We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG hotel

Save
Share
8412 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9052
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
USD 127
View deal
Travelocity
Traveluro
eDreams
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (113)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (10)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 17 hotels in Blowing Rock
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Thanks to a fresh, modern property and the excellent amenities of the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Blowing Rock South, you'll rest in complete comfort when you stay with us. We also have a great location that is just one mile outside of the charming city of Blowing Rock, NC. The hotel's corporate guests are sure to appreciate the on-site Business Center, which includes print and copy services, making it easy to stay in touch with the office while you're here. Our guests are close to businesses like Samaritan's Purse, and Appalachian State University is just a short drive away, too. While in the scenic Appalachian Mountains, be sure to take a drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway, which offers the perfect way to enjoy the splendor of the area. The hotel's location in Blowing Rock, NC also places you near fun, family attractions, such as Tweetsie Railroad and Grandfather Mountain.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Skiing
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
592Reviews7Q+A97Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 187
  • 226
  • 119
  • 45
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Shelly wrote a review Sep 2021
Raleigh, North Carolina39 contributions26 helpful votes
Rooms were clean and fresh. We aren’t able to comment on the breakfast because we didn’t have any, but enjoyed the hot coffee. Observations: the signage is terrible combined with the narrow entrance. Our one complaint: the back parking lot is not lit. There are no lights! None! So while you wear your mask to stay safe, it’s not wise to to be in the parking lot alone. Because: #safety. Black as night. I don’t even think you can see the curb where the sidewalk joins the parking lot.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG hotel
Responded 8 Sep 2021
Dear Shelly, Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South! We're glad our tasty hot coffee started your day well. Your comments regarding lighting and signage will be discussed with our team. Having said that, it's great that you otherwise enjoyed our clean, fresh accommodations. We value your thoughtful compliments and hope you'll return! Hotel Management
Read more
mk21054 wrote a review Aug 2021
Punta Gorda, Florida168 contributions64 helpful votes
this place will rip you off!!! 199.00 for 2 queen beds!!! we almost dropped to the floor ! we had to ask for a vet discount and that brought it to 179.00 big deal.....so with tax 200$$$ and we couldn't sleep because we were given an adjoining room and we heard every noise and i do mean EVERY noise!! in the morning in the spirit of transparency, i did create a stir and was comped our room!! but no sleep and the long drive home..... stay somewhere else, the air conditioning is a poor excuse!!! and the breakfast sucks!!!! the room smelled so musty probably wasn't cleaned since the clinton administration
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG hotel
Responded 30 Aug 2021
Thank you for informing us of your experience. Providing clean and comfortable accommodations is our top priority, so we're disappointed to know that your stay was not what it should have been. We appreciate your constructive feedback, and our staff will be looking at each of your concerns so we can improve for the future. Rest assured, we will continue to do our best to provide a wonderful stay for all travelers. Hotel Management
Read more
anonymous372 wrote a review Aug 2021
Maryland19 contributions32 helpful votes
Air conditioner worked poorly. Either freezing cold or none at all. No working phone to contact front desk. Staff not masked in lobby even though required. Did not feel Covid safe. I would like my money back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG hotel
Responded 28 Aug 2021
We're saddened to hear about your experience. Please accept our apologies for any issues with the AC and phone as well as for any concerns about following safety guidelines. Your feedback helps us improve, and we'll look into your comments further. We welcome you to contact us offline for additional assistance, and we hope your next trip is more pleasant. Hotel Management
Read more
Beachrose1 wrote a review Aug 2021
17 contributions8 helpful votes
We were pretty disappointed with our stay here. Their website speaks about the great night’s sleep you will have. Not for us. There were various machinery beeping and ringing sounds throughout the night in our room. It was also warm in the room even on the lowest setting. (Possibly because the air vent couldn’t be adjusted and it was pointing down to the floor.) They talk about how wonderful their breakfast is. They were constantly out of everything. It took a long time waiting around to even get a plate full. (And it wasn’t even crowded.) I’m sure they are understaffed like many other places right now, but it was frustrating. The employees putting out the food were also not wearing masks. That wouldn’t have bothered me pre-Covid, but it was definitely concerning these days. (I realize policies on that vary per location) At the price that is charged we were expecting more.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG hotel
Responded 11 Aug 2021
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback. Our team is committed to providing the best experience possible and we want to apologize for dropping the ball. The front desk is always available to help resolve any problem you may encounter and would've loved to help find a solution for the noise and A/C issue you faced. You can bet that we will discuss your feedback to ensure that guests are having a cozy stay with us. We know that we can do better and would love another opportunity to prove this. Hotel Management
Read more
Goose007 wrote a review Aug 2021
NC87 contributions66 helpful votes
We have long been IGH customers for both business and leisure for years and mostly at Holiday Inn Express and have patronized this location several times. Things have gone downhill in less than a year since our last stay here. Problem after problem. Check in went well enough and we got a room we wanted. However there was a major functional issue in the room. Went to the front desk to address it. In line in front of me was a man with some major issue of his own. The poor clerk had to juggle customer complaints in addition to checking people in as there was no manager on site for the remainder of the day we were told while waiting. And this was in the afternoon! The DIY was that we had to come down daily to the desk and get our own supplies--towels, soap, toilet paper. One day I asked for soap; they didn't have any. What?? You had to empty your own trash and leave it in the hallway along with your used towels. Gross. I understand there is no Housekeeping daily service because of Covid but still. Other hotels will leave daily supplies at your door as one better solution. As far as trash; they should have a big can in a utility room for disposal on each floor. Speaking of trash, they had a late night man and woman housekeeping couple stripping linens and gathering trash on our floor. They left a huge open bag of garbage they collected from multiple rooms and left it in the hallway near our room! Photo is in this review taken at 10:10 at night. As far a cleanliness of the room mostly it was good but for that there were strangers' hairs left in the tub and the bathroom floor was dirty and had hairs gathered in the corner. Yuck. The carpet seemed vacuumed well and the furniture and bedding seemed cleaned well. The shower drain was very sluggish so your feet were always in dirty water. There were a couple of little spiders and also some other type of small bug. One of us woke up with 2 itchy red bug bites on their foot.! Not sure what from. But none of these were bedbugs so that worry was quickly ruled out at least after a quick internet search for photos of those. The bed was too soft and I am a lightweight person but it offered no support. There were both "Soft" and "Firm" pillows for each guest. Breakfast time was somewhat of an ordeal each day. DIY--had to wipe down our own table to sit at each day from the previous guests' use. The "attendants" did little to attend keeping up with supplying napkins, cups, hot water, or removing trash from the 2 cans when they were filled to overflowing. This is what it was like every morning. Had to keep asking them for things which should have been set out by the staff as needed but they were usually somewhere out the back door and not checking on what they should. During this time of Covid it would have been good if they kept the various sanitizer dispensers near the elevators and breakfast area filled with sanitizer but most were empty. Was much better last time when we were here when I guess they were taking precautions more seriously. The pluses of this hotel was having a good size room and that the room and guests were quiet (except for a very loud air conditioner). The newer carpet in the hallways was attractive. And we always need the refrigerator and microwave which we made use of and found in clean condition. The room darkening blinds and curtains with pull chains keep the room nicely dark for sleeping. Overall I was quite disappointed with the quality and management of this stay and find it ironic that their room rates were higher than we ever paid before for what you get (or don't get) for this price. Will probably look elsewhere next time we are in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG hotel
Responded 6 Aug 2021
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback. While our spacious rooms and quiet atmosphere were suitable for your travels, it appears that we fell short in other aspects of your stay. We do our best to notify guests of any policy changes prior to arrival. However, we want to apologize for the issues that you encountered. You can be confident that we will discuss these matters to ensure that our accommodations are squeaky clean and that we are providing the best service possible. We value you as a guest and would love another chance to impress you. Hotel Management
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 92 - USD 203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express blowing rock south hotel blowing rock
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsBlowing Rock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
118
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include Kilwins Chocolate Kitchen (1.0 km), Blowing Rock Art and History Museum (0.9 km), and Sunset & Vine (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sunny Rock Eggs and Things, Kilwin's, and Village Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.