We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Barossa Weintal Hotel

Murray Street, Tanunda, South Australia 5352 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (82)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (17)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Tanunda
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Our Hotel offers standard accommodation, family suites, Spa rooms in 40 rooms and luxury accommodation in our 10 superior studios. Our onsite restaurant Angus & Co Bar & Grill offers a modern take on steakhouse favorites, from quality steaks, ribs and seafood to delicious home style burgers . We maintain a wide selection of wines, mainly from local wineries. We are located at the heart of the Barossa Valley within walking distance to several wineries and cellar doors. The accommodation suites all tastes and budgets and the restaurant and bar are likely to keep you well watered and fed with our selection of local produce and of course wonderful local wines. The Barossa is a great place to visit in Winter and we will promise to keep you warm and satiated with superb food. We have a number of facilities suitable for hosting weddings and conferences of all sizes at very reasonable prices. Please note our pool is currently unavailable due to renovations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Bowling offsite
Spa
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
963Reviews2Q+A83Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 329
  • 323
  • 190
  • 72
  • 49
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Ove Andre P wrote a review Feb 2024
Trondheim, Norway8 contributions
Highly recommend this hotel. Great location, lots of good advice from the receptionist, cleaners very nice and helpful. Easy to find, good parking and very nice location. Restaurant was very nice and the rooms excellent. A perfect location for exploring Barossa
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lisa A wrote a review Oct 2023
Happy Valley51 contributions24 helpful votes
Stayed in a 2 bedroom newly renovated apartment which has been tastefully designed and comfortable. However I suggest you stay on the top floor as we stayed on ground level and we could hear every single footstep above during night and at 6am the next morning. Plus it sounded like they were roller skating above us and dragging furniture around. - Basically hardly any sleep roof so paper thin!! No pool, No pokies just boring place to stay, Sorry for the bad review but I have stayed here about 6 times and instead of improving the facilities it just keeps getting worse. The outside area is just full of dead grass and weeds out the back door. This is a really bad impression for interstate visitors. So much more could be done here. But we did enjoy the renovations - very stylish and the actual accommodation was comfortable. Just also needed a small bath table next to the bath to sit my lovely Barossa wine on!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
AlexofMelbourne wrote a review Sept 2023
Melbourne265 contributions193 helpful votes
We arrived to find a dog barking in the hotel room next door. It turns out this is a pet friendly hotel. To the hotel’s credit, they quickly rang the people staying in the room next door, who returned to make their dog happy. Comfy bed. Good shower. Annoying bathroom tap. No herbal teas. Walls paper thin.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
AJS2015 wrote a review Sept 2023
Calne, United Kingdom155 contributions90 helpful votes
We stopped here for a couple of nights to explore the Vineyards around the Barossa and surrounding valleys. It’s slightly on the edge of town but it’s not too far to walk. The hotel was nice and the reception staff very helpful. The room was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was also good here. Unfortunately the dining restaurant was closed for the two nights we were there which was disappointing as the menu looked good. We did eat at the Clubhouse in town which was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bagootsy wrote a review Aug 2023
Greater Sydney, Australia17 contributions10 helpful votes
Had great expectations as beautiful decor and restaurant area upon entry. We enjoyed our room to the utmost,and have no complaints. However, the receptionist at check in was sarcastic in tone and quite rude. Set the tone for our stay. I think she would be better suited in a different capacity. Back office maybe? As a first time visitor, a more helpful and pleasant person needs to handle guests upon arrival. Based upon our checkin experience, would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nessa M wrote a review July 2023
Dublin, Ireland9 contributions7 helpful votes
The room was very comfortable and well equipped. The heating was switched on when we arrived, which was great. Good, freshly cooked breakfast. The staff were very helpful. Good location in the Barossa.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Helen & Rob wrote a review June 2023
Adelaide, Australia49 contributions10 helpful votes
Average room, Very Tiny Bathroom, expensive mini bar and dusty floors. Paid top dollar to stay only to find out when we were booking for dinner that they were fully booked due to a big function. Pretty poor really not being able to accommodate Full paying guests... They offered us Nothing for this inconvenience! When checking out, we mentioned we were not happy and the person on said that they didn't have a head chef. Again, this should of all be discussed with us when we arrived because even at that point we were asked if we wanted to book in for dinner even knowing they had a big function booked in for that night and NO head Chef! NO compensation or ANYTHING was offered to us for this inconvenience on their part! Their Loss, won't stay again and DO NOT Recommend anyone staying there.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We don't recommend Barossa Weintal Hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Caitlin Roberts, Guest Services / Front Office at Barossa Weintal Hotel
Responded 27 June 2023
Good morning, There seems to be some confusion. We we're not fully booked due to the function, that was separate from our Restaurant, the restaurant itself was booked in general for dining, and although we do absolutely try our best to accommodate in-house guests, we do inform every single person who would like dinner, to book directly prior to dinner so they can indeed secure a table. In regards to a head chef, our General Manager, Michael - is currently fulfilling that tole himself. So we do have one, absolutely. I'm very unsure if you had booked in prior to dinner commencing as that is the only explanation to being turned away (which we do apologise for, of course) But in saying that, if you had just walked into the restaurant and asked for a table then and there when we inform everyone to book in advance, then I do understand where our Food & Beverage team was coming from in regards to availability and capacity. Should you want to discuss this further, feel free to email me on fom@barossaweintal.com.au :) Chat soon, and we thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Caitlin Roberts Front Office Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Elphin wrote a review June 2023
Launceston, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
Restaurant was really bad. I heard dogs barking next door and the room really smelt bad. I would not recommend this hotel to stay in for anybody. Was not happy with the chef as he came out to the restaurant very dirty. Do not eat here not safe. I am going to report to the health department.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Caitlin Roberts, Guest Services / Front Office at Barossa Weintal Hotel
Responded 14 June 2023
Hi there, Such a shame you didn't have a great experience. Although it appears you did not raise your concerns with us directly before departing the Hotel, which we recommend as that way we can do our best to rectify all guest complaints prior to checking out to avoid situations like this. We need a little more context of your situation if you wouldn't mind emailing me at fom@barossaweintal.com.au We thank you for your concerns but rest assured our Restuarant is defiantly up to standards as per OH&S :) Kind regards, Caitlin Roberts Front Office Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sally C wrote a review May 2023
Melbourne, Australia1520 contributions197 helpful votes
+1
The reception staff were very polite and helpful on booking in, giving information as required. We stayed in a one room apartment at the back of the complex with parking outside the accommodation. These rooms have been recently renovated and it was obvious to see that they had been done up. The paintwork was new, appeared to have new flooring and kitchen area was well appointed. The bedroom was comfortable, as was the bed. The bathroom was huge with a very large bath, separate shower and twin bathroom sinks. However, the shower recess leaked a large amount of water over the floor due to incorrect fitting of the shower screen. Also there was only a sheer curtain in the lounge area with no other curtain to give privacy. It appeared to be missing, as there was both curtains available in the bedroom. Also the fly wire door to the outside patio space had many holes, letting in the mosquitoes! Breakfast was served in the dining area of the hotel and was by menu ordering. Our first morning was good with the breakfast served being excellent. The 2nd morning was extremely slow with the meals coming out a little cold after sitting on the servery for some time. I'm glad we weren't on the time schedule as we would have been very late. The location of the hotel is out of the town area, so you really need a car to get to the restaurants - it would be a bit too far to walk. Overall, we loved our stay at this hotel and did mention our concerns to the staff as we checked out - hope everything has been recitified now.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Caitlin Roberts, Guest Services / Front Office at Barossa Weintal Hotel
Responded 22 May 2023
Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we do appreciate it. We're super glad to hear our staff were nothing short of professional and courteous. May I ask you send me an email with your name and room number so I can advise our maintenance team to follow this up. My email address is > fom@barossaweintal.com.au I look forward to hearing from you and hope we have the pleasure of you returning sometime in the future! Kind regards, Caitlin Roberts Front Office Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stacey K wrote a review Apr 2023
Sydney, Australia124 contributions48 helpful votes
The rooms have been redone recently and are neat and functional. It's a shame there is no balcony/courtyard off the rooms but overall the rooms were pleasant, although definitely missing some soundproofing (really loud compared to other hotels eg could hear exactly what our neighbours were watching on TV at 1am, when anyone moved or spoke etc). The service was quite dreadful, but talking to others it seems to be to be expected here. On the first night we arrived we (2 people) went straight to dinner and were told they were too busy (there was only 1 occupied table) and that they did have availability but had a staff member off sick so would not accept us. Their suggestion was it was only a few km each way to town, and there are some restaurants and stuff that might be open. All good as we ended up finding somewhere much nicer to eat, even though we were just looking for a quick simple dinner. The restaurant was not open for several days a week, which seemed odd when the place was packed and a long weekend and festival weekend in the valley. With no walkable options nearby for food, this needs to be reviewed. On the last morning my parents had prepaid for breakfast. They sat in the dining room for an hour waiting for their order before they forced the staff member to check and it turned out no ones orders in the entire place had gone to the kitchen, and none of the staff members thought this was weird? The chef was just chilling doing nothing? And wait staff just not serving any meals and not following up on anything? My parents actually let others in the full dining room know that their orders hadn't been actioned at all, so there was a lot of refunds to be issued and unhappy customers who couldn't keep waiting due to flights etc. Again, we actually ended up finding somewhere nicer and cheaper, but the lack of any care or responsibility or management was quite astounding. Housekeeping was hit and miss. Completely different every day, it was like roulette as to whether you might get clean towels, bed made etc. Mini bar gets charged but not restocked. There used to be a pool and spa but they have been filled in now. There was some random furniture around they area you can use, but it was filthy and we had to do a thorough clean first. Outdoor bins were overflowing. Overall the rooms were completely fine, but the management and service need major improvements.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tanunda area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$160 - AU$255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barossa weintal hotel / tanunda, flag barossa weintal tanunda
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaBarossa ValleyTanunda
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BAROSSA WEINTAL HOTEL (AU$160): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Barossa Valley) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Barossa Weintal Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Barossa Weintal Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Langmeil Winery (1.4 km), Barossa Farmers Market (5.1 km), and Vasse Virgin at Seppeltsfield (6.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Barossa Weintal Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Barossa Weintal Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Barossa Weintal Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Barossa Weintal Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Barossa Weintal Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hentley Farm Restaurant, Harvest Kitchen, and Appellation.
Is Barossa Weintal Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Tanunda.
Are any cleaning services offered at Barossa Weintal Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Barossa Weintal Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Barossa Weintal Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Langmeil Winery (1.4 km) and Gardner Knives (5.9 km).
Is Barossa Weintal Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.