We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 162: English reviews
Start your review of Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
 Click to rate
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

We stayed here for just two nights in mid-September. This is towards the end of the season for Sal Salis, so there weren't many other guests and this was perfect for us! The accomodation was just lovely, very comfortable, and to be able to look out of the door of our tent on to the deep blue Indian Ocean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry_and_Annette
MsAmanda_Fisher, Commercial Manager at Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef, responded to this review

Dear Terry & Annette, Thank you very much for taking the time to review Sal Salis. We are all very lucky to work in such a beautiful place, and we admit, we prefer being outdoors to sitting at the computer! Having said that, reviews like yours and feedback from other happy guests makes the desk-time worth it and puts a...

Perth, Australia
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Sal Salis is a luxury tented resort just metres from the beach in the Ningaloo National Park. Whilst it may be the "connected" generation's nightmare with no mobile phone and wi-fi reception, this is part of it's charm. When even mid range hotels these days can offer "luxury" appointments like a Flat screen TV, and marble bathroom, few properties can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melvyn K
About Hotel's Favourite Review
MsAmanda_Fisher, Commercial Manager at Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef, responded to this review

Dear Melvyn K, WOW you have done our marketing work for us, thank you! I love that last line about not wanting a holiday where the appointments were more luxurious than at home because that is the way WE feel about Sal Salis! We want it to be different to the place you would LIVE in .... a little bit...

Bondi, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Had a fantastic long weekend in Sal Salis and couldn't have enjoyed it more. I loved the whole set up - food was amazing, snorkeling was good, the team who worked there were super friendly and helpful and I loved the way that it brought guests together to make great friendships. I will admit that the whaleshark swimming is nowhere...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jillkla
MsAmanda_Fisher, Commercial Manager at Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef, responded to this review

Hi Jillkla, Thank you so much from all at Sal Salis, we really do appreciate you taking the time to review our lovely corner of Oz. Sounds like you are a wildlife adventurer for sure and so you would agree that every natural encounter is different. Best wishes for any forthcoming travels, no matter where they take you! Amanda

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We had been looking forward to staying here for years but our experience was mixed. In recent times, the accommodation has doubled - now there is no food choice at dinner, very limited at lunch, and if you want a cooked breakfast. The staff are very busy, but seemed indifferent about guests getting the most out of their very expensive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Citizen777
MsAmanda_Fisher, Commercial Manager at Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef, responded to this review

Dear Citizen777 ... I have to admit my sleuthing skills have failed me and I cannot work out who you are so that I can write to you directly. I wanted to check your tent number and the date against our water records, I am wondering did our team really forget to fill up your water cannister or did a...

Reviewed 22 October 2016

I think most of the reviews capture the vibe of the place- if you come here expecting standard 5 star facilities then you haven't done your research. It is a beautiful place, the food is great and the staff are very helpful and friendly. We loved the walks, the snorkelling and the beach The tents are lovely- yes there a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank X5257YCthom
MsAmanda_Fisher, Commercial Manager at Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef, responded to this review

Hi there and thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. Your points are well noted and we had in fact already started discussing possible modifications to the loos at the social area. I like your idea of a sparkling water tap, we are investigating Vivreau, Ion and Niagra. Paul will work out what our power /...

Northants, UK
Reviewed 6 October 2016

This is a tricky place to review... There is much to love, but not everyone would want a long time here. The pros: - A stunning setting with walleroos, turquoise sea, lovely beach etc - A great team... Candice, Tiff, Brendan, Julian, Paul, Rene etc - Organised hikes and snorkelling etc - Lovely food, with great care taken over people's...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jacky P
MsAmanda_Fisher, Commercial Manager at Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef, responded to this review

Dear Jacky P. Another well considered review and I thank you so much for taking the time and explaining what we are all about and who we suit. As you rightly point out Sal Salis is not for everybody; you are right too - the tents do flap in the wind! We do offer ear plugs (I hope there were...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 October 2016

This should probably be labelled an Eco Lodge, not a Luxury Lodge. The tent is well set up and kept very clean with comfortable bedding. The setting is fabulous. I loved reading in the hammock and watching the wallaroos wander by. The manager and staff are wonderful and seem to really enjoy what they are doing. The food was well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gs396
MsAmanda_Fisher, Commercial Manager at Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef, responded to this review

Dear GS396, thank you for your feedback, it is all valuable and we have taken particular note of your fish dinner comment to discuss with chef. Remarkably fish for the table is not always easy to get in Exmouth (other than frozen from the supermarket); it is one of those instances where the local supply is all sold to Perth...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We stayed for 5 nights at the beginning of August on a one month tour of Australia. The tent was well-maintained, the bed/linens very comfortable, and the amount of water provided for showers more than adequate. These are not the kind of uber-luxurios tents you might find in Africa but they are not advertised as such. Every morning from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marseus
MsAmanda_Fisher, Commercial Manager at Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef, responded to this review

Dear Marseus, Oddly my reply comes to you from Victoria Falls and I have just come back from inspecting various, wonderful lodges in Hwange National Park - very hot and dry at this time of the year but amazing wildlife. We do draw many of our Sal Salis inspirations from Africa and we do hope that it attracts the kind...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016

As a veteran of many a tented camp in Africa, it was wonderful to see the familiar Meru tents in a line along the WA dunes, overlooking the stunning Ningaloo reef. Even more exciting that Paul and his fiancee Candice are also both from Africa - so lots to talk about! The tents are gorgeous, super comfy beds and crisp...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky U
Amanda F, Commercial Manager at Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef, responded to this review

Hi Vicky, We are all thrilled that you loved your time at Sal Salis and enjoyed our beautiful location and our tented camp .... which we do admit has been inspired by Africa. We like to think of ourselves as African in ethos but with great Australian flavour!! And then we have wonderful people like Paul and Candice who just...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We had a wonderful time at Sal Salis with our teenage children. The staff was super friendly and organized great trips each day. The location stunning with luxury tents on the beach. Only downside I can think of is that if you have a third person in the tent staying with you he/she will sleep in a swag on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anne12345677
MsAmanda_Fisher, Commercial Manager at Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef, responded to this review

Thanks so much Anne, I do hope that the swag-sleeper slept well enough in their little bed, but perhaps not based on your review. I will touch base with Amy and Candice at the camp and see if they can shed more light on your comments. Generally we find swags work well for children but are not so good for...

214 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (178)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
3:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
35.6 km away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
40.3 km away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#1 of 6 in Exmouth
718 reviews
35.2 km away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#2 of 6 in Exmouth
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 km away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
130 reviews
36.2 km away
Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
33.1 km away
Ningaloo Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef is an eco resort consisting of 16 en-suite Wilderness Tents. The Heritage listed Ningaloo Reef is a few short steps away where a totally different and amazing world waits to be explored and enjoyed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef

Address: Yardie Creek Road | Cape Range National Park, Exmouth, Western Australia 6707, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Price Range: $1,403 - $1,760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef Hotel Exmouth
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef Exmouth, Western Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“bring something warm to wear at night!”
 of 5 bubbles Jillkla, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“new tents seem good”
 of 5 bubbles Citizen777, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had tent 8- lovely sitting area”
 of 5 bubbles X5257YCthom, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Furthest away from the main tent”
 of 5 bubbles VickyU627, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay in tent 8 - it is up on the hill (used to be the whale-watching location) and we had the best sunset views in the big comfy chairs.”
  • One of MANY fantastic sunsets!
  • The view from Tent 8
  • Looking up at Tent 8
  • Tent 8
 of 5 bubbles JasonT305, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5