We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

1770 Southern Cross Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
1770 Southern Cross Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 268: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Hostels runs on rain water, so there are no laundry facilities. No locks on the dorm room doors and reception is open for only a couple of hours at a time, so if you leave anything in their safes or luggage room you're screwed if they're not open. Staff members are also quick to blow and throw expletives round like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oalaw72
Lisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Strange Response??? Well I guess you would think this place seems a little strange if you come from a country where it rains constantly and water just miraculously appears out of a tap and you live in a world totally unlike the world we live in! We like to think that we are blessed to live in a little piece...

Glasgow
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

The venue it's self is good. But we came across not so nice staff, especially the curly headed guy from England. As he mocked where we were from and speaking in a cheeky manner. The rooms are good, pool area is ideal. Kitchen needs updated as the most of the cooker didn't work. Didn't do the scooteroos but that looked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robertyrfc
Lisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review as it gives me the chance to apologize to you for the staff member who seemed rude to you on reception. Unfortunately, his sense of humor has been taken as being rude and we have advised him to work of his PR skills. Sometimes our foreign workers, try to copy our Aussie Humour but no...

Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

The staff are kind. You get free shuttles to the "city" and tons of free stuff to do while you're around. Dennis, one of the staff members, cooks a 5 dollars dinner everyday which is awesome! The room could have been a little cleaner and the location is not the best. But if you want to lay back thats the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elad A
Lisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for review ! Sounds like you had a really nice time during your stay here. We are always working on trying to keep the rooms clean but unfortunately some of our guests are not the cleanest and we cannot be on their case 24/7. Our location is always a mixed bag, as some people just want to be...

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights in a mixed bed dorm. The room was nice, bed was comfortable. It's a little out of town but there's a shuttle bus that runs all day early till late. Staff were friendly beer was cheap an common room was really nice with a good vibe, sofas, table tennis an pool table. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank steven j
Phuket, Thailand
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Me and a friend stayed at Southern Cross for four nights in total. The place was very well looked after by the owners. Our shared dorm room was clean of a suitable size for the amount of beds. Kitchen again well looked after and able to accommodate a large amount of people cooking / preparing at once. Free bus shuttle...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samk_123456
Fondi
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights in a six beds room. The rooms and facilities are clean and the hostel usually is quiet. It's located outside of town but if you don't have a car they have a free bus shuttle.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FrancescaMassi
Lisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments. I think you had have had the chance to stay a bit longer we would have a better title. We have such a huge amount of space here, its impossible to take it all in, in one day. Enjoy your travels. Cheers !

Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Been at the hostel for 3 days. Loved the fact that it's a big property that's surrounded by nature. It's so peacefull! Was a bit cold when we arrived but they gave us blankets to keep us warm at night. We did the Scooteroo tour the second day, it was awsome. We saw a lot of walabies and kangaroos and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joyce D
Lisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for highly recommending our Hostel. It makes my heart sing when I have people like you here who have so much appreciation of what we have created. Glad that you enjoyed the Scooteroo Tour as well. It has been a great addition to the hostel. Cheers!

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Really beautiful peaceful place, setting perfect place to relax after long bus journey down from Airlie beach! Free shuttle bus into town is great, free tea and coffee and toast of a morning, owners are lovely and have a real passion for their property and the town of Agnes Waters. I enjoyed a few wines with Lisa of an evening...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fubb12
Lisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad that you got the true feel of the place during your stay and comments like yours make us so proud of what we have created here. You are always welcome back anytime.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Obviously the place has been thought and every bit was created with love. It is an amazing piece of land, well cared and the staff super friendly. I did the scooteroo and it was tons of fun. During my last night we did a bin fire. The only things I would criticize are the matresses (but I was told that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sonia H
Lisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Changing mattresses is an on going process in a hostel as you can imagine with 70 of them but we try our best to stay on top of things. I'm afraid the Wifi does not work in the rooms which is why you would have had trouble with it. Im...

Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

We were collected in a shuttle from the Greyhound stop and arrived during a downfall, making it feel like a tropical spot. It's secluded, with palm trees and a Buddhist influence with statues and shrines. The main area is large, clean and friendly and the kitchen is passable. We stayed in 'France', one of the double ensuite rooms. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
Lisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice review and so glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our Deluxe Doubles. My husband and I did a lot of traveling around Thailand, so when we built the hostel we added a Thai influence, which helps to create the beautiful vibe here at the hostel. Sorry about the little black ants, but they sometimes...

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agnes Water
3.6 km away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
179 reviews
2.8 km away
Backpackers at 1770
Backpackers at 1770
#1 of 18 in Agnes Water
126 reviews
3.2 km away
Cool Bananas Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Beachside Backpacker 1770
Beachside Backpacker 1770
#13 of 18 in Agnes Water
84 reviews
3.3 km away
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
#3 of 18 in Agnes Water
293 reviews
3.0 km away
Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come and experience for yourself, a resort style hostel with a Club Med feel! Get comfy in our large 4-6 share ensuite dorms that wont break your budget, or pamper yourself in our private deluxe double rooms or Family room with ensuite, TV, DVD & fridge. Dorms & doubles with shared facilities also available. Huge common area with Digital TV, Ping pong, Fuseball, Pool table and cozy fireplace for the Winter. We have a swimming pool with elephant fountains perfect for cooling off after a hot day at the beach. Hammocks to chill out with a good book and lots of under-cover areas to get out of the sun or rain. The resort is set on 15 acres of land with a pretty little lake that has a jetty a free paddle boat, horses grazing in the paddocks and loads of tropical gardens to stroll through, perfect for nature lovers. Lots of areas for a bit of meditation or yoga as the sun is rising or setting or a game of football, volley ball or cricket. During your stay why not treat yourself to a relaxing massage or beauty treatment in our "Healing Hut". (extra special prices for our guests)Our on site bar "Karma bar" with super cheap drinks and beer garden surrounds the pool area and is perfect for the afternoon drink to quench your thirst after you arrive home from any of the amazing tours Agnes / 1770 has to offer. Free Breakfast Free Tea & Coffee all day every day!Free Motel Quality Linen.Free DVD hire.Free Courtesy Shuttle to beach + shops (3 minute drive)Free pickup for the Greyhound bus service* FREE 24 hour WIFI, and a cinema room. We believe that we have something pretty special here at Southern Cross and we want to share it with YOU! Our Motto LIVE IN THE DREAM! Get up to date with life at the hostel on our Facebook page Southern Cross Backpackers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers

Address: 2694 Round Hill Rd, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia (Formerly 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Agnes Water
Price Range: $21 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1770 Southern Cross Backpackers Agnes Water, Queensland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Private doubles are quiet and reasonably priced.”
 of 5 bubbles sadiethecleaninglady, 17 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay at this hostel”
 of 5 bubbles WeeeeBa, 1 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Free wifi in bar area. I stayed in the Austria room, it was quiet and I had a very comfy nights sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles Annon1800, 5 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Doubles have a nice patio!!! Also at some of the cabins have a barbecue/bonfire place!”
 of 5 bubbles U6590GJgeorgeb, 19 Jan 2015 | Read review
“further from the main barn will be quieter although i was closest and didn't get disturbed”
 of 5 bubbles B4840NQnickc, 16 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay