We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

437 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn On The Ocean
See the most recent reviews
Showing 429: English reviews
Ninety Six, South Carolina
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is on the ocean. A little pricy at $200 plus. We were willing to pay since only one nite. Adequate at best. We have 1st floor. No view since sand dunes are right there. Room was hard lived in by those before us. Has door to ocean in your room but can't access with key to re-enter. Wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. Guest comfort and satisfaction are our number one goals and we are sorry that we did not meet this with you. We also apologize that you did not enjoy your time with us. While our rooms on the first floor do not have a view due to...

Herndon, Virginia
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is our first time here, and we loved it. Cyera took great care of us when we checked in. She was friendly, attentive, and very helpful. Our room was a terrific, ocean view room. The room was clean and well appointed. The bathroom was one of the cleanest I've ever seen. The beach access was convenient, and best of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan L
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing with us about your experience at our hotel. We are happy to know that you not only enjoyed your first visit to The Outer Banks, but also your stay with us. I would have to agree that Cyerra is a pure joy to work with and are glad she was able to get you settled and...

Toledo, Ohio
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My family and I have stayed here two years in a row and have enjoyed our stay here very much. The big pluses: -The prices are very reasonable for ocean view rooms. Other hotels in the area will charge much higher rates for the same kind of room so very nice. -The rooms very very clean and were restocked each...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rebeccagg_13
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are happy to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your second stay with us. We feel that having repeat guests are one of the most important keys to our success and we appreciate your business. We do apologize that you got paint on you from our maintenance guys painting the...

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was in a great location and the front desk were nice. Took a little bit to get checked in but we were offered a better room for the same price so that was good. The room was ok. For what we paid, it could have been in a little better shape. The bathroom needed some work-toilet seat was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lance A
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We strive for every guest to feel comfortable and enjoy their stay. We are glad that, overall, you enjoyed your visit with us. The concerns you had regarding the bathroom have been corrected. Thank you for letting us know. We also agree with you about the view.....it...

Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 July 2014

For the price (about half of the other ocean view king rooms) it was great! The pluses: the price was great, the breakfast was very good and the gentleman taking care of it was all over it, the view was very nice, the section of beach was not too crowded, the staff was very pleasant and the place is exceptionally...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BaldnRed
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We agree with you about the great view. You can't get much closer to the sunrise and the photo opportunities are outstanding. We also are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast. We like to think that it is the...

north carolina
Reviewed 22 July 2014

For the amount I paid to stay in this hotel (yes, peak-season- but still) I was extremely disappointed. Nothing 3 stars about this place. Very outdated. My room smelled like body odor. Two of the lamps didn't work. Coffee maker didn't work. Hair all over the bathroom. Found a baby's bottle of milk in my fridge. The whole experience was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kalebk
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We apologize that you did not enjoy your time with us and for the difficulties you experienced. The goal of our entire staff is to ensure that our guests are happy, comfortable, and enjoy their time with us. The condition you described is definitely not a normal...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed recently with a group - 10 rooms, 19 people and we had excellent service. No problems with room types and everyone was happy! Food in the lobby was excellent, loved the pool and the beach was only steps away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank busybea9
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to make sure that every guest is happy and has a great stay with us. We are happy to hear that we met the goal with you. We hope to see you on your next visit to The Outer Banks!...

Midwest
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Nice beachfront hotel. Room with oceanfront view and balcony. Only downside was windows were not washed - covered in salt brine from the ocean. Stayed there two nights... second day got a hand towel soaked in water and cleaned windows myself. WOW. Great view! LOL. There is some remodeling going on - getting to room requires stairs to get to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Travel2Much_2008
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know. Although we are embarrassed that your windows were not clean for you, we are glad that you thought the view spectacular. It will be hard for you to get closer to the sunrise without being in a boat....

Nashville
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Honestly, this hotel was not THAT bad. The hotel itself was sort of dated, packed, and busy. It was two separate buildings, which was weird. But I expect that's what most beachfront hotels are like. There were lots of families staying there, but no one was really annoying or rude. Having the beach super accessible (right out the back door)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tennissinger12
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It is true that our location on the beach is perfect. We are sorry to hear that Arthur put a damper on your plans and hope that you do decide to join us again on...

Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We started on the 4th floor in a very dingy and dated room. I could see outside from under the balcony door. When we discovered that our cable didn't work we were offered a different room. The staff at the front desk was absolutely awesome. Every time we went through the lobby, they were always very pleasant and seemed genuinely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amber B
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thanks you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We apologize for the difficulty you had with your original room. We are glad however that it was quickly resolved. Providing great customer service is something all of our staff strives for and I'm glad that their goal was met with you. We do hope that you...

169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.1 km away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,318 reviews
4.3 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
770 reviews
1.9 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
11.5 km away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
31.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Address: 1601 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7754
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $78 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn On The Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Clarion On The Ocean
Clarion Kill Devil Hills
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Kill Devil Hills, NC - Outer Banks
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Comfort Inn On The Ocean staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Comfort Inn On The Ocean staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lower floor is "dune" view. The dunes seem to be the area folks let their pets "go". Noisy toddlers/families.”
 of 5 bubbles 50gretchenp, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“get an ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles sawdust444, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“there are better choices”
 of 5 bubbles patrickmJ3736ZY, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The Ocean front rooms have great sunrise views!”
 of 5 bubbles 586rayl, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go for ocean view room”
 of 5 bubbles 245amerd, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5