accessible toilet paper placement:) Improvement areas are drabbish lobby and hallway, which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HinghamPonch
James W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review and all the positive comments about the convenience of our hotel and all of our amenities. We will definitely use your comments as we look to improve our property.

Savannah, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here over the weekend. The building older and would benefit from painting and minor repairs. Our toilet didn't flush well. The housekeeping team did not replace the coffee in our room. When we told the front desk that evening, we were told they were short staffed and couldn't leave the reception area. There is too much competition for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judy W
James W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West, responded to this review

First off thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and let me know how your stay was. I am very disappointed you didn't receive the level of service I expect from our team and will make sure those issues are addressed for any future guest. I hope you can give us another chance if you are in...

O'Fallon, Missouri
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel when visiting Wake Forest University. Pros: sweet and super helpful employees, carts to haul luggage, good breakfast and location. Cons: needs some serious renovations, not "newer" like a lot of the HIE I have stayed at. I would probably look elsewhere when visiting Winston-Salem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KellyHuffman
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West, responded to this review

Dear KellyHuffman, Thank you very much for staying with us and providing us your valuable feedback. We are happy to know that you found our staff to be helpful and breakfast and location to be good. However, we sincerely apologize that you found our hotel needing some renovation. We have taken note of your comments and have shared them with...

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We stopped here at 3a in the morning as a stopping point for our drive to Carolina Beach. The staff helped us out on the rate since we were only staying for a few hours before getting back on the road. All of the staff was very friendly, and the breakfast was above our expectations. Our children were most impressed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gobi1louisville
Bulverde, Texas
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Terrific hotel - they made me feel at home. I spent a month there in Jan,2016 and three more weeks in June,2016. Both trips related to wife's cancer surgery at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center (only 2 blocks away), so I was under a lot of stress. (She's fine now.) The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is tasty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 60TxGW60
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

I was greeted with a friendly smile. The staff was very professional. The entire hotel appeared very clean. I was impressed with how comfortable the beds were. The continental breakfast had a wide variety and tasted delicious!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa W

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
2.6 km away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 37 in Winston Salem
574 reviews
2.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
10.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
2.8 km away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#1 of 37 in Winston Salem
177 reviews
9.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
New downtown Winston - Salem hotel boasts excellent facilities Enjoy comfort at our new Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West near Wake Forest University. Our Winston - Salem accommodations will make you feel at home when you travel.Families looking for lodging in downtown Winston - Salem will enjoy staying at our hotel, located just off Business I-40. We offer close proximity to numerous Winston-Salem attractions, so you will always have something fun to do. Nearby sights and activities include shopping at the Hanes Mall, exploring historic Old Salem, SciWorks, the Reynolda House Museum of American Art and Bethabara Park. Business travelers will be impressed by the comfort of our Winston - Salem hotel. Situated downtown near the Benton Convention Center, we are convenient to large companies, including the BB&T headquarters, Krispy Kreme headquarters, Sara Lee, GMAC, Lawrence Joel Coliseum and both Wake Forest University Baptist and Forsyth Medical Centers. Salem Academy, Winston Salem State University and North Carolina School of the Arts are nearby. We offer a 24-hour business center with fax, print and copy services and free high-speed, wireless Internet access.While lodging in our downtown Winston - Salem hotel, enjoy amenities like the outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center and complimentary Express Start hot breakfast. Book your reservation now to take advantage of our great Winston - Salem hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West

Address: 110 Miller Street, Winston Salem, NC 27103
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Price Range: $150 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West Hotel Winston Salem
Holiday Inn Winston Salem
Winston Salem Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Murrells Inlet, SC
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors are slightly quieter but the hotel in general is pretty quiet.”
D4362XJtomr, 26 May 2016 | Read review
“I don't think there are any good views.”
JudyHoyer, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“away from the lifts”
Shakaka, 3 May 2016 | Read review
“It has to be the friendliest hotel in WS. Excellent customer Service!”
lariatgirl, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the north side overlook the nearby interstate”
KayS470, 21 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
HIExpress.com
USD 122* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 122
Orbitz.comUSD 122
TripAdvisorUSD 122
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates