We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The York Palace Hotel and Terraces

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The York Palace Hotel and Terraces
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 50: English reviews
Start your review of The York Palace Hotel and Terraces
 Click to rate
Franklin
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a really enjoyable stay in one of the Terrace balcony rooms. Old world charm but with up to date facilities. Topped off with a great meal downstairs in the restaurant befor a nightcap on the balcony. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane J
Nong Khai, Thailand
Reviewed 1 December 2016

We had a memorable stay in heritage York Palace Hotel, the hotel owner was away when we arrived but a farmer friend was waiting to hand us the keys to the terraced room. Access via car is at the back of the hotel, with parking in front of the room. We drove to Wave Rock the next morning and this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grahamdixon2003
Reviewed 12 November 2016

we stayed 4 nights in york and had wonderful time exploring the history of this lovely town. had a great meal at the restaurant. The food was of excellent quality. Squid amazing, so tender . the duck delicious and fish very tasty. Good choice of wine also. We met the owner Nola . She takes pride in her hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank helen k
Nola B, Manager at The York Palace Hotel and Terraces, responded to this review

thank you Helen for giving potential visitors the benefit of your experience. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to York. It is a charming town, and you obviously spent the time to enjoy all that it has to offer. We do hope to see you here again, and it is great to hear that you liked our style...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Arriving in York to spend one night we went to the information centre to find out what Motel style of accommodation there was available. We were given a number of options but were told that The Palace was one of the better ones. We called in there and saw the lady who I presume was the owner. We asked if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tricky111
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Went up for a wedding . Was met in the car park and directed by Max to check in. We stayed in the newer rooms which were great. Next time heritage rooms. The restaurant was amazing . Food wonderful and friendly staff . Highly recommend. York is a beautiful little town.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 8lisa
Nola B, Owner at The York Palace Hotel and Terraces, responded to this review

How lovely that as well as visiting York for a great celebration, you also had the time to spend time in the Alice at the Palace restaurant. Max is an institution here with us, and he is a lovely addition to the staff, if a little lazy. Come back and spend more time enjoying the surroundings.

North Ryde, Australia
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We had a splendid and memorable stay in heritage York Palace Hotel and , made so welcome by owner, manager Nola Bliss. The spacious hotel room was exceptional in comfort, service and Victorian charm with access to the wide ustairs verandah ,restaurant equally impressive. The Palace is within town, easy walking to all the delights of this charming heritage town....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ValerieJudith
Nola B, Owner at The York Palace Hotel and Terraces, responded to this review

Hello Valerie Judith thanks for taking the time to write your review of our accommodation and your stay at the York Palace Hotel. Our Heritage rooms upstairs definitely do have that old heritage quality and the additional verandah status is great to take an afternoon drink and watch the world go by. I'm glad you enjoyed it and thanks for...

Australia
Reviewed 8 October 2016

The Palace Hotel is a beautiful old, classic Australian country pub, with some modern motel-style accommodation out the back, which we used. The unit was clean, sufficiently spacious and comfortable. As an overnight stop (that was us), or a base for a few days' exploring the scenic and historic attractions of the area, it's a great choice. Units have north-facing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taxidhi
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 15 September 2016

The proprietress at this hotel double booked our confirmed room then informed us on the day leaving us high and dry with a baby and no accommodation for the night. She was nothing but rude and horrible to deal with and completely unapologetic. Terrible woman.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mrmarcus2016
Nola B, Manager at The York Palace Hotel and Terraces, responded to this review

Mr Marcus you know that this is untrue. You never left home and cancelled the room on Friday. You received a full refund.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Thank you for a delicious meal... the steak was cooked to perfection and we loved the sticky date pudding! Your restaurant was comfortable and warm and the staff were all lovely. Will definitely come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carola S
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Had a great weekend stay in a terrace room which is like a normal hotel room. Really clean and turned on aircon to warm up room. Only negative is that there was no menu for the restaurant in the room and no info on what to do in York. Never had a room that did not offer this basic info...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gayna M
york8491, Owner at The York Palace Hotel and Terraces, responded to this review

thanks Gayna for your feedback on the Terrace rooms. Your point on the lack of information is exactly the nudge I needed to get onto this very valid piece of customer service. I will get onto this immediately, especially with regards to emergency help which is vital. Thanks again.

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York
0.7 km away
York Motel
York Motel
#1 of 2 in York
128 reviews
0.3 km away
Faversham House York
0.9 km away
The Grandhouse York B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Settlers House
Settlers House
#8 of 16 in York
72 reviews
0.1 km away
Avon Accommodation York
26.9 km away
Duke's Inn
Duke's Inn
#1 of 6 in Northam
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The York Palace Hotel was completed in 1909 and underwent extensive refurbishment of the rooms and restaurant during the recent decade. The Hotel offers 5 large heritage rooms on the upper floor (no life) in the historic hotel, and 14 new kingsize rooms with ensuites adjoining the original building. All the rooms have ensuite bathrooms with shower, TV, air conditioning, small fridge and tea & coffee making facilities. All rooms are spacious and light. In addition, the Alice at the Palace bistro, opens for dinner Thursday, Frida and Saturday nights, as well as Saturday and Sunday lunch where they offer a superb eclectic menu with seasonal favourites. Fully licensed, it is advised to book a table for Saturday evenings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The York Palace Hotel and Terraces

Address: 145 Avon Tce, York, Western Australia 6302, Australia (Formerly The York Heritage Hotel & Terraces)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Avon Valley > York
Price Range: $134 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York Palace Hotel and Terraces 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The York Palace Hotel and Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York Palace Hotel And Terraces Western Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The York Palace Hotel and Terraces staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book the terraced rooms for private parking in front of you room.”
 of 5 bubbles grahamdixon2003, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“check what days are open when you get to york weekends are fine but all places not open midweek”
 of 5 bubbles helenk561, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The units out the back are good”
 of 5 bubbles Taxidhi, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs some road noise, 2 flights of stairs, back units better for wheelchair access or elderly couples.”
 of 5 bubbles julesanddavid2016, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“they are all good”
 of 5 bubbles squashgodfather, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5