We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Motel 6 Charlotte

Orbitz.comUSD 83*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 83*
USD 83*
USD 83*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel 6 Charlotte
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 15: English reviews
Start your review of Motel 6 Charlotte
 Click to rate
New York City, New York
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Had an emergency and needed a room for two nights, had I know what I was in for I would have slept in my car. Staff very unfriendly, sordid characters hanging around the lobby, the place reeks of Fabreze and when that wears off, there is a very pungent smell. It says no smoking but room smells like old stale...

Thank therubes
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

We wanted a cheap hotel not too far from Noda and this place fit the bill. It was a little dirty, the green cloth on the front cover was a little stained. The walls are very thin so you can hear things going on outside. It looked freshly painted and the bathroom was nice. The room felt a little creepy...

Thank Brenda L
Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed five nights because we needed a pet friendly hotel close to a job site but had to change hotels because of the location. Our room had been updated with hardwood floors but it was done cheaply and the metal transition from the room into the bathroom wasn't even tacked down. Other crew members had rooms that weren't yet updated...

3Thank Georgette B
Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

This place is absolutely horrible. My husband and I had to get a room here bcuz everywhere else was booked and we got stranded. There was prostitution going on and God only knows what else. Oh yeah, let's not forget the bed bugs I found crawling on us at 4:00 am. Then when I asked for my money back they...

Thank Rachel H
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Charlotte, responded to this review

Rachel, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. Please know the issues you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. Safety and security are high priorities within...

Banner Elk, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 March 2015

This was an overnight trip to Charlotte, and it was dark and we were tired and it was there so we got a room. Big Mistake! As others have mentioned, our room (#116) had a peculiar smell. Other things I noticed were no bedside lamp, one chair for 2 people, the thinnest toilet paper ever (I mean, you shouldn't be...

2Thank Wyndswept8
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Rm#304, weird terrible smell in the room, fire alarm missing & wiring hangs from ceiling, makeshift drawers, a/c temp control broken, light cover missing, hall dirty, garbage piled at exit, people hanging out in the hall in the middle of the night and more issues.

1Thank Rita H
Burlington, North Carolina
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Chose this hotel because options were limited for a pet friendly hotel during ACC championship weekend. Not in the greatest neighborhood, but what do you expect for 50 some dollars? Check-in was simple and easy, the hotel doesn't look the best but I'm still ok. Only one entrance to the entire hotel, kind of odd, but still, I can deal...

Thank Gregoneer
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Charlotte, responded to this review

Dear Gregoneer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. Please kindly contact our Guest Relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I was on a cross country trip for rest and relaxation with various friends and stayed at hotels between stays at friends homes. I was only staying for a night as I rested on long drive days so I did not need anything fancy. Microtel offered a friendly staff and a safe comfortable room. That was all I needed.

4Thank arizonaac
Piney Flats, Tennessee
Reviewed 12 May 2011

The location is terrible. I felt like I couldn't go to sleep for fear someone was going to break into my room. The fire alarm went off randomly through the night and there were shady characters roaming around the area, inside and out. The mirror wall behind the bed definately gives the room a sleezy feel. Next time I will...

3Thank bns42
jrsuites, General Manager at Motel 6 Charlotte, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for choosing the Microtel Inn Charlotte during your visit. We sincerely apologies for your experience. We have been trying to contact you to discuss this matter & hope to remedy the matter to your satisfaction. We are a Metro Charlotte hotel within 5 minutes of uptown Charlotte. The night in question there was a severe storm...

Reviewed 4 February 2011

I've been coming to Charlotte once every month since April of 2010 and stay 3-5 days. The first time I came up I stayed at the Days Inn off Sugar Creek and everything about the hotel was awful. The second time I came up I stayed at another hotel close by, and again was not satisfied. Finally I found this...

2Thank rivera198622

31 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (31)
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Bathroom (3)
Room/Suite (8)
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Continental Inn
#111 of 177 in Charlotte
53 reviews
Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC
#109 of 177 in Charlotte
194 reviews
Mineral Springs
Rodeway Inn University Area
Rodeway Inn University Area
#118 of 177 in Charlotte
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn University Place
#79 of 177 in Charlotte
217 reviews
Super 8 Charlotte Downtown Area
#112 of 177 in Charlotte
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just minutes from uptown Charlotte and within driving distance to the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, Bank of America Stadium, Freedom Park, Nascar Hall of Fame, Carowinds, and Charlotte Motor Speedway. We are a 100% smoke free hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel 6 Charlotte

Address: 1111 W Sugar Creek Rd, Charlotte, NC 28213-5419 (Formerly Microtel Inn Charlotte/ North)
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Price Range: $101 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Charlotte 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Motel-6, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Motel 6 Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Charlotte Hotel Charlotte
Microtel Charlotte
Charlotte Microtel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Charlotte staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else.....”
therubes, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else unless you are a crack-head.”
Wyndswept8, 3 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Don't choose room 201, I know first hand that room is just plain nasty.”
Gregoneer, 11 Dec 2013 | Read review
3 of 3
USD 83* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 83
Hotwire.comUSD 83
View all 9 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates