We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ashwood Cottages

22 A Ashwood Avenue, Bright, Victoria 3741 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (55)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#2 of 10 cottages in Bright
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Private, secluded on 3 acres in a bushland setting on the Ovens river. For your perfect getaway you have a choice of three beautiful unique self-contained one bedroom cottages Fleurbaix ,The Studio & The Haven. Each is different in style and décor. Creature comforts include: King size beds, king size spa in bedroom, log fire, air-conditioning, heated towel rails, Free WIFI, Smart TV, kitchen (NO oven ) ,Convection microwave ,electric stove top ,dishwasher and gas BBQ facilities. A short walk along the Canyon walk to restaurants & cafes . Great swimming and fishing within walking distance .Close proximity to The Rail Trail and wineries. All the cottages are "stand alone" buildings located quite a distance from each other to offer privacy and seclusion for guests. Guest laundry with washing machine & dryer .
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Hot bath
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Adults only
BBQ facilities
Parking
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Hiking
Fishing
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Seating area
Separate dining area
Sofa
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Whirlpool bathtub
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
230Reviews0Q+A54Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 203
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Richard R wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
The accomodation was great and peaceful, it would have been nice if there was more space for clothes, we left 1/2 our clothes in the suitcase, also sharing an iron & iron board was inconvenient, the outside deck area could have been better set out, it had part of a roof, when it rained there was no way of keeping dry!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Smith, General Manager at Ashwood Cottages
Responded 15 Jan 2024
So glad you had a great stay .As advertised we have a shared guest laundry area on the property which is in a separate building .We are working on options for more cupboard space but want to also not make it cluttered .This is rarely mentioned in reviews so not something we were too worried about .We prioritised the new kitchen etc We are looking at options for the deck as we are having a lot more rain these days .We will do this when our finances allow . Thank you for choosing to stay with us .Hope to Host you again soon . Linda
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Elizabeth W wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
The cottage was beautiful. They can be found at the end of a street as you enter bright and it is an absolute oasis. It was really private. The instructions were really clear. The place was really spacious with a kitchen, living area, sun room and bath with accompanying bathroom. The spa bath was huge and really impressive. It was definitely affordable too during peak holiday times for really nice accomodation. The bed was super comfy. We had a really helpful booklet and brochures of the local businesses. We saw bunnies every morning which was quite a treat. You can see the shower and bath from the bed/bedroom so I would only stay if you are a couple but definitely not a problem for us. Everything was wonderful and definitely 5 star but some points of improvement is that the sun room was too hot to use each day as there was no cooling which was a shame as it was really pretty. It was, however, absolutely great for drying wet clothes. They also had an ourdoor table and chairs amd a barbeque which was a great additition. Also chickens were let out multiple times during the stay and just a heads up about this in the booklet would be great as we were unable to reverse the car out to leave, although, this was an absolutely welcome development that livened our stay. Thank you so much for having us. We would definitely stay again and were sad to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Smith, General Manager at Ashwood Cottages
Responded 15 Jan 2024
So glad you had a great stay .We looking at options for the sun room .We can't get an aircon in because of the building material in that area .Its great most of the year but not in 30 degrees heat .The chickens will move out of your way 😉 so please don't worry about that on your next stay .WE have 2 other cottages on site with no sun room so this might suit you better while we come up with a solution to the extreme heat . Hope to see you again soon . **Please note you can always contact us during your stay with any ?'s or concerns as we live on-site and I always have my mobile on me . Linda
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Judy M wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Wonderful cottage, stones throw from river beautiful walk to brewery along river. Perfect for a break and relaxation. Everything you could possibly need in the house, located in woods, birds and butterflies everywhere.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Smith, General Manager at Ashwood Cottages
Responded 24 Dec 2023
We are so glad you you had such a great stay .We look forward to Hosting you again . Linda
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Therese W wrote a review Dec 2023
3 contributions
This is the perfect spot to relax and unwind. Nestled in magical bushland on the outskirts of town and right next to the Ovens river. We have had several trips to Ashwood House cottages and stayed in each one. Our favourite is the The Studio ! It is a beautiful location and Ashwood house is a beautiful stay, you won't be disappointed. We will be back !!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Smith, General Manager at Ashwood Cottages
Responded 6 Dec 2023
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again .So glad you had a great stay again ! Hope to see you again soon . Linda
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Araikwao wrote a review Nov 2023
Greater Melbourne, Australia29 contributions5 helpful votes
Travelled to Bright for a couple of days while our kids were away. We loved the secluded feel, leafy surrounds and proximity to the Canyon Walk. Enjoyed some bubble time in the generously-sized spa, and, while we could have put some effort into getting the WiFi working, we just stayed largely disconnected from the world due to the limited mobile reception. Comfy bed and pillows.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The birds wake around 0500 at this time of year, so be aware that you may not get a sleep-in....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Smith, General Manager at Ashwood Cottages
Responded 6 Dec 2023
We are so glad you had a great stay .Hope to Host you again soon . Linda
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bonnie B wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
This was a lovely little cottage for me and my partner during our mini-moon. The property is tucked away off the road so it's a quiet and calm area, and it backs on to beautiful bush with the river a really short stroll away. We also enjoyed a ride on the complimentary bikes, and the Jacuzzi was definitely utilised! The wood fire was also lovely, it would be enjoyable during the cooler months. We loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Smith, General Manager at Ashwood Cottages
Responded 6 Dec 2023
We are so glad you had a great stay .Hope to Host you again soon . Linda
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Megan D wrote a review Sept 2023
2 contributions
+1
I found Ashwood cottages on a whim as had last minute change of holiday plans. It turned out to be one of the best decisions ever. What a beautiful little cottage in the woods. Private bush setting with lovely mountain views. A short walk out the back leads you to the river that runs through Bright. The hosts supplied everything needed for cooking. Bbq on the veranda was a definite bonus. The wood burning fire place was so cosy. Super comfortable bed and high class toiletries. I loved the cute chickens that visited us daily. We stayed in the Haven cottage. Can't fault a thing. Highly recommended. We will most definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Smith, General Manager at Ashwood Cottages
Responded 6 Dec 2023
Thank you for recommending us .Love to Host you again . Linda
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
darrenb222018 wrote a review Apr 2023
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions
We were delighted with the accommodation and found it to be very charming. It is close to the walking trails and all the area has to offer. We had an enjoyable scenic bike ride with the use of the bikes provided on-site which was a pleasant surprise.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Smith, General Manager at Ashwood Cottages
Responded 6 Dec 2023
We are so glad you had such a great stay .Love to have you stay again .Thank you for taking the time to review us . Linda
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SandraC547 wrote a review Apr 2023
Melbourne, Australia179 contributions79 helpful votes
Lovely cottage in Bright, great amenity with a well appointed kitchen, cosy living space with reverse cycle aircon/heating and a wood fire for winter, big TV and comfy couch. Really great firm bed, and excellent shower. We stayed for 2 nights, but could have comfortably stayed for longer. The Canyon walk was down the street and a lovely way to walk into Bright, only a 30 min walk into town along the river, really pretty. Would stay here again when we’re back in Bright
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Smith, General Manager at Ashwood Cottages
Responded 2 May 2023
We are so glad you had a great time and enjoyed all that our area provides . Thank you for taking the time to review us . Hope to have you stay again . Linda
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kate W wrote a review Feb 2023
2 contributions
Stayed here as a base while we explored the High Country. Found it to be comfortable and conveniently located. Although we did not use all the facilities available to us, it was a lovely place to return to after a day exploring and had everything we needed to rest before heading off each day. Loved the easy access to the Canyon Walk.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Smith, General Manager at Ashwood Cottages
Responded 2 May 2023
We are so glad you had a great time and enjoyed all that our area provides . Thank you for taking the time to review us . Hope to have you stay again . Linda
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bright area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$244 - AU$252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaBright
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ASHWOOD COTTAGES (AU$244): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Bright) - Photos of Cottage - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ashwood Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Ashwood Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Canyon Walk (1.1 km), Howitt Park (1.6 km), and Cloud9 Cinema (1.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ashwood Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, a hot tub, and free internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Ashwood Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Ashwood Cottages?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Ashwood Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ashwood Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gum Tree Pies Bright, Tomahawks, and Dr Mauve Bar and Lounge.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ashwood Cottages?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.