Luxury Abalina Cottages
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Luxury Abalina Cottages

3 Rotary Drive & 47 Cobden St Cherry lane, Bright, Victoria 3741 Australia
Traveller (6)
Room & Suite (1)
Play area at the river
Family and Play Areas (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#3 of 10 cottages in Bright
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION Winner of the prestigious RACV People's Choice Award (for Victoria) for the past 4 years. Stroll 500-650m to the cafe, restaurant and shopping precinct from our 6 contemporary and stylish 3 bedroom/2 bathroom self-contained cottages. Great for singles, couples and families with each cottage sleeping up to 6 guests. Guests comment on the attention to detail, superior fitout, generous provisions and the wealth of information they receive prior to arrival - to the relaxing ambience from the moment they walk through the door.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Babysitting
Highchairs available
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Fireplace
Seating area
Sofa
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Business
Languages Spoken
English

Location

3 Rotary Drive & 47 Cobden St Cherry lane, Bright, Victoria 3741 Australia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 69 out of 100
69
Albury Airport
Melbourne Airport
215.3 km
See all flights
101Reviews1Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 91
  • 6
  • 2
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Emma T wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at Abalina cottages now on 4 occasions. There’s a reason we keep coming back. Fantastic location. Clean and comfortable. Well stocked kitchen with everything we need. Plenty of extras eg washing liquid, bike pump, outdoor setting etc. Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
I Johnson wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our cottage was very comfortable and clean.
The extensive amount of politely worded information on the accomodation, its appliances and house instructions /rules made us feel welcome and 'at home".
The cottage had everything needed for an enjoyable stay, right down to some much appreciated port glasses which we have seldom come across before.
We would highly recommend these cottages for other travellers.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Megan C wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful cottage in close walking distance to the centre of town. Extremely comfortable, well appointed with great information on the cottage and places to visit. We loved the fire which made the place very cosy on a very chilly weekend. Great for 2 couples, king size beds and ensuites for both bedrooms. Would definately come back, highly recommend to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Teresa wrote a review Feb 2024
Melbourne, Australia5 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked Cobden cottage 11 months ago. The cottage is in a great location and is a short walk to the centre of Bright's township. This was a family get away (3 adults) and we had a great time. The poor rating is due to the attitude of the host. We had to call the host the day before departure to find out how to access the property. On arrival there were ants in the main bathroom, on the floor, bath and toilet roll. We had to throw the toilet roll out. We didn't mind as the host had left us with half used rolls of toilet paper from the previous guest in each bathroom. I have never come across this in all the places I have stayed (both overseas and interstate). There was no supply of milk in the fridge, strawberry and marmalade jam, honey or vegemite as mentioned on the Abalina website. There was no washing basket, pegs or clothes rack. There was a clothesline outside, so we were sure that we just couldn't locate the pegs. We made a call to the host, as stated on the information sheet, she did say to call her if we had any queries. All she said was 'no pegs' and also said there was a clothes rack in the cupboard. We couldn't locate the clothes rack, so we tried calling the host again a few times. She chose to ignore our calls. We didn't want to use the clothes dryer as the sun was out and it was perfect for drying clothes. More ants were found on the living room floor and on the coffee table. Again, more ants were found in the second bedroom on the single bed. Blinds are dusty in living areas and bathrooms. Outdated condiments in the fridge. I don't believe this cottage is professionally cleaned. Tiny amount of laundry detergent provided. Live wire exposed on cords of both lamps in the front bedroom.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susan Pickles wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Due to mitigating circumstances I had to cancel our 3 night booking. They took $1200 from my account and even with 22 days notice during peak season they would not refund anything. Really devastating to us as this is a lot of money. I could understand them keeping a deposit but not the entire amount. They actually talked me out of booking through Booking.com to save money - I will never do that again as booking.com refund your money when you are forced to cancel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cam and Bernie Wickes, Owner at Luxury Abalina Cottages
Responded 17 Jan 2023
Wow, Susan this is so unfair. We just abided by our cancelation policy. You called us and asked about your booking.com booking and realised that it would be cheaper for the 3 of you to book direct with us. You chose to booK direct and save money. You cancelled and we tried our best to rebook. We are not in the business of taking peoples money but you cancelled not us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Canucks-down-under wrote a review Sept 2022
Melbourne, Australia348 contributions130 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed 3 nights with friends in Abalina on Cobden.

House is well located a short well to Bright village. It is well equipped, well laid out and comfortable. The beds were very comfortable.

It was, unfortunately, not very clean. Bedroom carpets had stains and need a steam clean, the cook top had grease on it, the oven had baked on burnt food, some pots needed to be scrubbed before use and the tile floors had a film of something on them.

We have stayed at Abalina a number of times in the past and rated those experiences very good to excellent. This staff did not match those earlier stays.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Narelle D wrote a review June 2021
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic stay at Abalina on Cobden, I would highly recommend. The house has everything you need for a home away from home stay. 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom, full laundry, outside area and off street parking. Hosts were amazing and only a phone call away if you need anything. Thank you!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy W wrote a review Nov 2021
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our cottage was lovely and spacious. Very comfortable king sized bed, large Smart Tv and all modern appliances. It was walking distance to Bright township and close to plenty of walks. Would suit 2 couples easily or a family of 5.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JohnHerveyBay wrote a review July 2012
Hervey Bay15 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What can we say about this place that hasn't already been said by other people who have left comments on this site. This place is by far the best place that we have stayed by far. Right in Bright with all it's beauty, walking and hiking tracks just outside the front door and right on the foothills of the snow fields, what more could one more ask for...........probably a nice place to stay.......well we found it and will be back. This cottage is not just a place to stay and sleep, this cottage is a home. A place we sat around and relaxed, a place where we felt like it was home, and a home that had it all. The extras that the owners do, from the well appointed kitchen to the music and fire when you walk in is a credit to both Lesley and Ian. We thank you for the stay and will be back .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from abalinacottages, Owner at Luxury Abalina Cottages
Responded 3 Aug 2012
John, we feel privileged that you spent your family’s first visit to the snow and to Bright at abalina cottages. We try to make each cottage feel like a home. While we ensure we have a contemporary feel to each cottage, we have not furnished them in a minimalist style so that guests comment, as you did above, that you feel at home when you arrive. Thank you so much for recommending us to others and taking the time to complete this review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kanga70 wrote a review Aug 2015
Melbourne, Australia54 contributions42 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We want to confirm the wonderful reviews about this excellent accommodation in Bright.
Recently, it was our second time staying in this well equipped, clean and generally attractive place... and we shall happily stay in this delightful place again.

It is well situated -- short walk to Bright's centre; close to a children's park and other facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The Abalina Cobden Cottage is certainly comfortable for larger families...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Delmine wrote a tip Feb 2019
Canberra, Australia20 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The outdoor courtyard is lovely for breakfast or pre-dinner drinks."
Read full review
Robert F wrote a tip Jan 2019
Auckland, New Zealand40 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stayed in Cherry 1. Cherry 2 and 3 look similar and all three are right next to each other."
Read full review
bbrittons wrote a tip Apr 2018
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ensure all sliding flyscreen doors operate smoothly. "
Read full review
Brett G wrote a tip Oct 2017
Adelaide, Australia19 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Note the "master" bedroom has an ensuite bathroom whereas the other 2 rooms (one of which is twin bedded) share a bathroom."
Read full review
Rita B wrote a tip Oct 2017
Wollongong, Australia1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lovely electric blanket in main bedroom. Others were very envious! "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bright area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$285 - AU$390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaBright
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LUXURY ABALINA COTTAGES (AU$285): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Bright) - Photos of Cottage - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Luxury Abalina Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Luxury Abalina Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Howitt Park (0.9 km), Cloud9 Cinema (0.8 km), and Bright Splash Park (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Luxury Abalina Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, a golf course, and free internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Luxury Abalina Cottages?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Luxury Abalina Cottages?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Luxury Abalina Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Luxury Abalina Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gum Tree Pies Bright, Tomahawks, and Dr Mauve Bar and Lounge.
Is Luxury Abalina Cottages located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Bright.
Are any cleaning services offered at Luxury Abalina Cottages?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
All Bright HotelsBright Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BrightHotels near Luxury Abalina Cottages
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars