We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunset Farm Cabins

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 26: English reviews
Start your review of Sunset Farm Cabins
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I have been coming to this establishment for a few years now. It is a hidden gem. This is a great place for all types of travelers. Couples, families, and bikers can enjoy easy access to the main roads, and level parking. Some of the other cabin rentals in the area seem to require 4 wheel drive for access. The...

Thank Joel K
Winterville, North Carolina
Reviewed 30 July 2016

My husband and I chose the Opposum cabin after looking at a ton of rentals, inns and hotels. I met our needs for staying in the Fontana Lake, Bryson City, Great Smoky Mtn Natl Park area. The cabin was simple, clean and comfortable. The futon was a comfortable couch each night to relax and the queen bed was comfortable. To...

Thank FamilyRI
Hickory, North Carolina
Reviewed 15 July 2016

First and foremost, the property manager was very accommodating and pleasant during our booking and our request to change cabins. This review is intended as feedback to the property owner as well as non-biased representation to those considering a future stay. For the Potential Patron: I feel the photos on Sunset Farm Cabins do not fully embody the property in...

Thank johnnymoz2016
MichelleSFC, Manager at Sunset Farm Cabins, responded to this review

We see you stayed in the Bear cabin on a Friday night. I remember booking the stay last minute and we only had 2 bedroom cabins left. The Bear is a well appointed two bedroom cabin - the views from the front porch of are the wooded hillside and camp fire area we have on our 5.5 acre property. On...

Bellaire Ohio
Reviewed 20 June 2016

If you are looking for a lush modern cabin this is not the place for you BUT if you like rustic cabin or camping this is great. Usually we pull our campers and spend a week friend/family camping but this year decided not to pull thru the mountains, Husband and I stayed in opossum. The cabin was just the right...

Thank cjpbellaireohio
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

Such a great find tucked away in the smokey mountains of the carolinas. The grounds were very well kept. Plenty of cut fire wood for your use to build a fire. There are two hot tubs shared amongst the cabins and one was always available. The bed was very comfortable!!!! It's quiet and nice to get away! Only 10 minutes...

Thank Greatdanemom90
Reviewed 29 April 2015 via mobile

My wife and I spent several weeks researching cabins in the Bryson City/Whittier area, when we came upon Sunset Farms Cabins. We chose the Fox cabin. My wife handled the booking. While there were issues with this, it wasn't the fault of the owners. Having graduated school in this area and having family in this area, Internet is spotty at...

Thank Robert L
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 26 February 2015

We stayed in the Bear Cabin for spring break with our 9 and 15 year old. There was no sound but the silence of the middle of nowhere...which we loved! The cabin is spacious, and very clean. The deck is the perfect place for meals or just to relax. Perfect in the morning or evening! It is a very quiet...

2Thank Court k
Reviewed 23 February 2015

The cabin was small, homey, and clean. The view was beautiful. I didn't like the tip envelope for the housekeeper left on the table because the housekeeper was the owner. $130 per night is pushing it- I wouldn't pay a penny more! But overall good experience.

2Thank GAfureys
Michelle K, Manager at Sunset Farm Cabins, responded to this review

We appreciate your review. We just wanted to let you know that the housekeeper is not the Owner. The business is actually run by an LLC and maintains 4 employees that are compensated hourly. 2 of these employees live on-site, Michelle and Steven. We also wanted to let other know the accommodations you received for $130/ weekend night: This was...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have been traveling many years both with my pet & with spouse or alone. This was probably THE worst experience of my life. I arrived after driving 8 hours & was ready for a quiet retreat. I had to leave at first light the next morning. The place was at the edge of a hill overlooking the highway &...

2Thank OliviaJoyS
Michelle K, Manager at Sunset Farm Cabins, responded to this review

We can't begin to respond to this as it is completely inaccurate. This customer actually never spent the night and was asked to leave shortly after she arrived due to inappropriate behavior that was bothering other guests. She was never charged for any part of her stay by our establishment. We managed to re-rent the cabin and had no complaints...

Cary, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We usually stay in hotels when traveling. I used to camp some but most of the family doesn't enjoy that so much so this time we decided to try a cabin. On relatively short notice, I was able to get the Raccoon cabin for the weekend. I thought there would be only 3-4 of us but less than a week...

1Thank nittanydave

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (20)
Room/Suite (9)
View from Room (1)
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (24)
Room/Suite (9)
Hotel & Grounds (12)
View from Room (2)
Bathroom (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittier
6.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
7.3 km away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
7.5 km away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#2 of 28 in Cherokee
640 reviews
7.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
10.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Six rental cabins snuggled in the hills of Western, NC. We have two one-bedroom cabins and four two-bedroom cabins with both King and Queen size accommodations. We have two hot tubs on property, a fire pit (firewood provided), and a common green with lawn games and ample seating. Each cabin has a covered picnic table and charcoal grill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Farm Cabins

Address: 68 Vacation Dr, Whittier, NC 28789-6892
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Whittier
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Farm Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sunset Farm Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Farm Cabins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I like the Raccoon Cabin....”
joelk394, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“first cabin on right as you enter the property if you want a little privacy”
johnnymoz2016, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Just talk to the staff, they are very helpful and informative!”
courtk2015, 25 Feb 2015 | Read review
“The Fox cabin has been renovated and has the newest interior.”
jamaicaparrothead, 6 Nov 2012 | Read review
“We stayed in Fox Cabin, it was lovely, I'd heavily reccomend it. :)”
Meitnerium85, 30 Aug 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates