We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sanderling Resort

Show Prices
#1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Sanderling Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

868 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sanderling Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 859: English reviews
Morgantown, West Virginia
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was our first time at the Sanderling and we will be back! From the beautiful resort, to the first class customer service, the Sanderling did not disappoint. We were in a new room on the Sound Side and it was lovely. The room was furnished beautifully and it was so quiet. We had a private deck where we watched...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie T
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed your vacation and are looking forward to a return visit.

Sellersville, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I stayed 7 nights in June 2014. The resort is very relaxing and peaceful. I would recommend this resort and would return! ROOM: We stayed in an Oceanside king room on the second floor overlooking the tranquility pool, and even though the room was on a slight angle to the beach, we could still see a tiny...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CA B
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your week visit with us. I can imagine how scary seeing a black widow would be ...luckily it's not a common occurrence. Glad you got to enjoy many of the amenities and services we offer. Hope to see you next year.

Seattle, Wa
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Sanderling resort was our first stay in the Outer Banks, and we loved our relaxing days. The property is situated perfectly on a narrow part of the land, being able to see both the Atlantic and the Sound. Our room was in the North Wing and was more than enough room for the 2 of us. The furnishings were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Seattleadams
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your vacation and found the Sanderling to be an ideal location for you. Thank you for recognizing our staff and we will share your comments with them.

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We drover here for the long-weekend to relax after hearing great reviews. Our room was clean and the sheets were clean and white. There was very little walking required to reach the ocean which was very convienient. The only con was the you had to cross the street in order to get to the swimming pool and spa. We will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barney S
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

We are so glad you will visit us again. Thank you for being our guest. Note to future travelers: The indoor pool is across the street with the spa (on the Sound). The two outdoor pools are on the same side of the street as the guestrooms (on the Oceanside).

Greenwich
Reviewed 3 July 2014

No cancellations, refunds, credits or even changes to a reservation once you are within 16 (that's Sixteen) days of arrival. Never seen a hotel with such a policy. I won't risk exposing myself to such a policy again. It's not necessary when there are so many good hotels with more reasonable 7 day policies.

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Mmurray63
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry that you do not agree with our cancellation policy. Our cancellation policy is similar to others in a destination location and within our competitive set for non-branded properties. It is clearly stated on our website, confirmations and verbally explained at the time of taking the deposit information. Travelers to the Outer Banks find that most accommodations are...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Sanderling. It is just fantastic. The service is excellent. We spent the majority of our time on the beach under the resort provided umbrella or at the tranquility pool just relaxing. The breakfasts at the Lifesaving Station were outstanding. I loved my facial at the spa. We will definitely be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pattie S
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell other travelers of your experience. Glad you had a memorable experience and we look forward to pampering you again.

Chico, California
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We just spent last Tuesday through Friday at the Sanderling Resort and absolutely loved our time there. The rooms were nice size, the staff was so friendly and helpful, the bars and restaurants had excellent food and drinks. The location on the ocean was perfect, the beach was quiet with only the people from the resort on the beach. I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Louwane P
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

We are so glad you had a memorable family vacation with us and look forward to your return.

Nashville, TN
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

No need to repeat all the positive reviews ... They're on the mark. Great place for families, large rooms, outstanding beach, nice restaurants, helpful staff, no hidden fees, nice mix of good restaurants a short drive away. My only suggestion is that it would have been wonderful to have beach-side and poolside drink service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tamjm
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your visit! Unfortunately, we are not able to serve beverages on the beach by NC Law. (You can purchase at the Sandbar and taking it out to the beach but we are not able to offer service on the beach) We do offer poolside service.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 24 June 2014

First off, let me warn you that when coming to the Outer Banks, especially the Northern part, avoid arriving/leaving during the weekend. There's pretty much just one way in and out of the area. We left on Saturday, and traffic was backed up on Route 12, and also on the Chesapeake Bridge (and way beyond), for a good 25 miles....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank purplehatartist
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you selecting the Sanderling to spend your special Anniversary! We hope you will join us again. Thank you for your review and also the photos. Glad you got the R & R and pampering you had hoped.

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I enjoyed my recent stay at the Sanderling Resort, but everything was not perfect. First let me say that this is a very nice hotel situated on a beautiful, quiet portion of beach in Duck. The umbrella and chair service, pools, and fire pit were very nice. I really enjoyed relaxing on the chairs on top of the sand dunes...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank travel12335
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

We are glad you found us and apologize we did not live up to all your expectations. Certainly cleanliness is very important and will be addressed. We are planning on making some changes to those Loft Suites over the winter. We do hope you will give us another opportunity.

648 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (336)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (53)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (149)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (284)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Oceanfront King Room (38)
Viewed
Oceanside King Room (38)
Viewed
Pool (31)
Viewed
Premium Oceanfront King (42)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
14.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
22.7 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
36.8 km away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,358 reviews
25.0 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the Sanderling Resort, casually elegant first-class amenities blend seamlessly with the spectacular landscape to foster connection and renewal. Offering magnificent views of both the Atlantic Ocean and the Currituck Sound, our guests have the same unique opportunity to admire both a sunrise and sunset - both over water. The Resort's guestrooms with their oversized bathrooms and generous decks, are a perfect complement to the quality of the natural setting, while our acclaimed spa and pools provide both unparalleled serenity at the tranquility pool, or a boisterous family environment at the Resort pool. The Resort's renowned restaurants offer the finest dining on the Outer Banks, with perfectly prepared and presented fresh coastal cuisine and a choice of venues to match the time of day, the season and your mood. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sanderling Resort

Address: 1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949-4635
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Price Range: $199 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanderling Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanderling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanderling Hotel Duck
Sanderling Resort Duck
The Sanderling
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sanderling Resort staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
6 months ago
Richmond, Virginia
NJ
4 months ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Sanderling Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for rooms not blocked for sunrise by the sandbar building.”
  • Premium King Ocean View
  • View from private balcony
 of 5 bubbles Hdtoth, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The resort has many restaurants, but we went across the street and dined at the Paper Canoe (open seasonally & more affordable).”
 of 5 bubbles loconnor0526, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ocean and sound views, you really cant go wrong!”
 of 5 bubbles jaymehfoud, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The South rooms are quieter from what I read and what I experienced. Seemed to be mostly couples in those rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles slygal2016, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view? Third floor. Sunset? Sound side.”
 of 5 bubbles efhalter, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay