We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alexander Cameron Suites

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Alexander Cameron Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 247: English reviews
Start your review of Alexander Cameron Suites
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed in the cottage which is connected to the suites Sleeps 8 and has everything that opens and shuts you could ever need Great kitchen and lounge area with a big TV Being old it isn't the most sound proof place but all the character makes up for that

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WayneR2233
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Continental breakfast is provided every morning that includes cereal, toast with butter/ jam, fruit juice, and yoghurt. There is also a small kitchenette with a microwave. Room service is provided every day. Room was very clean and spacious. Free wifi is available and it was fast too. Honestly one of the best places I've stayed in for work at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stirling H
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Dear Mr Stirling, Thank you so much for your top review of us. So glad you were comfortable whilst you were staying with us. We look forward to having you stay again in the not too distant future. Nanette & the Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very good place to stay. Big rooms and service was awsome. Thank you very much. We will stay here again next year. Only 5 minutes from the wineries and right next to the IGA. Easy walk to the restaurant's and pubs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick L
AlexCamSuites, Front Office Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Dear Nick, Thank you so much for your great review of us. Much appreciated and we look forward to having you back here again next year! Take care. Sue & the Team

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival friendly efficient check in staff with information about local eating places. The room was very spacious, well set out and spotlessly clean. This is a quiet location and our room had rural views. We love this venue and would always like to stay longer!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine Y
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much Lorraine for your very kind review. We work hard to make our guests happy and so much appreciate the feedback. Hope we see you again soon. Nanette & the Team

Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Look no further. If I can help one person enjoy their stay....................... Wife and I were travelling around South Australia not knowing where we would stay. Found this place and it was fantastic. Stayed 2 nights. Had the best 2 nights sleep! Clean, comfortable, friendly, spacious, affordable and the ideal base for the wine district or beyond. Peace and quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Hello Chris D, Thank you so much for your very kind review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to accommodating you again when next time you are in the South East. Best regards. Nanette & the Team

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the executive rooms. It was very spacious, clean and very quiet. Even though there were semi-trailers passing the motel during the night, we couldn't hear them from our room. The motel also provides a continental breakfast at no extra charge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Thank you John for a wonderful review. We at the alexander Cameron Suites much appreciate your feedback. We hope you get another chance to visit us again. Nanette & the Team.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We enjoyed our overnight stay in this excellent motel. We almost drove by thinking the suites were not a motel. Anyway, the room was huge, with a king size bed, king size TV, a large bathroom, all beautifully maintained. A continental breakfast is included in the tariff, a selection of cereals, juice, spreads, milk, tea and plunger coffee.The owner brought...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerry H
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Hello Gerry, Thank you so very much for your excellent review of us. We work hard to make our guests comfortable and happy and so much appreciate your feedback. Hope the magpies didn't wake you up too early! Glad you like our little town of Penola and we look forward to having you stay with us again. Best regards. Nanette...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Just a one night stopover in South Australia, right next to one of the great wine regions of Australia. Continental breakfast provided in the room, small kitchen facility was great and the rooms were very spacious and comfortable. Our hosts at reception were extremely friendly and helpful. We will definitely be coming back when we travel to South Australia.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen141
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Thank you Stephen for your very kind review. Maybe next time you come you can stay a little longer to enjoy the facilities. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast supplied to you. We look forward to catching up with you again soon. Nanette & the Team.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017

The AC Suites are spotlessly clean, spacious and well equipped.complete with a complimentary breakfast provided in your room.About a kilometre from the cellar doors of some wineries Robert & Nanette were a mine of useful information and tips about where to go. This really is a gem of a spot in the charming little town of Penola. If you're in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blade4ever
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Hello Blade4ever, Thank you for your amazing review of our accommodation. We were more than happy to suggest places of interest for you and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you get another chance to come back when next time you are in Australia. All the very best, Nanette & the Team.

Grange, Australia
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We were travelling with overseas relatives & shared accommodation. The suite was large, very comfortable & quiet. Breakfast supplied was very generous. An excellent base for visiting the wineries. Will definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank romi555
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Dear Romi555, Thank you for your recent review. Glad you liked the complimentary continental breakfast we supply our clients with. We look forward to accommodating you again when next time you are in Penola. Nanette & the Team

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Alexander Cameron Suites situated in the centre of historic Penola. Our accommodation is designed around and amongst majestic red gums whose range of colours has been skillfully incorporated into the building and furnishings. Built within easy distance of Penola's renowned cafes, restaurants and hotels we offer the choice of the district to tantalize the most discerning palate. Eighteen quality suites specially designed to enhance the ambiance and history of Penola offer a range of options for the busy traveler to the indulgent connoisseur. Penola boasts many attractions, set amidst the great vineyards of Coonawarra the area is a mecca for lovers of wine, students of history and scholars of culture and religion. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alexander Cameron Suites

Address: 23-25 Church St, Penola, South Australia 5277, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Penola
Price Range: $147 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander Cameron Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexander Cameron Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Cameron Suites Penola, South Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Alexander Cameron Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room at the back”
958JohnH, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 has wheelchair access”
  • Bathroom
  • Kitchenette
  • Bathroom
  • Beds
  • Bathroom
  • Kitchenette
  • Beds
Wheelchair_Traveller, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Select a queen suite”
Linda0615, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms would be good.”
842miam, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Do not be persuaded into the heritage cottage unless you do not mind continual semi-trailer highway noise.”
RhodyGirl02818, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5