We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Port Vincent Caravan Park & Seaside Cabins

Save
Share
12/17 Minlacowie Road, Port Vincent, South Australia 5581 Australia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (41)
Room & Suite (25)
Pool & Beach (6)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 30/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 30/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 2 Speciality lodging in Port Vincent
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Our beachfront caravan park is located on a quiet beach in the picturesque seaside town of Port Vincent on the Yorke Peninsula, South Australia. We have a range of powered sites, unpowered sites, 4 bedroom villa accommodation and a large range of cabin accommodation for individuals and families. We also have 2 dormitory rooms to accommodate for large group booking, school camps or sporting clubs. All this within a 10 minute walk to the town centre and being centrally located on the Yorke Peninsula, makes this a great location to base your stay and explore the diverse region. Port Vincent is a popular destination for year round fishing, seasonal crabbing, kayaking, walking, sailing or simple relaxation. We even have our own 9 hole putt putt golf course and a coin opp games arcade room is coming soon which are both open to the public 7 days a week.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Wifi
Beach
Boating
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Self-serve laundry
Canoeing
Mini golf
Snorkelling
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Tile / marble floor
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
72Reviews1Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 30
  • 13
  • 6
  • 7
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Gessf wrote a review 12 Jan
Adelaide, Australia39 contributions34 helpful votes
I am not sure where to start, except to say that I wished I had read the other reviews before booking. I booked for 13 nights and stayed one, before fleeing, and yes that is the word, on the second evening, leaving this feral place and over a thousand dollars worth of booking behind. The amenities are absolutely basic to the point of being inadequate. Two small saucepans and small frypan. Two burners. Not even a pair of tongs or a bowl for salad. Given that there is only one takeaway place in this town open at dinner time and with a really basic menu, it proved impossible to cook dinner for a family. The bed frame appeared broken or loose, it creaked every time one of us moved. There was one double bunk provided for our grandchildren, but as they are both 5 they were not permitted to use the top bunk. Hence both had to sleep squashed into the bottom bunk. Don't get me started on their advertised 'family friendly' facilities. The Putt Putt course was smaller than my family room, weather beaten and in really bad condition and for this a fee of $30 was charged. The DVD player did not work and the manager said she would get someone to maybe look at it 'tomorrow'. WiFi had to be paid for, approximately $6 a day for half a GB. The playground consisted of a few weather beaten old items, like a toddler slippery dip. What really set me off though was the behaviour of some of the other 'residents'. One particular group practically overtook the place, hogging car spaces, hogging the bar-b-q facilities and camp kitchen and being loud, drunk or on drugs. The first morning one of the males wandered into the female shower block and accosted one of the females (probably from the same group). This behaviour brought on a panic attack in me as there was no help available. Attempts to report this to management failed as the phone was not answered or the office attended. A lot of the other reviews have said the same thing. The owners just do not care to walk around and see that things are OK. The office (officially open between 10-6) seems not to be attended for a large proportion of the day. The same group of ferals then cranked up their music from early afternoon, singing (badly), drinking, taking over the amenities such as the common area. Another attempt to contact the office for some support ("Noise is not tolerated") met with another unanswered telephone call. It was at that point we had enough. We literally threw everything into the car, dropped the key in the after hours box and fled. I did a quick clean of the cabin before we left and it was then a lot cleaner than when we found it (a tupperware lid was under the quilt when we made the bed on arrival). There was no contact at all from management until I emailed them the next day to say we had put the key in the box and would not be returning. The short 'thank you for letting us know' was emailed back later. No inquiry as to whether we were ok, or what the problem was, let alone an offer of even a partial refund. I am still shaking as I write this. I have never stayed in such an unfriendly, scary place anywhere in Australia. The place is appalling, the managers unbelievable in their lack of concern or interest. I do not want to give this place any rating at all. Don't even think twice about booking, just don't do it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Park Manager, General Manager at Port Vincent Caravan Park & Seaside Cabins
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Giovanni, Im sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable stay. When staying in caravan parks, you do have to expect a bit of noise and share common spaces with other people especially during busy times such as school holidays. We are generally a small, quiet little caravan park and as the caretaker lives in the park, it is very unlikely that excessive noise is tolerated at any time, but if you felt unsafe or felt the noise was too loud or late in the evening, you should always ring the office and make sure to leave a detailed message as we check the messages promptly. You will find the office is closed for general enquiries and retail sales at the moment to minimise contact with COVID-19, but it is open from 2pm – 6pm for check ins and you can always phone and leave a message if you need something outside of these hours. Our standard ensuite cabins that you booked yourself online are some of our smaller, cheaper style of cabin accommodation we have at our caravan park and are priced accordingly. They are simple and affordable and are quite popular with some of our regular families wanting to get away on a budget. We do have a range of other larger cabins also available to book online including deluxe cabins, luxury spa cabins and a 4 bedroom villas. Maybe you should look at these cabins next time and book well in advance if you want to book one of these larger cabins next time. We did attend to your cabin the next morning to fix your DVD and check the bed and noticed that you may have check out early and later found your key in the box. We did not think a lot of it for we have had a few cancellations that week with the recent COVID-19 outbreak, but we did proceed to check the DVD and it seemed to be working for us and the staff check the bed and no matter what they did, they could not get it to make any noise…. It was unfortunate that your visit did coincide with a bit of COVID-19 activity as there were a few businesses and activities closed in town (including our Putt putt), but there is not much we can do about these things in these uncertain times. It is good to see people and families still coming to Port Vincent and getting out and about outside enjoying the beach and fresh air, but we all must do what is best to keep our park open and keep our staff and our guests safe.
Read more
Toni L wrote a review Apr 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The deluxe cabin was average. Could of been a little more cozy , just a rug on the floor, perhaps a personal touch would have been nice. The TV didn't work, had to approach owners - the owner came and eventually replaced it as the one in the cabin wasn't was not working. ( perhaps these basic things need to be checked. The owner didn't appear happy being asked to come have a look. Not very approachable I thought. Parking is a tight squeeze for bigger cars. Sign out the front states 1 car per site, perhaps the caravan opposite us couldn't read sign. 3 cars to one van parked on lawn area, which is why it was hard to get in and out of our park lot. Prices on website don't match what we paid for ours per night by $35 more. I don't believe it to be worth it. Overall pretty average. There is no free wifi. Unless you pay for it. Most places we have stayed at, have free wifi for there guests.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Park Manager, General Manager at Port Vincent Caravan Park & Seaside Cabins
Responded 25 Apr 2021
Thank you for you feedback Toni, We will take this on board. The price you paid is correct for the school holiday price. The deluxe cabins do drop down in price by $35 next week to our off peak price. Maybe that was the price you were looking at on our website? I'm sorry if the caravan site opposite you had to many cars but if you came and told us, we could have asked them to move them for you. We don't know these things unless we are told sometimes. Much like your T.V. which was working for the last guest but sometimes these things happen. We always have spare appliances on hand and we did replace it straight away with an even bigger T.V. Overall, I hope you managed enjoyed your weekend.
Read more
Lili wrote a review Mar 2021
Adelaide, Australia4 contributions1 helpful vote
The location is good , facilities are basic but sufficient. The owner/managers are definitely over this place and should sell up they are rude and lacking in any customer service. If you’re looking for friendly country hospitality this is NOT the place for you !!! On their map of available facilities they clearly show a basketball court which we tried to use , we were subsequently told to leave as it was private property and we were stupid and would incur a $2000 fine which then finger pointing Sharon (owner) upped to $20,000 & then threatened with police attendance. We came here as I recently lost my son and now I feel worse for coming ... should have stayed home . Please don’t bother to respond and defend your bad behaviour Sharon you have so many bad reviews , you should be ashamed Would not come back , would not recommend
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Park Manager, General Manager at Port Vincent Caravan Park & Seaside Cabins
Responded 12 Mar 2021
We are glad to hear that you liked our location as much as we do. We can ensure you that our staff are always happy to accommodate all the lovely guests and return guests we have had stay here over the years. Our standard cabins are an affordable and well equipped accommodation option. We do have other larger deluxe cabin available, including a beachfront spa cabin, but you sometimes need to book in advance for these for they are very popular. We are sorry you experienced some confusion with a newly added area to the park that was unfortunately closed at the time of your visit due to construction. It will be a great addition to the park when it is finished but we do have builders and trades people working in that area at times and the area could be dangerous. This is quite normal for parks to have areas closed off to guests from time to time, but we did have both entrance gates to this area locked and well signed with "DO NOT ENTER" signage. Unfortunately you may not have noticed this for you climbed over the fence where there was no signage when you were politely asked to leave. I would like you to know that we have taken your feedback into consideration and have added the "temporary out of bounds area" to the park maps to minimise confusion.
Read more
Jason Moody wrote a review Feb 2021
2 contributions
We booked for 5 nights, stayed only 3 night as we had a family medical emergency in Adelaide, we notified the park management and we’re refused any refund. Absolutely no sympathy or empathy from them at all. Just cashing in on others misfortune! Also not impressed with the way other guests were treated in front of us when guests arrived 10 minutes early they were not allowed to set up van on lawns, community bbq was filthy and couldn’t be used, lucky we had our own Weber Q. Taking our complaint to the commission of consumer affairs and the office of fair trading.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Park Manager, General Manager at Port Vincent Caravan Park & Seaside Cabins
Responded 25 Feb 2021
I can assure you that our staff are always sorry to see our guest having to leave early and cut their holidays short. We would much rather everyone be able to stay for the full duration of their booking. We understand that sometimes things happen but we do have a cancelation policy in place which is mentioned on our website and was sent to you upon booking which states that there is no refund on early departures. This is simply because we are unable to rebook it at such short notice and we did turn people away earlier in the week that wanted that cabin. They could not come for you had booked it, and we were holding it for you for the whole 5 days. Thank you for your concern regarding our caravanning guest that came in early. They did not mind waiting for they are regulars and keep coming back every year for they love our green grass and did not mind waiting 10 minutes while the gardener packed up the hoses. I can also assure you that our bbq's and camp kitchens are cleaned every day but people use them sometimes do not clean them as well as we do.
Read more
Marty H wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Booked van in for 8 nights to enjoy my wife's birthday. Set up first night started raining. That night the caravan roof started leaking for the first time ever on a 3 year old van. Bed was soaked through and all clothing in the cupboards above the bed saturated. Next morning van power went off, only our van. No cloths, no bed and no power we decided to head home. Office does not open until 10am (unheard of in parks) no response to ringing the office door bell and no one would answer the land line so left a message explaining our situation and headed home. Once home tried to ring at least 4 times during office hours to no avail. Finally sent an email, once again explaining the circumstances we found ourselves in, only finally after that we did receive a response. The management (if you can call them that) stated they didn't get my message (handy) and didn't even know we were gone until they received our email. That's how often they get off their arses and leave the office. Also informing me they do not have a cancellation clause and will not even receive a credit for the 7 nights paid in full. Sort of says a lot about them. I would not now go back or recommend them to anyone. Never met the lady but he seems to have the personality of a pit bull (sorry pit bulls).
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Park Manager, General Manager at Port Vincent Caravan Park & Seaside Cabins
Responded 12 Mar 2021
I'm sorry you had a maintenance issue with your leaky van but we did have quite a heavy rain event during your stay. Most vans are fairly waterproof but unfortunately rain events are out of our control. Maybe you could take that up with your caravan manufacturer or insurance provider? Our office did not receive any phone calls or messages from you after your arrival and as you mentioned, you did receive our cancelation policy upon booking (also mentioned on our website) which states there are no refunds on early departures.
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaPort Vincent
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Port Vincent Caravan Park & Seaside Cabins
What are some of the property amenities at Port Vincent Caravan Park & Seaside Cabins?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, free internet access, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Port Vincent Caravan Park & Seaside Cabins?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Port Vincent Caravan Park & Seaside Cabins?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Port Vincent Caravan Park & Seaside Cabins?
Conveniently located restaurants include Port Vincent Kiosk, Chill Out, and Ventnor Hotel.
Is Port Vincent Caravan Park & Seaside Cabins located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Port Vincent.
Is Port Vincent Caravan Park & Seaside Cabins accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.