We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arkana Motel

Save
Share
46 Ferry St, Maryborough, Queensland 4650 Australia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (7)
Room & Suite (39)
Pool & Beach (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#8 of 11 hotels in Maryborough
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Arkana motel is located at 46 ferry street directly opposite red rooster BBQ chicken we are a single story 33 room country motel offering a range of different size rooms. From family rooms to single rooms with King, Queen, Double, and single beds. twin, triple and family size rooms. Specific Pet Friendly Rooms Plus, a 2-bed unit fully self-contained We are situated close to shops ( 10 min walk), central business district, golf course and restaurants. three different fast food outlets within a block n a half of your front door. There is free parking right out front of your room plus a large in ground swimming pool also access to our coin operated laundry room plus free WiFi. quite location with very little road noise but close enough to walk to most places only 3 blocks to CBD and local golf course.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Breakfast available
Game room
Golf course
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Car park
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Vending machine
Bowling offsite
Darts
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
46Reviews0Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 12
  • 14
  • 11
  • 5
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Zwarmy wrote a review Oct. 2020
Brisbane, Australia36 contributions28 helpful votes
This place was a disaster for us from start to finish. We asked the manager to match the online price, but he checked his computer, and then immediately the online price became unavailable - I wonder how that happened :-) We were given a room with noisy neighbours and asked to move, but that of course was not possible even though the place was only 20% booked. The room stank of cleaning products, was extremely basic (office furniture?), the bed saggy, and the bathroom smelled. The location is super noisy, right on the highway with trucks roaring by constantly. It is nowhere near anything interesting. Overall we felt unsafe, hopeless and dirty there, and we would not recommend this place to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from darryn barrett, Owner at Arkana Motel
Responded 23 Oct. 2020
what a disgusting review and disrespectful people you are and the awful lies.i hope to god you dont own a business and have to put up with customers like yourselves . we always match online prices for rooms that are available i believe you wanted a double or queen room and where looking at that price for a double room that sleeps 1 person (cheapest room ) we did not have any of either available only king rooms which we done at the same price for your convenience before even check in you asked to be moved to the other end of the motel to be away from everyone else in which we informed you they were our family rooms and cost more . the neighbours were by no means noisy they were talking to each other out the front of there rooms(about 6pm) which most customers like to meet and interact with other customers as half of the experience in staying in a motel is the people you meet but obviously not in your case . you contradict yourself by saying the room wasn't available and we had noisy guest but then we were only (supposedly)20% booked. our rooms by no means stink of cleaning products as i myself have a high allergy to strong chemical smells (so another lie)our motel is a budget motel (3 stars )and is priced accordingly even tho we try to give our guests a 5 star customer service and experience. we do not have any office furniture in rooms (yet another lie) unless you mean the tub chair or coffee table our beds are also not saggy (lie number 4 ) our motel is located on the main road coming into town(as most motels in regional areas are on main roads or highways themselves )it is also sugar cane season so yes there are afew trucks going past but as you were in a room far back from the road separated by our old dining room and BBQ area i would be very surprised if you heard anything at all . we are near no where anything interesting ??? we are directly across from red rooster , half a block from pub ,bottle shop , restaurant two blocks from service station, domino's pizza, happy day dinner and only three blocks from the center of town plus main shopping center only 2.5 blocks away but we are near nothing interesting(lie no 5 ). how did you feel unsafe ? 15 security cameras watching all aspects of the motel .(lie no 6) hopeless yes i agree you are and dirty ? (lie no 7) please re look at how you speak and treat people and just maybe your negative disgusting attitude might change and your world might be a nicer place . please let me finish by saying if you have nothing nice to say you are better off saying nothing at all.
Read more
Kim N wrote a review Aug. 2020
Coffs Harbour, Australia78 contributions21 helpful votes
Older style but very clean and comfy, usual bits shampoo, conditioner etc. Close to CBD but quiet. Friendly staff and affordable. Would stay here again if ever in Maryborough. Rooms are roomy and the microwave was a bonus
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from darryn barrett, Owner at Arkana Motel
Responded 18 Aug. 2020
thank you Kim we look forwarded to seeing you again next time
Read more
Ross H wrote a review Jul. 2020
Warwick, Australia1,698 contributions264 helpful votes
There’s no getting away from it, but this is an old motel. Well maintained but showing it’s age. No on site restaurant anymore though you can have breakfast in the old dining room. A/c worked fine. Bed was comfortable. Nice touch - bucket of water and cleaner to clean your car’s windscreen. Lamington hotel down the road good for food, or red rooster across the road for t/a. Apparently the local RSL has a courtesy bus that will collect you from, and drop you back to the motel - we didn’t try it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from darryn barrett, Owner at Arkana Motel
Responded 12 Jul. 2020
Good Morning Ross thank you for taken the time on given us feedback on your stay with us . we are glad your enjoyed your stay with us . we are a older motel but we do pride ourselves on trying to be the cleanest . we are forever trying to update our facilities but as you can imagine with 33 rooms and the down fall in customers through covid restrictions everything is tough at the moment . thank you again
Read more
anetg wrote a review Feb. 2020
Bargara, Australia36 contributions13 helpful votes
The motel is undergoing some upgrading. The air conditioned room is clean and comfortable. We were made welcome by Darren - owner/manager. Tea and coffee making facilities in room, continental breakfast at a reasonable cost in the dining room and an on-site laundrette on site. The pool is available too. While it is on a main road it was quiet with the doors closed. Good location to all that Maryborough has to offer. Will happily return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from ArkanaReception, Manager at Arkana Motel
Responded 19 Feb. 2020
Hi Anetg thank you very much for your kind words .it was such a pleasure to have you as guests of our motel and we look forwarded to seeing you again.
Read more
Jacqui G wrote a review Jan. 2020
Emu Park, Australia23 contributions1 helpful vote
This motel was horrible! Wet carpet from leaking shower, doors didn’t close properly, pool was green and unusable. Told manager and said we wanted to go but would only give us a 50% refund! We were in the room for 45mins. Absolutely disgusting. I do not recommend this place at all. Do yourself a favour and don’t book here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from ArkanaReception, Owner at Arkana Motel
Responded 21 Jan. 2020
wow the lack of appreciation you and your family showed up at 1.09 pm asking for a early check in which we assisted with your husband was immediately informed that because of the storms in s/e Qld we had just super chlorinated the pool so you would need to give it awhile to dissolve .the front door to the room has just had a new dust weather seal installed two days ago but still closes just fine . there was a little spilt water between the fridge and bathroom sink that the cleaner had done when emptying the water tray in the fridge due to high humidity (60 and 90% )and defrosting the fridge you were offered a 50% refund as you checked in just after 1 pm and checked out just after 4 pm a little bit more then 45 mins . i hope you found somewhere that better meet your high standards . please be mindful in future not to expect a champagne service on a beer budget we are a budget motel and are priced accordingly . have a nice day
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 58 - USD 70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandFraser CoastMaryborough
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Arkana Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Arkana Motel?
Nearby attractions include Brennan and Geraghty's Store Museum (0.6 km), Mary Poppins Statue (1.0 km), and Duncan Chapman Statue (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Arkana Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and a business centre.
Which room amenities are available at Arkana Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Arkana Motel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Arkana Motel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Arkana Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alowishus Delicious, French Hot Bread, and Maryborough RSL.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Arkana Motel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Arkana Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Maryborough.
Are any cleaning services offered at Arkana Motel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Arkana Motel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Arkana Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mary Ann Steam Locomotive (1.6 km), Story Bank (1.3 km), and Maryborough City Hall (1.0 km).