We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

York Motel

10 William St, York, Western Australia 6302 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (78)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 3 motels in York
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make York Motel their motel of choice when visiting York. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a charming setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

As your “home away from home,” the motel rooms offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to shops, 24 hour security, and express check-in and check-out while staying at York Motel. In addition, York Motel offers breakfast, which will help make your York trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

While staying at York Motel, visitors can check out Sandle Wood Yards (0.6 mi) and Mount Brown Lookout (1.3 mi), some of York's top attractions.

Travellers looking to enjoy some falafel can head to Jules shoppe. Otherwise, you may want to check out a seafood restaurant such as Mad Mo's.

York is also home to York Town Hall, a popular government building that is not too far from York Motel.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at York Motel as you experience all of the things York has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Express check-in / check-out
Complimentary tea
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
152Reviews2Q+A28Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 93
  • 42
  • 8
  • 6
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
buggs655 wrote a review Nov 2023
Brisbane, Australia97 contributions59 helpful votes
Firstly the poor points1. 1. Single lane unsealed Road and angle parking 2. To exit out you need a 3-point turn to exit. 3. Reception service sometimes very frank & reinforced it you use the single bed an $30 charge is applied. 4. The unit has Truck & road as it fronts William St in York. 5. No fresh air flow through the unit, especially out of toilet/bathroom. Plus the only window if opened faces hot west sun allows more road noise even with the metal roll up/down shutter. 6. Bathroom/toilet area a single switch for both light & noisy ceiling fan. 7. Wifi very slow indeed. 8. No kitchenette type sink 9. No information booklet so you must ask reception for Wifi details Good points. A. Room and facilities very clean B. Furnishings bright & homely D. Queen bed very comfortable. E. Close to town F. This motel might be the “first” ever to offer loan of an umbrella
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Danielle C wrote a review Oct 2023
Perth, WA2 contributions1 helpful vote
I was asked to pay upfront well ahead of our booking for a 'family' unit as there was apparently high demand. Over $700 for x3 nights. I was called ahead of check in to find out 'where I was' - I was still at work and had planned to check in just after 5pm. Upon check in, I was asked to handwrite my details including my checkout time - which I was very directly informed was to be 9.50am - 'not 10am' as it didn't allow enough time to 'get me out of there'. The unit had a terrible highly synthetic perfume smell that made my partner and I feel ill. It was clean but not overly spacious. We booked for 2 adults and 1 possibly, 2 children. We arrived without children. After our busy work day on Saturday, my partner decided to return home to our children. I stayed on solo. I invited my sister and nephew to join me for the last night as my partner/child were not returning. We spent most of the day out and returned after dinner, to settle in. As I had booked a family room and it was late, I chose not to inform the manager in the change in the number of guests. As if on cue and out of the darkness the manager appeared from nowhere and proceeded to aggressively question my sister. She shouted at the children, who were sitting on the bunk, to tell them to get off it and not bounce on it (they were not!). We were a little shaken but had a quiet evening and all went to bed early. The next morning on check-out (just after 9am) we were met by the same angry female manager who proceeded to tell me that she was 'furious' that I had not informed her that my family had stayed and that there is an additional $50 per person charge to 'use the facilities'. She swore, I asked her to mind her language in front of the children. I explained that there were less guests on the other nights and this should negate the need for more funds to be paid. I was calm and respectful and apologised for not 'signing my family in.' She continued on and on and was aggressive and rude. For a period of 'high demand' we did not see another guest! I wouldn't book this place again if it was the last bed in York! Steer clear people, such an awful experience! Dreadful value for money and disrespectful treatment!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Good location. Take a 'thick skin' to deal with a cranky manager.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Wolin wrote a review Sept 2022
Sydney295 contributions183 helpful votes
Terrible service. Be aware that any change or cancellation results in all payments being forfeited. We cancelled 3 day before booked date. They kept all the money paid. A terrible introduction to York. My request to cancel was met with "no you can't ". When I said I had rung 3 days ago, she said "no you didn't ". A horrible experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry Elliott, Owner at York Motel
Responded 6 Sept 2022
hi colin you Shure like leaving reviews everywhere-again you spoke to the answer machine not staff-the message was received Tuesday day of your arrival. the message was recorded at 9/30 pm office is not manned that time night. you just turned up at my office day before your arrival was due, im sorry but we could not accommodate you as we were full monday. i offered to help you find another accommodation and ill see you tomorrow. That wasnt a problem you didnt turn up of let us know , we held your unit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
bluewren3535 wrote a review Sept 2022
Perth, Australia11 contributions
We booked one night. thought lots instructions on book in after a long day, was an easy and pleasant book in... the rooms were possibly the best we have had in a while felt fresh and spotlessly clean ,outside gardens were a pleasure to take in an early morning walk with cuppa with the cold.... all in all just wished we were able to get the second night .. WE enjoyed the room and surrounds and a great evening meal at the Hotel...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ruth r wrote a review July 2022
Nunamara, Australia4 contributions
We booked and paid for three guests but Kerry couldnt count pass two, cutlery and crockery for two, two mentos and one packet of biscuits containing two!! We thought we were in a Joyce Grenfell film because the water was only hot for restricted times!! There were more don'ts than do's, parking restrictions, luggage restrictions! Extra towel was provided, but we had to specify the sex of the user. In summation we didnt feel very welcome and would be surprised if they have return customers!! Place was clean and comfortable but the proprietor needs to learn some people skills.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry Elliott, Owner at York Motel
Responded 2 Aug 2022
thank you for your review sisters from unit 5-yes our units are set up for two people my apologies slipped my mind ,however i was here all you had to do was ask. Your comment was very rude to say the least -there was no need for that, parking sighs every were slight angle parking in front of your unit. Luggage restrictions ??? luggage rack in unit i have no idea were you sisters are coming from here .towels seen there were 3 woman i was trying to give you different so that you knew your towel, not welcome really come on i was very polite and helpful to you, hot water off at 11 pm on at 6 am how did that effect you?? JUST BECAUSE YOU WERE DISGRUNTLED WHEN YOU ARRIVED -DOESNT MEEN YOU CAN TAKE IT OUT ON OTHERS my other reviews say it all never ever would i ever be rude to a customer thank you Kerry
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MDD wrote a review June 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Rooms are clean, neat and tidy. Beds were comfortable. No breakfast even though it said free breakfast. Owner said due to covid they stopped breakfast. We were told to take our shoes off when we enter the room. We were told no putting suitcases on the beds. Owner also said our 6 six year old daughter should be quiet and that children weren’t normally meant to stay. All of this when I booked on their site. So mixed feelings as nice rooms but made to feel on edge from check in.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry Elliott, Owner at York Motel
Responded 9 June 2021
Good morning martin Dyson, (mixed feeling's) ME TO !!!!1 1/Yes we did stop the complementary breakfast when covic hit us all, due to a big loss of stock we decided to stop the continental breakfast completely, as this was explained to you. This was taken of our web site as you stated you booked directly with us, NO you booked through a 3 party. 2/yes i did ask for shoes to be not worn on our newly layed carpet, due to the chance of wet weather, as all our units have new carpet , this is a respect thing for our motel ,and cleaning costs. 3/ suit cases on our beds? well don't you think that's a respect thing, common sense prevails ,as they catch our new sashes and our linen we provide luggage storage ,plenty of to cater x2 cases plus more. 4/You (DID NOT )book directly -you booked via 3rd party as i explained to you-we have a family unit available for family's with children, so they can enjoy@ relax, not worry about disturbing other guests, as it was we got a complaint from the unit next door as she was a night shift worker trying to sleep, i myself thought your child was well behaved i didn't have a problem at all. 5/i also would like to add we at the motel are pretty flexible with our guests-especially when they ring you at 6/30 Sunday morning (woke us up) for battery's ,I'm sure that could have waited till a descent time , we found that very inconsiderate, however i took them down to you ,that's customer service with a smile. thank you Kerry
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
womblewa wrote a review Dec 2020
Mandurah, Australia1370 contributions379 helpful votes
Our neighbours took the Accessibility unit and our adult son the one next door to theirs, and these appear to be a bit newer than the one we had, unit #1, in the larger and likely older block across the drive. I write this review from our perspective in unit 1 only. On the phone and in person on check in, Kerry was pleasant as was her husband who we saw around and about over Sat/Sunday. Nice gardens and a great touch is the firewood, kindling and newspaper all ready for use near the fire pit. Swings for the kids, BBQ and large outdoor table. Some love and enthusiasm has gone into the outdoor space here. Inside unit #1. Well, painting the brick internal walls white would make the inside much lighter. Taking out the wooden blind that sort of works, ditto. Taking out that wooden shelf above the bed, ditto. Instant, minimal cost, facelift. Needs a trendy shower curtain. Before I wrote this review I looked at photos of this motel, many by Kerry from 2016. 2020 = much the same. Towels, bedspread black blanket covering tub chair the same. Same lamps. Same decor, same tablecloth over the table. Needs updating. An easy fix. The bed, very comfortable, but the cushions on the bed made an odd noise. We had a look inside one, the cushion inners were enclosed in a plastic black Glad Kitchen Tidy bag. One only bedside table, bolted to the wall. A lamp, unplugged and no point for it unless you unplugged the room lamp - one or the other. Missing: A desertspoon in the cutlery provided for two people. I left a note for whoever serviced our unit, but it wasn't serviced, so no desertspoon left. One face washer, only one supplied. One bathrobe, only one supplied. We were not offered breakfast, so no problem with that, we had no expectation of same. The bathroom was clean, but the rest was very dusty and when we pulled the tub chair out to sit in it we found paper rubbish and plastic pieces left by visitor(s) past. Hole in the carpet near wardrobe. You can tell that there has been some love put into this place in the past and the owners are nice. Kerry commented on checkin that she couldn't think straight because her adult son was ill. With a bit of time, minimal money invested, and good news for their son, this place will get back on track.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry Elliott, Owner at York Motel
Responded 18 Jan 2021
Be ware covet 19 in place we take This Seriously 2 nights no service, as was told on phone and on time of checking in.power points there are x2 doubles on each side of side bed desk, dusty unit I don’t think so !! Our units are spotless,rubbish on chair well I can also disregard that comment.yes we are aware the carpet is worn at the walk way in unit,we are awaiting new carpet to be laid,.I am disappointed in your review as our units are well presented,because you we’re not happy in you life please don’t take it out on others,you were stand of ish on arrival, thats your problem not ours.I’m not going to bother with the rest of your petty concerns,as you are being very picky.our reviews say it all,as for your statement on check in- how dare you talk out of school,because you have a disabled partner ,that’s how the conversation started,I do my job well and that’s a lot of ........... you seen us around all the time not once did you say a thing,I even asked if you required anything,mmmmm have a nice day .
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Marc R wrote a review Dec 2019
Perth, Australia84 contributions27 helpful votes
A quick google of places to stay in York WA and this place come up. I made the call to book in and instantly had a great start with a very helpful and friendly lady on the phone. We booked in for a nights stay Saturday 1st Dec. Once we arrived we were greeted and shown our room, it was really nice , clean, comfy and quiet, Air con was really nice on such a hot day too. Over all a very pleasant experience, great owners and great stay. Highly recommend York Motel to anyone stopping though. We will be back again soon! Thanks Marc & Lisa!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
joday013 wrote a review Sept 2019
Western Australia, Australia164 contributions79 helpful votes
Kerry greeted us with a warm country welcome. The hotel has all you need for a couple of days stay. The rooms are basic but not lacking anything. The room comes with breakfast which was a great start to the day. The hotel is a short walk into town which has plenty of choice for tucker. If you are a light sleeper you might struggle as it is close to the road and railway. But a few beers under the belt and you will have no worries.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kate M wrote a review Aug 2019
17 contributions4 helpful votes
We've just spent two days at this lovely, country motel. We received a very warm welcome from Kerry, the owner, who showed us to our very clean and comfortable room. We, also, appreciated the light breakfast which was included in the tariff. Even though the motel is situated next to the road from Perth, we found it very quiet and enjoyed its garden outlook. Thank you Kerry for a lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the York area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$140 - AU$168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaWestern AustraliaAvon ValleyYork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

YORK MOTEL (AU$140): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Motel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about York Motel
Which popular attractions are close to York Motel?
Nearby attractions include Mount Brown Lookout (2.2 km), York Motor Museum (0.6 km), and Patchwork on Avon (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at York Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at York Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at York Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at York Motel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to York Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jules shoppe, Nguyen Bakery Cafe, and Imperial Homestead.
Is York Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of York.
Are there any historical sites close to York Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting York Courthouse Complex (0.7 km) and The Old York Mill (0.1 km).
Is York Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.