We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Show Prices
#16 of 82 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,035 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,028: English reviews
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Family member being honored by University. Hilton Diamond members because of our extensive travel. Hotel FILTHY. Room appears to never have been vacuumed and bathroom was dirty with moldy and missing caulking. Lampshades dust laden. Checked mattresses for bedbugs-thankful none but surprising due to the room condition. Mattress protector had blood drops on it. We arrived at 2am after a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lcbluize
Calvin P, On behalf of the hotel staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel as your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give...

Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Great time in Raleigh per usual. The hotel was in a great spot close to campus and while it was a little dated it was still a great place to stay especially for the price. I will stay here again when we go back to Raleigh for polo and partying.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sebastiane62
Bill W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review

sebastiane62, Thanks for the review and glad to hear you'll be back when visiting Raleigh. Bill

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 19 September 2016

I have stayed here many times for business in town. Room is always clean and comfortable; staff is nice and helpful. The breakfast buffet looked great this week but did not have time to try it. I will continue staying here.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank triallawyer
Bill W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review

triallawyer, Love a loyal customer!! Thanks for the review and keep coming back. Thanks Bill

Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Very poor internet at this hotel if that's important to you consider stay somewhere else! Talked with the staff with no result. I was told my new Mac was the issue and could not connect yet I have both systems neither worked.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jasonrV217YV
Bill W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review

jasojnV217Y I apologize for your frustration regarding the internet. We just had the building rewired last week with new cable and the system should be upgraded shortly. Thanks Bill

Matthews, North Carolina
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel is old. They've updated it on the inside, yet the odor and mildew/mold smell is present. The only food lunch/dinner is at the lobby bar. There is a breakfast restaurant. The staff is obviously not excited to be here. They're attitudes and looks say it all. The headboard is filthy. The dust ruffle was filthy. The chair was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MonaBreez
Calvin P, On behalf of the hotel staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel as your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give...

Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewed 17 September 2016

College trip to NCSU so the location couldn't be beat. The Staff were great. The Harvest Grille buffet style breakfast was wonderful. The price was inline w/ most breakfast buffets. Wonderful stay. We're already booked a room for our return visit next month.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank daronw781
Bill W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review

daronw781, Location can't be beat and great staff, love it! Look forward to your return visit. Thanks for the review. Bill

Boone, North Carolina
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Ants everywhere. They were crawling all over the bathtub, floor, and sink. When we told the front desk they said it was that time of year and that they have them in their house. Not my problem. I was afraid they were going to get in my bags. Be sure to take bug spray if you go here

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 693apriln
Calvin P, On behalf of the hotel staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review

We apologize for the very unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. Our guests’ health and safety is very important to us and is always a focal point of our property operations. We appreciate that you brought this to our attention, and are working to make sure the problem is addressed. Please feel free to contact us directly so...

boston, ma, usa
Reviewed 14 September 2016

clean hotel, decent rooms, reasonable price, clean & safe area, easy walk to stores, restaurants. helpful staff, easy parking, free breakfast with package. nice mid-range accommodations. convenient to local colleges. no complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Perspectech
Bill W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review

Perspectech, That is a nice list that says a lot about our hotel. Thanks and safe travels. Bill

Reviewed 14 September 2016

I was at a wedding here and the customer service provided to us by Cynthia Taylor was beyond outstanding. She made sure that all the guest were happy and had a smile that was contagious, She represented Hilton with pride. Thank you Cynthia for reminding me what good customer service is all about. Elise S.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roberta B
Bill W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review

Roberta B., First, Cynthia is awesome, you have a great eye for talent. As, I have mentioned many times we just love taking care of our wedding parties on that special day. Thanks for the Excellent review. Bill

Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

I haven't stayed at this hotel in years and was pleasantly surprised that it still looks great and continues to have excellent service. Checked in and got a warm fresh cookie. My room was clean , the bedding was super comfy and the decor was modern and well kept. I made reservations very early on the morning of my stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi W
Bill W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review

Bobbi W., Thanks for making it back to the hotel for another visit. Great review. I love being the "got to hotel spot when I return to Raleigh" Awesome. Bill

230 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (102)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
King Executive (20)
Viewed
King Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)
Viewed
Two Queen Room (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.4 km away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#27 of 82 in Raleigh
117 reviews
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
5.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
2.1 km away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#45 of 82 in Raleigh
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the newly remodeled Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh - Brownstone University. Whether you are visiting for business at North Carolina State University (2 blocks), the Research Triangle Park(8 miles), the new Raleigh Convention Center and Downtown Business District(1.5 miles), or you're here for a leisurely stay to attend an event at the RBC Center, Time Warner Pavilion at Walnut Creek, Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts, State Fairgrounds, or a visit to one of our three museums in downtown Raleigh (Art, Science, History), we can offer you the best balance of location, convenience, and value. With features like a new, modern spacious lobby, brand new guestrooms for 2012, a new restaurant and bar and all new fitness center by Precor along with an expanded business center,we have everything you need to insure a pleasant and productive stay. Best of all, you can walk to more than 20 different restaurants and nearly 100 shops at Cameron Village(a historic, upscale, outdoor walking mall), ride the train, paddleboats or play on the playground at the all new Pullen Park or take advantage of all the businesses and restaurants on Hillsborough Street across from NC State University's campus-each of these is less than .5 miles from the hotel. Come see why Raleigh was again listed as 'One of the best cities to live and work in' by Forbes Magazine in 2012 and why the all new Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh Brownstone University is the best place to stay to be in the center of it all; and please don't forget that parking and internet are always free! ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Address: 1707 Hillsborough Street, Raleigh, NC 27605
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Price Range: $180 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Raleigh Brownstone - University Hotel Raleigh
Holiday Inn Brownstone
Holiday Inn Raleigh
Raleigh Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#17 Family Hotel in Raleigh
#22 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in room 517 and we had no issues and the Hotel was FULL”
 of 5 bubbles 69albert2014, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid first and second floors!”
 of 5 bubbles AnnG145, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are quieter. It's a great hotel. Very pleased.”
 of 5 bubbles JeanH30, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to request a room away from the parking lot. The noise wasn't bad, but it was enough that we noticed it.”
 of 5 bubbles MaryB604, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Top 3 floors are reserved for Hilton Honors members”
 of 5 bubbles GreyPod, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay