We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sonbern Lodge Motel

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sonbern Lodge Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 52: English reviews
Start your review of Sonbern Lodge Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed our 4 night stay at Sonbern. Our ground floor room overlooking the courtyard was clean, comfortable and spacious enough for 2 people. The motel was quiet for the most part, although I wish there was a dedicated smoking area, other than directly outside each room. The water pressure and shower was excellent, the pillows very comfortable but perhaps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VeganRoxy
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Converted to motel accommodation. Very clean. Everything you neec in room. Great location. Very quite. Hot water for shower. Beds comfortable. Balcony upstairs great for a wine while overlooking town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanHindmarsh
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Great. Could not have been better. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Clean, quiet with very friendly staff. Room was historically quaint with a very relaxing ambience. Will definitely stay again. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Very convenient to ferry, only a five minute drive. Well appointed and easy access to car. No stairs. Quiet and close to amenities like restaurants. Good price for the location. There is nothing else helpful to say.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
Galani, General Manager at Sonbern Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Sonbern Lodge Motel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and the convenience of our location, especially in regard to Ferry access. I appreciate your positive comments on price, location and accessibility and how well appointed you found our rooms. I look forward to your next visit. regards David...

Greater Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Sonbern Lodge is conveniently located in Wallaroo, close to the local Supermarket with many places of interest and dining options nearby. Although the rooms are getting well worn, ours was clean and serviced daily. Parking can be problematic. There is a small park on the motel grounds, however during busy times guests may be forced to park on the street....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IronKanga
Galani, General Manager at Sonbern Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Sonbern Lodge Motel. We indeed believe our location is second to non for access to many of Wallaroo's features and attractions. I acknowledge that our rooms are not stark and ultra modern, however I believe they reflect the ambiance and heritage of this stately 1914 building. We pride ourselves...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Since staying here in 2013, nothing much has changed in the disabled room but we did have the knowledge re access to reception. See previous review. Free wi-fi didn't work - don't know why. The staff were friendly. As there is not much to do in Wallaroo and we had already explored Moonta, only stayed overnight. The ferry is no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DisabledClient
Galani, General Manager at Sonbern Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Sonbern Lodge Motel. We always appreciate guests feed back and are pleased, you continue to use Sonbern Lodge Motel, for your accommodation needs, when visiting the area. We reviewed your comments from your first visit in 2013 and indeed, agreed that the toilet paper holder was in a poor...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 26 September 2016

This is our 2nd time staying here, and we had the same ground floor room. inside the main building. the seating and other facilities in the room were clean and comfortable and the bed was very comfortable. the welcome at reception was friendly. We definitely recommend the Sonbern Lodge to anyone staying in Wallaroo.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica and Ted H
Galani, General Manager at Sonbern Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your praise for Sonbern Lodge Motel. As owner/ Managers we take great pride in the product we present. As such we take great care to provide an exceptionally clean room and we would not allow guests to sleep in a bed, we would not be happy to sleep in ourselves. I look forward to...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We stayed at sonbern lodge again with friends,always the same rooms 17-18 the reason friendly manager (david)and staff,always helpful,room always clean and tidy, we know any problems would be fixed straight away, close to what we want. The manager david a wealth of knowledge on the area, david even had the warm air conditioner on for us arriving,going to try...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FALL481BLUE
Galani, General Manager at Sonbern Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi guys and thanks once again for your positive comments. Its always a pleasure to have you stay with us. I look forward to your next visit. kind regards David W - General Manager.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Great rooms,excellent staff, perfect location and very quiet. No putting up with noise from a caravan park and late arrivals. Why pay for a place in a caravan park when this is much better value SUPER ALLISION is Super Awesome,always welcoming and freindly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anthony h
Galani, General Manager at Sonbern Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time the write a review for Sonbern Lodge Motel. I am pleased you enjoyed your room and your stay. We pride ourselves on our peace and quiet and go to great lengths to provide a peaceful and calming atmosphere. I am pleased you found our tariffs realistic and yes, Alison is Awesome and very friendly....

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 20 March 2016

This inn over 100 years old with its stained glass front window and dark wood stairwell had the atmosphere I expected after reading about it. Reception was friendly and helpful and our room upstairs had the charm of early Australia, with a modern bathroom. We had a door onto the verandah to view the park in moonlight and hear birds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank findthemusic
Galani, General Manager at Sonbern Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Sonbern Lodge Motel. We appreciate your comments and are happy your stay was a memorable one. The building is an iconic piece of Wallaroo history and the stair case and stained glass windows, certainly deserve a mention. We have taken great care to preserve the originality of the building,...

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallaroo
0.9 km away
Wallaroo Marina Apartments
0.5 km away
Anglers Inn
Anglers Inn
#1 of 2 in Wallaroo
35 reviews
14.8 km away
Moonta Bay Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Copper Coast Hotel
Copper Coast Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wallaroo
7 reviews
7.7 km away
Kadina Village Motel
Kadina Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Kadina
12 reviews
17.6 km away
Port Hughes Tourist Park
Port Hughes Tourist Park
#1 of 1 in Port Hughes
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sonbern Lodge Motel provides "Quality Accommodation" in a Grand Historic building, right in the heart of Wallaroo. All rooms have ensuite, rev.Cycle air conditioning, LCD TV, queen beds, table and chairs, lounge seating, electric blankets, hair dryer and tea/coffee making with small fridge. Some rooms also have microwave and toaster. Free Wifi is available in all rooms. Balcony rooms available, all rooms at Realistic tariffs. Family rooms and 2 bedroom Cottages with cooking facilities also available. Free Off Street parking with security lighting. Breakfast available 7 days, cooked or continental. Very clean, comfortable and quiet. "Don't judge a book by its cover". ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sonbern Lodge Motel

Address: 18 John Tce | John Tce, Wallaroo, South Australia 5556, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Wallaroo
Price Range: $104 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonbern Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sonbern Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonbern Lodge Motel Wallaroo, South Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sonbern Lodge Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a room away from the road.”
JanHindmarsh, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Parking is a problem...”
IronKanga, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Any room at the back should be ok.”
DisabledClient, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“as stated we always have 17-18 as close to parking,air conditioner good and hot water.”
FALL481BLUE, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We always stay in the rooms out the back,they are fabulous.”
anthonyh73, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Agoda.com
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates