Arrival Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Arrival Lodge

69 Queen St, Southport, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215 Australia
Traveller (14)
Triple Room
Room & Suite (11)
Dining Room
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.0
#1 of 1 hostel in Southport
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
The rooms are newly refurnished with Beds, Wardrobe, Desk, Chair, Bedside Cabinets, Lamps. There are fridges in every room. Large fully equipped communal stainless steel kitchen. 2 TV Lounges, 2 communal Balconies. Laundry, There are Bathrooms, Showers and toilets on every floor. On site live in Manager on the premises. DVD players and DVD Films available for hire. 2 minute walk to the Light Rail Station, 5 minute walk to the Beach and Broadwater Parkland, where there is a full range of facilities, Olympic Swimming Pool , kiddies rock pool, kiddies playground rides, Safety netted beach pool with slides, barbeques, cafe, fish and chip bar, outside cinema and a stage for performers and events. Five minutes walk to the Australia Fair Shopping Mall and bus centre, restaurants, bars and Town Centre.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Snack bar
Golf course
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Vending machine
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Desk
Fireplace
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English

Location

69 Queen St, Southport, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215 Australia
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 83 out of 100
83
Gold Coast Airport
23.1 km
See all flights
Brisbane Intl Airport
70.4 km
See all flights
81Reviews1Q+A12Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 25
  • 12
  • 9
  • 5
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kelvin M wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My experience working here was hell. The Russian manager is very unprofessional and should be fired from that job. He is very rude and had a bad attitude towards staff who work there. Treats every staff like trash and throws things on their faces. He gives very vague instructions then changes after you do it. He should not be working customer service. He treats staff as slaves in his own prison. Do not be tempted to work there.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rarym W wrote a review Aug 2015
Blacktown, Australia5 contributions13 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Don't stay here full of right out idiots, the office smelt like smoke and mangers shane and matt were rude towards me and my partner, no understanding and let's anyone stay here drunks and drugo in the place.. The cleaner Glenn smelt of weed and was not friendly what so ever.. Very disgusted in the place.. Bring back old manger Netty & Greg always had a great understanding with everything...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jessielinn wrote a review Dec 2012
New York City, New York18 contributions18 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a fine, safe place to stay but it's not near the beach, or any main attractions in the area, so it's really just a place to sleep. You can walk around the area, but it's not extremely well-lit at night, if that concerns you.

Staff is nice, the rooms were a bit bare but clean, with plenty of lighting, outlets for charging, etc. Showers/bathrooms are clean and quite large.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2012
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BandT14 wrote a review Feb 2020
Gold Coast, Australia6 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked accommodation in a crisis emergency situation, within minutes cancelled as partner had also booked other accommodation, now won't give refund! Explained emergency situation in email as they hang up on us or never ring back after messages left. Disgusting, heartless people keeping our money from a desperate situation when they have the option in exceptional circumstances to refund. Think twice before supporting heartless people! I hope karma doesn't hurt you as bad as our situation!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aviva B wrote a review July 2022
Gold Coast, Australia199 contributions116 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Went there as a genuine accommodation seeker, what I saw & heard was awful!! A resident on the phone not only talking about needing a loan due to the rent there but the most shocking might have been the light bulb doesn't work. When I finally saw the worker(after waiting at reception ages until someone went upstairs to summon them)they confirmed the price & details I had to restrain myself as it was unbelievable. The place I'm at is the same weekly rate/rent but at least it has a bathroom & private room not having to share-despite where I'm currently at not being perfect & it definitely could be better but this place makes it look like a palace!! Wouldn't let my dog stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael B wrote a review Mar 2020
Oakey, Australia40 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived there with a boat trailer as it said there is enough parking at the back,nothing of a sort.
Toilet was a shared toilet, very hard to get there a my mother is in a wheelchair.
No Air-conditioning or ceiling fan.
No TV in the room, again going upstairs in a wheelchair = impossible.
Room was very filthy.
Toilet seat broken, talked to manager to fix the problem, but he did not care.
No room kitchen had to share it.
So they are falsely advertising it as a Lodge, which surely is not.
If you want to waste you money or give it away, then find a better place. 🤬
This business is money hungry but does not want to accommodate for his visitors. 🤑
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathleen N wrote a review July 2014
Sydney, Australia1 contribution6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
For nearly the same price you can stay at say the Meriton with separate bedrooms, your own kitchen/bathroom plus living area with exceptionally clean accommodation. At Arrival Accommodation you get a pokey, dingy room with threadbare linen. Also if you want to sit down you have to go to communal areas, and forget about the bathrooms, disgusting. Left after one night and accused owner of misrepresentation. Obviously did not get any refund. I agree its a hostel but surely for the type of accommodation it should be a lot cheaper not nearly on par with more prestige accommodation. Do not stay there, its really bad.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: don't bother, our room was horrible.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taiwanjimmy wrote a review Nov 2013
Brisbane, Australia1 contribution5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Honestly the worst I have ever seen. Somewhere between a North Korean prisoner of war camp, a half way house or something from nightmare on elm street. The smell was horrific. The bathroom looked like something out of the 70's but with a lack of quality plumbing as the taps were constantly in a flow. The bed was like sleeping on a fold out camping table with springs(word used liberally). On a positive note the fan was well positioned and the light was nice and bright so much so that it could have been used as a street lamp. The place could do with being knocked down to put it out of its misery...my god the smell. I'm glad they don't put much in the room apart from bed and locker because there is less to muck up...one can only imagine what would happen if they had a bathroom in the room. Biggest dive I have ever seen, sleep rough it'd be much better.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2013Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichaelMc5809 wrote a review Sept 2017
Liverpool, United Kingdom 4 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is hands down the worst place I have ever stayed & I have stayed in many hotels. This is more like a rehab centre for drug and alcohol users.. The manager is the rudest person & was not even going to give us towels to get washed. Rooms do not get cleaned throughout your stay & the place smells like reptiles live there! Never ever again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ArrivalAccommodation, General Manager at Arrival Lodge
Responded 12 Dec 2017
I note that you say that you have stayed in many Hotels. We are only a Hostel at less than half the price of most Hotels. In Hostels towels are not automatically supplied, however they are available on request with conditions. Daily Cleaners are working every day throughout the Hostel. Rooms get full attention at change-overs, and regularly when requested on a longer stay. We mainly have overseas guests who are very polite, but you can always find less well behaving people in any public accommodation.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cody r wrote a review Jan 2014
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
we recently stayed here we booked in for a couple of nights , left after the first one
the manager ( the guy i heard some call him Todd), has to be the most un friendly rude manegr i have met , the cleaners were just as bad , the toilets filthy ,and disgusting, bedding dirty white sheets , nosie noise and more noise, pool looked like it hasnt been clean in months, kitchen stank and totally filthy , i spoke to some cleaners about my conerns,( a male and a female ) they told US their names were katie , and james or jamie or something like that but anyway they told me go speak to anager which i did he said to us if your not happy leave , so we proceeded to ask if we did cnacle would some money back because of the state of the premises he laughed and said no way !!!!!! . the manager were more worried about what he was going to do later that night , than actually doing his job . our food got stolen from firdge , this place needs to be reported to the health department or something , I know its a hostel , but come on , cleaniness should be an a1 priority
Read more
Date of stay: January 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SATravGrl wrote a tip Feb 2019
17 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you hate stairs as much as myself ask if 1st-floor rooms are available. :)"
Read full review
shoba10 wrote a tip Jan 2017
South Island, New Zealand2 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms on the first floor are quieter. There is a large balcony with good breeze on the second floor."
Read full review
wanderlust19772017 wrote a tip Jan 2017
Magdeburg, Germany3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Close to Markets"
Read full review
Vin T wrote a tip Sept 2016
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would go for a twin room which has 2 single beds."
Read full review
rmndpage wrote a tip Aug 2016
Gold Coast, Australia1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are quiet with TV lounges on Ground floor & first level"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Southport area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$118 - AU$119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Arrival Accommodation Centre
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandGold CoastSouthport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARRIVAL LODGE (AU$118): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Southport) - Photos of Hostel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Arrival Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Arrival Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Southport Bowls Club (0.3 km), Gold Coast Little Theatre (0.2 km), and Vinnies Dive Bar (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Arrival Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a golf course.
Which room amenities are available at Arrival Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Arrival Lodge?
Guests can enjoy a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Arrival Lodge?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Arrival Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Absolute Thai Homemade, RSL Club Southport, and Anglers Arms Hotel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Arrival Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Arrival Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Southport.
Are any cleaning services offered at Arrival Lodge?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Arrival Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Post Office Gallery (4.5 km).
Is Arrival Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Southport HotelsSouthport Hotel DealsHotels near Arrival Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars