We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham

Show Prices
#36 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park \/ Durham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 159: English reviews
Start your review of Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Everything and everyone was so nice. I will stay again. The room I stayed in was remodeled and I really enjoyed the new rooms. I'm glad they did away with carpet and put wood floors. My stay was wondering and everyone at the desk. Thanks so much

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronbrooke H
Darren S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear you were able to experience one of our rooms with the new ELVT flooring (vs. carpet). The new furniture & flooring is only Phase I and much more to come in both the rooms, hallways & Public Guest Areas! We appreciate you taking time to let us know a bout your stay! Thank you,...

Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I didn't know what to expect, but I was VERY pleasantly surprised. Even though the hotel was going through renovations, it was not an issue at all. The staff was wonderful.....very friendly and accommodated every request I had. Room was super clean. I had one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. I like it so much in fact,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WayWardDeputy
Darren S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review

We are indeed going through a full renovation and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! The team is working hard to make this renovation as smooth as possible to our valued guests so extremely happy to hear "we" delivered and gave you "one of the best hotel experiences you've ever had". We appreciate your great feedback...

Garner, North Carolina
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Booked a 6 night stay, and not once did I see any housekeeping. I thought I would at least get something...I had to chase down towels and hunt down someone to tell me what to do with my trash. The internet here is HORRIBLE!!! If you plan on staying here for business- DON'T- go somewhere else. You will not get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephis545
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review

Dear stephis545, Thank you for staying at the hotel and for taking the time to post your review. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the level of service and poor WIFI connection. Housekeeping services in our hotel is available once every seven days...

Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in March 2017. The room was clean and comfortable. The kitchen appliances and cabinets were dated. The room otherwise showed some signs of age. Like all candlewood suites there is no breakfast of any type available on site, but there are restaurants nearby. The bed was brand-new and quite comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BSchug
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review

Dear BSchug, Thank you for your candid review and for staying with us. It is lovely to hear you found the rooms clean and the beds comfortable. However, it is regrettable you found the kitchen appliances and cabinets dated. Please be assured that your comments have been forwarded to the proper department to ensure these issues are internally address. Again,...

LA
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

We had reserved a room for 7 nights but left after one. The room smelled and there were no rooms with new carpet to take care of the problem. Other wise the hotel was ok. They don't provide breakfast or shampoo.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fehlow
Darren S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review

I apologize if you felt your room had an odor and we would have been happy to relocate you to another room. We do provide shampoo/conditioner combo however; if it was not in your room at check in we would have gladly delivered it to your personally. Candlewood as brand does not offer a Complimentary breakfast but we do offer...

Florida
Reviewed 8 February 2017

The staff and the service is one of the great things about the Candlewood Suites. I travel often and I have stayed here before. The rooms are clean and the staff is great. They are always helpful. There is even a van to shuttle guests to their work, to go shopping, or out to dinner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tarheeldude
Darren S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review

Thank you for your very nice comment(s) on your stay and we greatly appreciate your feedback! Best Regards, Darren S Area General Manager

Marshall, Texas
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Couldn't have asked for a better place. I stayed here for two weeks during orientation at my job and it was great. Everything was clean, housekeeping even washed my dishes for me! Laundry facilities were free. Everything was just unbelievably clean and quiet here. The staff was great and even offered to move me (even though I didn't ask) so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naomi P
Darren S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review

We are very happy to hear we were able to make your 2 week stay with us so comfortable. Our housekeeping team works hard and they certainly appreciate the great feedback. Thank you, Darren S Area General Manager

Reviewed 11 January 2017

The rooms were okay, but I wouldn't stay here if I was with my family. There seemed to be many people living here and hanging out in the common areas. Lots of smoke to walk through, and the smells...Why does EVERY hotel with a kitchenette always have the one person who thinks cooking fish is a good idea?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhyne A
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review

Dear Rhyne A, Our goal is to deliver exceptional service and comfortable accommodations, and we appreciate your sharing your comments about your stay with us. We sincerely regret for any discomfort the smoke in the common areas and the odor of cooked fish may have caused you. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued guests like you,...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Stayed at this location for four nights while in the Durham area. Hotel was kept very clean, room was in very cozy beds (we found out at the front desk that the beds are new), kitchenette was perfect as we were able to bring some things back to the room and put in the fridge. Staff is extremely friendly! Not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenndix0n7117
Darren S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review

We appreciate your wonderful review of our property and team! We certainly look forward to your return to see our newly renovated rooms which should should be complete before year end. Best Regards, Darren S Area General Manager

San Jose, California
Reviewed 16 November 2016

I have been traveling constantly and really wanted a home feel, so I chose to stay here for a few nights instead of a regular hotel. I was a little hesitant after reading the negative reviews here but my stay was just fine and nowhere near the level of problems raised by some reviewers here. Consider the price I paid,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank knowmyhotels
Darren S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review

It is refreshing to hear a full honest review and we are starting a full renovation of this property to bring us back with the latest up-to-date standards! We as a team never loose sight of maintaining clean, fresh rooms and a friendly team. Guest satisfaction is our priority. Sincerely, Darren S Area General Manager

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.1 km away
Extended Stay America - Durham - Research Triangle Park - Hwy 54
5.5 km away
Comfort Suites Raleigh Durham Airport/RTP
1.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Research Triangle Pk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
14.7 km away
Comfort Inn Medical Park
Comfort Inn Medical Park
#40 of 71 in Durham
54 reviews
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn RTP
Comfort Inn RTP
#51 of 71 in Durham
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 2004 Quality Excellence Award Winner, Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP, conveniently located at I-40 and Hwy 55, exit 278. This beautiful property is in the heart of Research Triangle Park (RTP), and within minutes of Raleigh Durham International Airport, Southpoint Mall, GlaxoSmithKline, BASF, Bayer, IBM, NIEHS, USEPA, Duke University, UNC Chapel Hill, NCCU, Duke Medical Center, and the Vein Clinic. Shuttle service is available Monday-Friday to local attractions and businesses within 5 miles of hotel. At Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with 2 separate phone lines and FREE HIGH SPEED INTERNET. Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP provides our guests a Free Fitness Center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our Free Guest Laundry room. Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP is within walking distance of many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to Dine In, a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as Sodas, Snacks, and Ice Cream. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham

Address: 1818 E Nc Highway 54, Durham, NC 27713-2183
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Price Range: $104 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, Nc Hotel Durham
Candlewood Suites Durham
Candlewood Durham
Durham Candlewood Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#14 Family Hotel in Durham
#20 Business Hotel in Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
fair lawn, nj usa
over a year ago
fair lawn, nj usa
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I particularly like the 3rd floor. Elevator is reasonable fast, so it isn't an issue. 3rd floor seemed very quiet.”
WayWardDeputy, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
stephis545, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I always prefer the first floor.”
Tarheeldude, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great location. Great Rates.”
rs2001stew, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Find a different hotel”
bobbib45, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5