We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cape Hatteras Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cape Hatteras Motel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cape Hatteras Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 257: English reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

I would actually rate this higher as it was perfect for what we were looking for - but it's not a five star motel as they're typically rated! The room is big, has a coffee maker, sm. fridge (and microwave but who uses those destructive health hazards 😜)...clean and comfortable bed. Room has that more like cottage feel than you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cjrichards33
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! Just want to clarify things - there is never a fee for room service. In our motel rooms we provide service upon request. Suites with kitchens are serviced through linen swaps and amenity pick up at the office. We're not sure where the "extra fee" idea came from in your case - but rest assured...

Syracuse
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Where do I start? The entire visit was awesome! The office staff was so friendly and helpful. We stayed in a townhouse and loved it. It was clean, well stocked, and the view was incredible. Steps away from the beach makes it so easy with our grandchild and not having to lug all the beach stuff every time we go....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shamrockin
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We keep working on making sure our rooms are what our guests expect. How to see you again!

Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Very spacious townhouse with 2 levels and 2 balconies (with rocking chairs), one being private. Fully furnished. The dishwasher was a plus. Great view right on the ocean. The staff provided exceptional service. The pool was clean and big! Nice quiet area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennifersword
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive comments! We hope you'll come back and visit soon.

Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed soundside in a suite. We were wondering what to expect due to some mixed reviews. When we arrived 2 hours early, we went to the office to check in, to our surprise our room was ready, and we're able to check in early. The man at the front desk was very friendly and inviting. When we entered our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John B
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. We will consider lengthening pool hours during the summer. As the pool is not out from the bottom, we want to insure safety. We'll see what we an do as that's probably a good idea. See you next time!

Clayton, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 July 2016

This motel is on a beautiful spot of beach on Hatteras. The outside looks great.The inside is the issue. I expected an older room, maybe in need of a remodel after viewing the motel pictures. The room was dirty, rug always sandy and wet feeling, room smelled terribly musty, window blinds were broken, holes in the walls all over, bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JoanGermantown
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

We are very sorry for this guest's experience. We consistently ask for feedback during a guest's stay or prior to departure so that we can address any issues. We are working toward updating and upgrading the rooms over time and it seems this one needs a bit more TLC than the others. It would have been helpful to us for...

Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Came to OBX with my daughter and her friend. Check in was easy but our room was not as described. The room had an odd odor. Someone had peed on the couch making it unusable. The love seat was broken and hard to sit in. We had no view of any sunset from inside the room. On the other hand...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Petra H
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

While we appreciate and respond to every review, we really have to wonder if this is a review of our property. People do get confused as many motels here have similar names. However, assuming that it is -- we are perplexed as we have had no reports of damaged furniture of any kind from guests or housekeepers (and certainly not...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

This is the second year my sister her boyfriend and I and my daughter have stayed here. Again we had trouble with are reservations. Last year we were supposed to be on 1st floor rooms got damaged so we did get a nice room on second floor all worked out. This year we was supposed to have a room on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

We are very sorry this guest had a bad experience. Rooms on the oceanfront can, and do, at times have a musty smell from the humidity - especially during and just after times of heavy rainfall. The AC and drier days usually help immensely. We continue to address this issue when raised as needed. The difficulty with reservations is perplexing....

Owensboro, Kentucky, United States
Reviewed 30 May 2016

This is not a luxury hotel, but it was just what I was looking for. It was reasonably priced, oceanfront, clean and quiet. The staff that checked me in were friendly and helpful. The room was clean. The refrigerator was not very pretty with some surface rust on the door, but it kept our food nice and cold. There were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DD42301
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. The wifi can be spotty - we appreciate the feedback. If you contact us with your room number we will check out the fridge. Salt air and humidity can get the best of our appliances. We hope to see you again - we'll keep improving.

Pittsburgh
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Where to start? From Arthur helping my husband and I at 4:30 in the morning, to the welcoming staff later that morning to finish our check in. You could not ask for a more welcome, friendly, accommodating staff. This hotel is clean, inviting, and comfortable; not to mention it is situated on the perfect spot -both oceanfront and sound side...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jennkruel
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 18 May 2016

The people at the front desk were very pleasant and helpful. The room was 2nd floor efficiency. Very clean and comfortable. The view was the best. You could hear the pounding surf as you lay in bed. This was our 2nd stay. Does not disappoint.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie K
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon!

190 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (176)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.4 km away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
4.7 km away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
16.9 km away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
43 reviews
1.4 km away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
284 reviews
0.1 km away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cape Hatteras Motel is located on the oceanfront in Buxton North Carolina. We are located about a mile down the beach from the famous Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. The motel is bordered by the Cape Hatteras National Seashore and the Atlantic Ocean. The motel has a fresh water pool with a hot tub. When conditions are safe, our beach is great for swimming and surfing. It is also one of the best places in the country to surf fish. We are about ten miles from the marinas at Hatteras Inlet. Boats out of Hatteras have the shortest run to the gulf stream north of Florida. There is also a fishing pier five miles north of Cape Hatteras Motel. We offer oceanfront rooms with either one king or two queen beds. We also offer two bedroom suites, complete with full kitchens.These units are complete with linens and dishes. All units have access to free Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs and air conditioning. Whether you are coming to Cape Hatteras to surf or kite board, windsurf or fish, or maybe to just walk our miles of National Seashore beaches; the Cape Hatteras Motel is the place to stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cape Hatteras Motel

Address: 46556 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Price Range: $157 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Cape Hatteras Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Cape Hatteras Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hatteras Motel Hotel Buxton
Cape Hatteras Hotel
Cape Hatteras Motel Buxton, Hatteras Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cape Hatteras Motel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
6 months ago
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
6 months ago
Alexandria, Virginia
5 months ago

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Cape Hatteras Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 310 or 312 are perfect - the best...!!”
  • Standing inside the room, this is the view...... heaven on earth for me :)
 of 5 bubbles Sofisticat, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are within walking distance to the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles CandaceM619, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“At least in the off season there aren't many other guests to disturb you.”
 of 5 bubbles teresamY4750SR, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the second floor in building A or B”
 of 5 bubbles RogerC149, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best stay on the Cape, close to restaurants and activities. Quiet and quaint! Loved every room I've stayed in 208 had all we needed!”
 of 5 bubbles KQD56, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5