We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sonbern Lodge Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sonbern Lodge Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 49: English reviews
Start your review of Sonbern Lodge Motel
 Click to rate
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Very convenient to ferry, only a five minute drive. Well appointed and easy access to car. No stairs. Quiet and close to amenities like restaurants. Good price for the location. There is nothing else helpful to say.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
Galani, General Manager at Sonbern Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Sonbern Lodge Motel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and the convenience of our location, especially in regard to Ferry access. I appreciate your positive comments on price, location and accessibility and how well appointed you found our rooms. I look forward to your next visit. regards David...

Greater Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Sonbern Lodge is conveniently located in Wallaroo, close to the local Supermarket with many places of interest and dining options nearby. Although the rooms are getting well worn, ours was clean and serviced daily. Parking can be problematic. There is a small park on the motel grounds, however during busy times guests may be forced to park on the street....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IronKanga
Galani, General Manager at Sonbern Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Sonbern Lodge Motel. We indeed believe our location is second to non for access to many of Wallaroo's features and attractions. I acknowledge that our rooms are not stark and ultra modern, however I believe they reflect the ambiance and heritage of this stately 1914 building. We pride ourselves...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Since staying here in 2013, nothing much has changed in the disabled room but we did have the knowledge re access to reception. See previous review. Free wi-fi didn't work - don't know why. The staff were friendly. As there is not much to do in Wallaroo and we had already explored Moonta, only stayed overnight. The ferry is no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DisabledClient
Galani, General Manager at Sonbern Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Sonbern Lodge Motel. We always appreciate guests feed back and are pleased, you continue to use Sonbern Lodge Motel, for your accommodation needs, when visiting the area. We reviewed your comments from your first visit in 2013 and indeed, agreed that the toilet paper holder was in a poor...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 26 September 2016

This is our 2nd time staying here, and we had the same ground floor room. inside the main building. the seating and other facilities in the room were clean and comfortable and the bed was very comfortable. the welcome at reception was friendly. We definitely recommend the Sonbern Lodge to anyone staying in Wallaroo.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica and Ted H
Galani, General Manager at Sonbern Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your praise for Sonbern Lodge Motel. As owner/ Managers we take great pride in the product we present. As such we take great care to provide an exceptionally clean room and we would not allow guests to sleep in a bed, we would not be happy to sleep in ourselves. I look forward to...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We stayed at sonbern lodge again with friends,always the same rooms 17-18 the reason friendly manager (david)and staff,always helpful,room always clean and tidy, we know any problems would be fixed straight away, close to what we want. The manager david a wealth of knowledge on the area, david even had the warm air conditioner on for us arriving,going to try...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FALL481BLUE
Galani, General Manager at Sonbern Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi guys and thanks once again for your positive comments. Its always a pleasure to have you stay with us. I look forward to your next visit. kind regards David W - General Manager.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Great rooms,excellent staff, perfect location and very quiet. No putting up with noise from a caravan park and late arrivals. Why pay for a place in a caravan park when this is much better value SUPER ALLISION is Super Awesome,always welcoming and freindly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anthony h
Galani, General Manager at Sonbern Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time the write a review for Sonbern Lodge Motel. I am pleased you enjoyed your room and your stay. We pride ourselves on our peace and quiet and go to great lengths to provide a peaceful and calming atmosphere. I am pleased you found our tariffs realistic and yes, Alison is Awesome and very friendly....

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 20 March 2016

This inn over 100 years old with its stained glass front window and dark wood stairwell had the atmosphere I expected after reading about it. Reception was friendly and helpful and our room upstairs had the charm of early Australia, with a modern bathroom. We had a door onto the verandah to view the park in moonlight and hear birds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank findthemusic
Galani, General Manager at Sonbern Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Sonbern Lodge Motel. We appreciate your comments and are happy your stay was a memorable one. The building is an iconic piece of Wallaroo history and the stair case and stained glass windows, certainly deserve a mention. We have taken great care to preserve the originality of the building,...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Great rooms,excellent staff, perfect location. Great prices.very quiet and can walk to everything .Great pubs to eat in and the prices bakery is fantastic .Great fishing at the jetty andnear by at moonta

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anthony h
David W, Manager at Sonbern Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Sonbern Lodge Motel. We certainly appreciate your positive comments about our Motel and Wallaroo in general. We strive to provide clean ,comfortable accommodation at a realistic price, while also offering something a little different, to the other Motels. We are indeed very lucky to be the only Motel located...

Gawler
Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

Great service when checking in. Hotel room was upstairs, basic but very clean and comfy. Bed was super comfortable. We ordered the extra breakfast which was great and served in the wonderful old dining room by a friendly lady. We enjoyed our stay and will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smell40
David W, Manager at Sonbern Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Sonbern Lodge Motel. We appreciate your kind remarks and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Its pleasing to know the front desk staff are giving a good first impression and the breakfast cook and waitress, provide good food and service. Once again many thanks for your review...

Adelaide
Reviewed 25 January 2016

My wife and I recently stayed at Sonbern for three nights and could not fault too much at all. We had one of the rooms at the rear of the main building, which was large enough, comfortable enough and clean. My only criticism might be the thin walls between bathrooms, which means that plumbing can be a little on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ozvpm_andy
David W, Manager at Sonbern Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Sonbern Lodge Motel. It is always encouraging to get positive feed back and to know that our guests are happy with our facilities. I acknowledge your comments about the plumbing and will ask our plumber if there is anything we can do, to try and overcome this annoying problem....

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallaroo
0.2 km away
Copper Coast Hotel
Copper Coast Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wallaroo
6 reviews
0.9 km away
Wallaroo Marina Apartments
0.5 km away
Anglers Inn
Anglers Inn
#1 of 2 in Wallaroo
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 km away
Moonta Bay Caravan Park
17.6 km away
Port Hughes Tourist Park
Port Hughes Tourist Park
#1 of 1 in Port Hughes
52 reviews
0.0 km away
Moonta Bay Accommodation
Moonta Bay Accommodation
#1 of 2 in Port Moonta
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sonbern Lodge Motel provides "Quality Accommodation" in a Grand Historic building, right in the heart of Wallaroo. All rooms have ensuite, rev.Cycle air conditioning, LCD TV, queen beds, table and chairs, lounge seating, electric blankets, hair dryer and tea/coffee making with small fridge. Some rooms also have microwave and toaster. Free Wifi is available in all rooms. Balcony rooms available, all rooms at Realistic tariffs. Family rooms and 2 bedroom Cottages with cooking facilities also available. Free Off Street parking with security lighting. Breakfast available 7 days, cooked or continental. Very clean, comfortable and quiet. "Don't judge a book by its cover". ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sonbern Lodge Motel

Address: 18 John Tce | John Tce, Wallaroo, South Australia 5556, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Wallaroo
Price Range: $100 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonbern Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sonbern Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonbern Lodge Motel Wallaroo, South Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sonbern Lodge Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Parking is a problem...”
 of 5 bubbles IronKanga, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Any room at the back should be ok.”
 of 5 bubbles DisabledClient, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“as stated we always have 17-18 as close to parking,air conditioner good and hot water.”
 of 5 bubbles FALL481BLUE, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We always stay in the rooms out the back,they are fabulous.”
 of 5 bubbles anthonyh73, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“More modern units have been built behind the old lodge but we chose the original building for its charm.”
 of 5 bubbles findthemusic, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5