We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colonial Inn

327 reviews
Save
Traveller (138)
Room & Suite (159)
Pool & Beach (56)
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good30%
  • Average16%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“fishing pier”(27 reviews)
“the outer banks”(28 reviews)
“late at night”(4 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Kitchenette
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (327)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Colonial Inn
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
99
99
52
38
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
99
99
52
38
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishing pierthe outer bankslate at nightthe staff was extremely friendlyocean frontmorning coffeerooms were cleanfull kitchenoceanfront rooman older hotelpinkybeachrenovationsduneobxdeckmicrowave
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
91 - 95 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2015

You're right on the beach, and next to the pier which has a restaurant. There is a pool and the staff were genuinely nice. Buuut..... there was a smell in the rooms, holes in the walls, everything was dated and there was garbage under the...More

Thank GMFer
Response from Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial InnResponded 30 December 2015

I appreciate your honest feedback. We are working dilengently this off season to fix items such as the ones you have mentioned for next season. Off season is the easiest time to do this. Trash left in the room is unacceptable and I do apologize....More

Reviewed 16 September 2015

The photo looked better then the room. We were suppose to have a fully equipped kitchen-NOT-no forks and only one coffee mug. The bathroom definitely needed a face lift. They need to put what they charged us per day back into the room. The staff...More

3  Thank akariley
Response from Cai P, General Manager at Colonial InnResponded 21 September 2015

I appreciate the kind words regarding the staff. I am certainly blessed with a great team. I will immediately check on the kitchen inventory as there is no excuse for this and I do apologize. We work each year to upgrade the rooms while maintaining...More

Reviewed 12 September 2015

Colonial Inn is wonderful! Location, location, location! It's beside the Nags Head Fishing Pier which is great for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. The beach has an excellent sandbar and Lucky 12, a great restaurant, is right across the street. I read reviews where people complained...More

1  Thank Michele Y
Response from Cai P, Guest Relations Manager at Colonial InnResponded 22 October 2015

Hi Michele! First of all, I would like to personally thank you for staying with us over the years. I sincerely appreciate that you took the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. Your kind words, honest and positive feedback means a lot to...More

Reviewed 11 September 2015

We were skeptical after reading some reviews about staying here. We were pleasantly surprised :) The room was clean and the bed was comfortable It.is an older place and would benefit greatly from some fresh paint. The location is great; right on the beach. We...More

Thank traveling680
Response from Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial InnResponded 31 December 2015

Thank you for your review. I appreciate the kind words. We are blessed with an owner that does pick multiple capital improvement projects each off season to improve this property. We will be doing painting this off season. We hope you are able to return...More

Reviewed 9 September 2015

Its Perfect for family vacation, I enjoyed my stay for 3 nights. This is very near to beach and i have 1 bed room apartment. Rooms are clean, bathroom and hot water is good. Nice Hospitality. Kids like Swimming pool.

Thank Pavan V
Response from Cai P, Guest Relations Manager at Colonial InnResponded 22 October 2015

Hi Pavan! Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. I sincerely appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. I am very happy to know that the kids enjoyed the swimming pool. We hope to see you again soon!

View more reviews
PreviousNext
1171819202165
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Beachfront
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
USD 75 - USD 235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 75 - USD 235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (138)
Room & Suite (159)
Pool & Beach (56)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sarah W
15 March 2016|
Answer
Response from Kathy R | Reviewed this property |
No, it's an outdoor pool that will probably open in early May. You have availability to the YMCA which is close by. The Colonial provides free access to its guests to the Y.
1
Vote
PreviousNext
1234
Room Tips
"I would look for ocean side room."
Read review
"Choose second floor if you have no handicap issues (first floor and road side is noisy)"
Read review
"Be clear how many people will be staying and if more than two adults select an apartment room. If lots of..."
Read review
"Oceanfront rooms are the best."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing