We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Blackbeard's Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Blackbeard\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Blackbeard's Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 170: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

At the end of May, our family decided to take a mini-vacation on Ocracoke June 26 until June 29, 2013. We started looking on the internet for places to stay. My Mom had just passed away suddenly so we were looking for a relaxing place to take a break from the stress and grief. We had visited Ocracoke on our... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank JayceeDeecee
Chesapeake, Va
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Blackbeard's Lodge. With two small dogs we now vacation with, finding a pet friendly place is really important. The place is old but full of coastal island charm. The rooms are small, clean, simple and basic and filled with amenities such as small fridge & coffee pot, a nice sized dresser and spacious closet.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MIMIZ H
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

We LOVE staying at Blackbeard's! Always clean and the rooms are really cute and homey. The owners make us feel like family! We always tell our friends and family to stay here when on the island. We will definitely be back!

Helpful?
Thank pinbuster03
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We spent two nights here, and it was with trepidation that I entered, as when we pulled up, from the outside the place looked slightly run-down. However, I was so wrong - it is a lovely place, in a good convenient location full of character and so unique. The atmosphere and ambience were great, with large public areas, full of... More 

Helpful?
Thank SwindonMoomin
Raleigh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Spent an unexpected night on ocracoke and remembered a friend who runs another motel on the island (which does not allow pets, sadly) had told me about this place. room was small but very clean. had a queen bed and then a closet size bedroom with bunk beds for the kids. other than the game room (which the kids enjoyed)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We had another great stay at Blackbeard's. Our room was wonderful and the maids kept everything clean throughout our stay. We never even saw them. Chip and Casey were both very helpful. If you're looking for a nice place to stay while on Ocracoke Island, Blackbeard's is the place. Don't come looking for the Hilton. It's a quaint little motel... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick B
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We went through all of the negative reviews before we decided to stay here. They all made us a little nervous. However, most of the hotels were booked up so we gave it a chance. It is NOT overly priced.. AT ALL!!!!! The beds are definitely comfortable. We had an apartment- 2 adults and 2 kids. Sure.. it wasn't huge..... More 

Helpful?
Thank jessica m
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I will be making my 4th visit to Ocracoke in as many years next week, and I've stayed at Blackbeard's each time. Need I say more? My last visit was in May 2012. I am returning with my best friend of 45+ years and look forward to a relaxing week on the island for her first visit to North Carolina.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy P
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed here for two nights in September 2012 and it was just "okay" in my book. I thought the price was very expensive especially for low season. The place is run down and needs some serious renovations. The mattresses were horrible....felt like I was sleeping in a hole. It is a good location and walking distance to several restaurants and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SurfriderSC
BBLodge, Manager at Blackbeard's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. The beds in the apartment you stayed in are memory foam mattresses. We apologize for any discomfort you experienced while staying with us. We continue to work on upgrades to this historical hotel. Sincerely, Management More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed in the Manager's Apt. The service was exceptional for any need that we had. The staff is courteous and friendly. The maid service was outstanding. All of our linens, towels, beds, were super clean,fresh, new and comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised that they furnished dish towels, dish detergent; and we had a dishwasher with dishwasher detergent supplied. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zahava R

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
28.4 km away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 12 in Hatteras Island
128 reviews
28.3 km away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 6 in Hatteras Island
2 reviews
29.0 km away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ocracoke's most historic hotel offers 38 affordable rooms, suites & apts. with kitchens. Game room, grills, pool, bikes, golf carts and Wi-Fi. Pet Friendly Rooms available. B&B atmosphere with hotel privacy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blackbeard's Lodge

Address: 111 Back Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Blackbeard`s Hotel Ocracoke
Blackbeards Hotel Ocracoke
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blackbeard's Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
over a year ago
Greenville, North Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Blackbeard's Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Loved the Wahab Suite on the third floor. Large deck and spacious living quarters. Can exit the room without going through the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Maresnest19, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had two rooms with an adjoining bathroom. One had a King and the other a Queen. Both clean, warm and cozy.”
 of 5 bubbles Olivekat, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in Williams Suite and perfect to sleep and relax”
 of 5 bubbles LAVERNEO_12, 3 May 2016 | Read review
“there is not a good room”
 of 5 bubbles wandacc98, 6 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Rent the large suite off of the front porch with the kitchen net. It's the only way to go. It's worth the additional cost.”
 of 5 bubbles Thumper747, 29 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5