We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sanderling Resort

Show Prices
#1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Sanderling Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

876 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sanderling Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 866: English reviews
Owensboro, Kentucky
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our family of four visited the Outer Banks in July 2014. After much research and reading many reviews, including Fodor's (not a Fodor's Choice), TripAdvisor and the Southern Living Hotel Collection, we decided to stay at the Sanderling Resort and Spa in Duck, North Carolina. We were a little concerned about their cancellation policy and the price point, so we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Wildcat_Reviews
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us a chance. We are glad your family has many happy memories of their time in the OBX. Hopefully you feel more confident booking with us for your next OBX vacation.

Wayne, New Jersey
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We just returned home from our sons wedding at the Sanderling. While the wedding was beautiful and so is the resort, unfortunately, some of the cleaning staff was not as beautiful. When we arrived and got our keys to the Griggs house, it looked great on the surface. We then tried to get into bed for a nap and found...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DP0476
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

We enjoyed having your families special time at the resort. We are glad your wedding party enjoyed the homes as part of the weekend celebration. We have done a thorough investigation of the claim and have not found this to be linked to our team. They do go into the home in pairs and in most instances towel exchange which...

Boston, MA
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We, a family of 5 visited over Memorial Day. Hotel and facilities are of very high standard and very clean, service generally very friendly and good ( except our first morning's breakfast service which was excruciatingly low). Beach is beautiful. Firepits at night provide great entertainment for the kids. We had asked for a late check out on our last...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank drapj005
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting with us over the holiday weekend. We are glad you could enjoy the beach and all the other amenities. Typically the water is warm enough by Memorial Day. Sorry for the slow breakfast service (and thank you for letting us know). We hope the family will join us again soon.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here while on a whirlwind wedding venue tour earlier this summer. While we didn't ultimately choose Sanderling, it was a great place and we will definitely come back for a visit. Located in beautiful, laid-back Duck, Sanderling offers the best of the Sound and the Ocean. The beaches are beautiful and open, the grounds are comfortable and luxurious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S G
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Congratulations on your engagement. Sorry we were not selected but wish you all the best during this exciting time. Our price points do change throughout the year so please sign up for our emails and hopefully you can come enjoy an oceanview room in the near future.

Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Our family had a wonderful stay at the Sanderling Resort. We loved the casual atmosphere it was so relaxing. The staff was wonderful and the rooms were great with a large bathroom. The beach is so close and the pool was a great place to relax. The restaurants on the property were all wonderful. Great place! We look forward to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dana J
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your family getaway on Tripadvisor. We look forward to your return visit.

Reviewed 9 July 2014

My boyfriend and I recently traveled to the Sanderling for a long weekend over July 4th. Unfortunately, our trip was compressed because of Hurricane Arthur (our flight was canceled) and we could not make it down until a day and a half later. When we called the Sanderling mgmt staff, we were met with utter rigidity and absolutely no flexibility...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessica B
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for joining us and we look forward to welcoming you in the future. We wish we could extend and accommodate all early arrival and late check out requests and they are handled on a case by case basis. In your case, you were given until 1pm which is 2 hours past our normal 11am check out however we...

Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We arrived a day earlier than our house was available. Nancy was wonderfully accommodating and found us rooms for ten of us in 10 minutes. We loved the resort - nice upscale but casual decor - instantly comfortable and relaxed. The pools and fire pits were great fun for all - lovely day on the beach. Had a great dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FoodiegirlsUK
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

So glad you discovered us and next time can plan to come early to spend time here. The Lifesaving Station (Kimball's and Spa at Sanderling) are always open to visitors, locals and hotel guests so plan to have the entire family dine again with us.

Paducah, KY
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Seeking an escape with a chance to relax and do as we may, we fortunately discovered Sanderling Resort. Upon arrival and throughout our stay, we were made to feel special by the most hospitable staff we've ever encountered during our travels! The rooms were spacious, the beds were comfortable, the balcony relaxing and the bathroom and shower even had the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Avig8or
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

We are so glad you were able to unwind and really enjoy your vacation. Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you.

Morgantown, West Virginia
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was our first time at the Sanderling and we will be back! From the beautiful resort, to the first class customer service, the Sanderling did not disappoint. We were in a new room on the Sound Side and it was lovely. The room was furnished beautifully and it was so quiet. We had a private deck where we watched...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie T
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed your vacation and are looking forward to a return visit.

Sellersville, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I stayed 7 nights in June 2014. The resort is very relaxing and peaceful. I would recommend this resort and would return! ROOM: We stayed in an Oceanside king room on the second floor overlooking the tranquility pool, and even though the room was on a slight angle to the beach, we could still see a tiny...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CA B
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your week visit with us. I can imagine how scary seeing a black widow would be ...luckily it's not a common occurrence. Glad you got to enjoy many of the amenities and services we offer. Hope to see you next year.

657 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (345)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (154)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (284)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Oceanfront King Room (38)
Viewed
Oceanside King Room (38)
Viewed
Pool (31)
Viewed
Premium Oceanfront King (42)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
14.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
22.7 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,111 reviews
36.8 km away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,369 reviews
33.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the Sanderling Resort, casually elegant first-class amenities blend seamlessly with the spectacular landscape to foster connection and renewal. Offering magnificent views of both the Atlantic Ocean and the Currituck Sound, our guests have the same unique opportunity to admire both a sunrise and sunset - both over water. The Resort's guestrooms with their oversized bathrooms and generous decks, are a perfect complement to the quality of the natural setting, while our acclaimed spa and pools provide both unparalleled serenity at the tranquility pool, or a boisterous family environment at the Resort pool. The Resort's renowned restaurants offer the finest dining on the Outer Banks, with perfectly prepared and presented fresh coastal cuisine and a choice of venues to match the time of day, the season and your mood. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sanderling Resort

Address: 1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949-4635
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Price Range: $200 - $646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanderling Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanderling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanderling Hotel Duck
Sanderling Resort Duck
The Sanderling
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sanderling Resort staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
8 months ago
Richmond, Virginia
Greenville, NC, United States
15 days ago

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Sanderling Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“South side is quieter.It has an elevator. No views of beach from any rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles marta_mil, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beautiful location”
 of 5 bubbles ArianaM494, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms not blocked for sunrise by the sandbar building.”
  • Premium King Ocean View
  • View from private balcony
 of 5 bubbles Hdtoth, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The resort has many restaurants, but we went across the street and dined at the Paper Canoe (open seasonally & more affordable).”
 of 5 bubbles loconnor0526, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ocean and sound views, you really cant go wrong!”
 of 5 bubbles jaymehfoud, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay