We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Super 8 Durham/University Area NC

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Super 8 Durham\/University Area NC
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Durham/University Area NC
See the most recent reviews
Showing 105: English reviews
Franklin, North Carolina
Reviewed 25 October 2015

This Super 8 was very accommodating and everyone was very friendly. Room was clean. They came to the room immediately to handle a problem with the TV. They are renovating so that will improve the overall appearance. Breakfast was not equal to many motels we have stayed in and lacking in a very good assortment of items including a sugar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
UNCFanatic, General Manager at Super 8 Durham/University Area NC, responded to this review

Nancy, I'd like to start off by saying thank you for leaving us a line or two on your most recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with our customer service. At Super 8 Durham we strive to provide the best customer service possible to compliment our clean and comfortable rooms. We are trying...

Decatur, Georgia
Reviewed 5 October 2015

this was one of the places i put on the never to return to list run was not clean bugs ect i took photos of my run and the old and broken unclean things in the hotelroom to look like it did i would have think it was going for $10 a night not the deal it was ran for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank san2niot
UNCFanatic, General Manager at Super 8 Durham/University Area NC, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest, I apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay with us here at Super 8 Durham. Please know that we did our very best in rectifying the issues you outlined to us in your review. Since you left your comments I have personally been working with my housekeeping staff every day to ensure that we are...

Durham NC
Reviewed 23 September 2015

The front desk staff is very polite and very quick to attempt to solve any problems. There's not people hanging out, which I appreciate. This is the only place I would stay in Durham NC. It's reasonably priced but not a trashy motel. The only complaint I have is that they cud offer a better breakfast, add sum waffles and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hopem267
UNCFanatic, General Manager at Super 8 Durham/University Area NC, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, We are pleased to hear that you left our hotel satisfied. It is an honor to hear that you chose to stay at our location any time you're in the Durham area. We strive to provide the upmost and professional customer service in the industry. We also train our housekeepers to have an eye like a hawk...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 25 August 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaroslawr524
UNCFanatic, General Manager at Super 8 Durham/University Area NC, responded to this review

Severn
Reviewed 31 July 2015

This hotel was cheap - and there is a reason why. This was probably the worst Super 8 hotel that I have ever stayed in. The TV didn't work (found out the next day they were installing cable - they could have told me that when we checked in), the handles were hanging off of the night stand (a simple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam F
UNCFanatic, General Manager at Super 8 Durham/University Area NC, responded to this review

Pam, We would like to apologize for the inconveniences that occurred during you last stay. You are absolutely right in the fact that we should have mentioned at check in about our cable services being changed. This is a learning lesson for myself and my team and we would like to thank you for your business and we hope you...

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewed 11 July 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Starr S
UNCFanatic, General Manager at Super 8 Durham/University Area NC, responded to this review

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 8 July 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidmW8968NY
UNCFanatic, General Manager at Super 8 Durham/University Area NC, responded to this review

Chicago, Il Area
Reviewed 23 June 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William R Gary W
UNCFanatic, General Manager at Super 8 Durham/University Area NC, responded to this review

Chapel Hill
Reviewed 20 May 2015

Melissa at the front desk was very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ericplow1
UNCFanatic, General Manager at Super 8 Durham/University Area NC, responded to this review

Eric, Thank you for the kind words on your most recent stay. We are glad to hear that you found our hotel to be the "most bang for your buck". Our job is to provide excellent service and a clean and comfortable room without breaking our pockets. As a General Manager I love nothing more to hear that one of...

Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Reviewed 18 May 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M7959XKjohnk
UNCFanatic, General Manager at Super 8 Durham/University Area NC, responded to this review

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 km away
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center
1.2 km away
Comfort Inn Medical Park
Comfort Inn Medical Park
#40 of 72 in Durham
40 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park
1.4 km away
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
2.3 km away
Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Super 8 Durham/University Area NC

Address: 2337 Guess Rd, I-85 Exit #175, Durham, NC 27705-3342
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Price Range: $64 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Durham/University Area NC 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Durham/University Area NC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Durham
Super Eight Durham
Durham Super Eight
Durham Super 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Durham/University Area NC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Yes, flat screen TV and Wifi, but neither of them worked.”
 of 5 bubbles 426brucem, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for directions to another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Flash_McDirt, 7 May 2013 | Read review
“Simple! Don't stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles 724ashleys, 17 Apr 2013 | Read review
“Don't stay here!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles srswann, 26 Nov 2012 | Read review
“Like to sleep under the stars? Ask for room 115. When you turn out the lights at the end of the night, YOU ARE IN FOR A SURPRISE.”
 of 5 bubbles 686RobertC, 22 Jul 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay