We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (13)
Pool & Beach (1)
Overview
235 Squally Rd GPS sends to impassable road - directions provided, Robbinsville, NC 28771-0087 See on map
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Room Service
Kitchenette
2.5 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
7
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
7
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

This is a must stay. We love staying in the mountains. This is a lil b-n-b deep in the woods down a long dirt road. The directions are not as intimidating as they looked. Great owners who live in the next building over. I'd advise...More

1  Thank Matthew N
Response from Alice L, Owner at The Owl's PerchResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you Matthew and Katie for taking the time to write such nice words. As you stated, if you follow our directions, there are no problems and we enjoyed sharing our backwoods with you. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, saw a few sights and...More

Reviewed 28 May 2018

A beautiful spot by the creek. Clean well appointed room. It takes a while to get to along a gravel track just off the Cherohala Skyway so you'll need an SUV. The cabin adjoins the owner's house and is accessed via their sideway, as such...More

Thank RobertCDSampson
Response from Alice L, Owner at The Owl's PerchResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you appreciated the beauty of our property. We fully disclose we are off the beaten path in the backwoods on an old gravel logging road in a rural setting. We also disclose and...More

Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed only one night and it was phenomenal. Rustic, clean, cozy, unique! Really “off the beaten track”. Doug and Alice were friendly! Breakfast was very good.If we’re ever in the area we would stay again.More

Thank Annegravelle
Response from Alice L, Owner at The Owl's PerchResponded 15 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review Anne! We love sharing our little place and am glad you made the adventure off the beaten path to come see why we moved here. Please come back - we'd love...More

Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

I came here for some relaxation, peace and quiet and it did NOT disappoint. I’m gonna have to come back when I’m in more of an exploration mood too; it’d definitely cater to that as well. I had plenty of privacy and the little cabin...More

Thank KateJo78
Response from Alice L, Owner at The Owl's PerchResponded 28 March 2018

Thanks for the wonderful review Kate! We enjoyed visiting with you and happy you chose us enroute to your destination. We'd love to have you back and share more of the backwoods with you!

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Visited back in September for only 2 nights, but wish we had stayed longer. Set in the smoky mountains miles away from anything, stunning views, so peaceful & relaxing. The attention to detail in the cabin is amazing with, everything has been made with care...More

Thank popsy_23a
Response from Alice L, Owner at The Owl's PerchResponded 28 October 2016

Thanks so much for your kind words. It's nice to know you appreciated Doug's hard work in building the bunkhouse! It's been fun hosting our international friends and sharing our area with you!

View more reviews
About
Description
Experience the backwoods in this uniquely decorated remote 200 sq. ft. one room rustic bunkhouse with private deck overlooking Squally Creek nestled in the treetops of Nantahala National Forest. Two rates - More with or without breakfast. Off the beaten path on remote gravel roads (5" clearance needed but not 4 wheel drive). No cruiser motorcycles. DON'T USE GPS-directions provided. Ideal for couples to escape away to our Appalachian "Eden" by the creek. Near Tail of the Dragon/Deals Gap, Cherohala Skyway, Joyce Kilmer, Stecoah Gap's bird-watching trail, trout fishing, ATV trails, rafting, etc. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Room Service
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Breakfast Available
Refrigerator in room
Breakfast included
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
1
Price range
USD 94 - USD 108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
1
Price range
USD 94 - USD 108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Photos
Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (13)
Pool & Beach (1)
Location
Full view
Contact
235 Squally Rd GPS sends to impassable road - directions provided, Robbinsville, NC 28771-0087
Getting there
Mc Ghee Tyson Airport58 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Owl's Perch staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing