We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wingate by Wyndham Southport

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

882 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 881: English reviews
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Rooms were clean and staff friendly. However, I would be unlikely to recommend/stay again. Check out was 11am. I asked for a late checkout so I could shower after a marathon I expected to finish at the same time. The best they would do is 12pm. At 1 pm they would give me an extra charge. Given I could not...

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennifernS356VQ
Bath, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We usually Stay at the Holiday Inn Express but we waited until last minute and it was booked. I was satisfied with our stay here. Everything was clean and in order. The lady at check in was very nice as well as the other staff I encountered. The hotel is conveniently located. Only real issue was the wifi was hard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josh L
Selbyville
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I would never return here. Southport is a beautiful city but stay somewhere else. The breakfast is minimal, the sheets are like sleeping on sandpaper. I requested new sheets, left at 9:00 am returned at 4:00pm, room still not cleaned and sheets not changed. Bathroom floor is also very dirty. The Hampton, which is close by, is much nicer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizw66
Chardon
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The rooms are a good size for the two of us.We have a enough room to spread out a little and not be tripping over furniture or each other. There is chair with ottoman, a desk and chair, good TV, additional side chair, plus night stands and king size bed. The shower is clean with good water pressure, fluffy towels....

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carol9580
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Dear carol9580, Thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with our services and amenities. It's rewarding to learn that we exceeded your expectations with the accommodations, hospitality and cleanliness of our guest rooms. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast as well; and we are looking forward to your next visit to the area!

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My friends and I requested adjoining rooms because of medical issues. We were assured we would get them. Upon check-in, we were told there were no adjoining rooms available. Our group had a block of rooms, and staff said others had asked for adjoining rooms. We were the first reservation in the block. There were no offers to resolve the...

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlottesB5398SA
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Dear charlottesB5398SA, Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience! I am sorry to hear that you did not have a completely comfortable stay at our hotel we are now informed the management about your concerns regarding with your request which didn't grant your comfort. Your comments and suggestions will help us to recognize...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My Fiancé and I visited Southport for the first time and stayed here at Wingate by Wyndham. Our room was very nice, very clean and was a great place to stay!!! Free breakfast was good, workout room was a great amenity. We were .5 or so miles from downtown southport and had a Walmart, a gas station a Walgreens super...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your compliments to our free breakfast options and service. Hearing about how our efforts to give you a pleasant and accommodating experience have been successful is very rewarding for every member of our staff and management team. We are overjoyed to hear that you had a great time with us and we are looking forward...

Hillsborough, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joepU6159TC
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Rock Hill, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was great. Very friendly personnel, hotel was clean and neat. Only issue is when buying something from the sundry store their process for ringing it up involves them filling out a form etc. (time consuming) and there is no soda machines so if you dont want to run out to a store you have to buy it from their store.

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I3617SZbills
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Dear I3617SZbills, Thank you for your kind comments and review regarding our high standards of cleanliness and hospitality. I do apologize for the inconvenience that you encountered, though I'm very glad that this did not detract too much from your overall experience. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have given a poor rating for this hotel because the purpose of any hotel is to provide the guest with a place to sleep overnight. The first night I was unable to shut off the air conditioning unit. With everything turned off, the fan continued to run all night. I complained next morning and apparently a technician was engaged...

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank grahamwF9444CL
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Dear grahamwF9444CL, I am terribly sorry to learn that you experienced so much difficulty during your stay. It is through feedback like yours that we are able to quickly address housekeeping and maintenance issues. The fact that we've failed in this regard is very disheartening. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for choosing our hotel and hope...

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
465 reviews
2.8 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
222 reviews
9.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 km away
Courtyard Carolina Beach Oceanfront
15.2 km away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
397 reviews
16.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located 45 minutes from Fort Fisher Aquarium in Kure Beach NC ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Southport

Address: 1511 N Howe St, Southport, NC 28461-2608
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Price Range: $107 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Southport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Southport Hotel Southport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wingate by Wyndham Southport staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Wingate by Wyndham Southport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Run run very fast Hampton inn is up the road”
 of 5 bubbles robertbI5457UL, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try staying at another hotal”
 of 5 bubbles 562rp2, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Did not see any preferences”
 of 5 bubbles bljh2014, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Hard to see where to turn in - use the shopping center entrance.”
 of 5 bubbles 633coleenw, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We were in room 314 which was on the corner by the elevator. Some noise early AM”
 of 5 bubbles WendyK429, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5