We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Ningaloo Lighthouse Project

2 Yardie Creek Rd North West Cape, Exmouth, Western Australia 6707 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (64)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 5 campsites in Exmouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated 15-minutes from the town of Exmouth on the tip of the North-West Cape, nestled at the base of Vlaming Head Lighthouse, and just a stone's throw from the world-renowned Ningaloo Marine Park. Ningaloo Lighthouse Holiday Park is close to surf beach, boat launching facilities on the West Coast and our magnificent Cape Range National Park. You will truly feel the peace and tranquillity of an outback, coastal experiences whilst enjoying your stay with us. We offer basic 'three star' accommodation to suit most budgets. From the 'Lookout Chalets to a Cabin' we can accommodate your needs. We have accommodation for everyone's needs, some with wheelchair facilities. Our Lookout are our most sort after accommodation types, nestled into the side of Cape Range, offering and ocean view. We have sites to accommodate all size caravans, tents, camper trailers, buses and fifth wheelers.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Internet
Pool
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

2 Yardie Creek Rd North West Cape, Exmouth, Western Australia 6707 Australia
The Ningaloo Lighthouse Project
125Reviews3Q+A12Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 22
  • 39
  • 19
  • 21
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
lg0766 wrote a review Sept 2020
Western Australia26 contributions29 helpful votes
Well to be kind it is in a great location, sunset views from the nearby lighthouse are amazing. However, this park is dreadfully run down, seems to be managed by backpackers who cannot make coffee/ cafe didn't have much to offer at all. I did not feel the caravan park and it's bungalows/ cabins were value for money. Bore water - terrible shower, no bedroom door, BBQ wasn't maintained. It was a place to sleep and that's about all it could offer. So glad we hadn't booked an extended stay. Most disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Amanda R wrote a review Sept 2020
Bunbury, Australia5 contributions1 helpful vote
Where do I start, from the uneven floored, windy, unprotected campsites, to the absolutely disgusting and old toilets and showers, that DINGOES sleep in at night time, to the so called ‘wifi’ that doesn’t exist and terrible phone reception, save your money and check out one of the town caravan parks. We were refused a refund and booked in at RAC for the same cost which is absolutely 20/10 for a caravan park and the best we’ve ever stayed at. I’m not usually a negative reviewer but people need to know this!!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jana Weithardt, General Manager at The Ningaloo Lighthouse Project
Responded 7 Sept 2020
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that it was not what you expected. The park is located remotely with wildlife surrounding us. It has not been brought to our attention that dingoes were residing in the amenities, however we are aware and love the fact that we are close to and surrounded by nature and the beautiful wildlife the Northwest accommodates. The amenities will be upgraded in the near future, however we try our best to ensure a high standard of cleanliness with two cleans daily. Unfortunately the only service we receive within the park due to the location is Telstra, Optus is however available at the Lighthouse closeby. The Wifi at the park was very unreliable in the park in the past resulting in many disappointed guests so we discontinued this service this year until we are able to provide a more reliable service. We are planning renovations in the near future and hope to welcome you back once these have been completed. Kind Regards The LHHP Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tonymf wrote a review Aug 2020
Perth, Australia214 contributions122 helpful votes
We stayed here 2 nights on a motor home trip, it could have been much, much better, however. On the plus side the location was terrific, and the facilities quite adequate. Fuel was cheap and the cafe very pleasant. However, the advertised wifi was not working, and only Telstra phone reception is available. There was also an unpleasant sewage smell from time to time, which others have complained about - surely the management must be able to do something about this?
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jana Weithardt, General Manager at The Ningaloo Lighthouse Project
Responded 7 Sept 2020
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the park. We offered Wifi in the past, however due to our location it was not reliable and resulted in many complaints so we decided to discontinue the service. Telstra works within the park due to an internal setup. Optus works nearby on top of the Lighthouse Hill. Unfortunately we had an issue with one of our main pumps at the park which turned out very challenging to replace. Rest assured we are trying our best to fix any maintenance issues as quickly as possible, however at this current time replacement parts are hard to get in a short space of time in this location. We are planning upgrades of the park in the near future which will hopefully help in resolving current issues. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards The LHHP Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sargeparker wrote a review Aug 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa15 contributions4 helpful votes
My wife and I stumbled across the chalets the Previous year (2018) when we called in for a $5 shower after spending 10 days camping at the Cape Range National Park. We immediately booked a stay for the end of September 2019. We both thought it was absolutely fine. Facility’s were fairly simple but totally adequate. Each evening we would sit out on the Verandah and watch the whales and the sun set . Each day we would head off and explore the cape range national park or the beaches around the north west cape. Couldn’t get back there this year because of the blessed COVID 19 and we are stranded in Victoria. As soon as we can get back to Exmouth and the Ningaloo lighthouse caravan park we will. We understand there are renovations planned , we hope it doesn’t destroy the charm of the place. Good luck team.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jana Weithardt, General Manager at The Ningaloo Lighthouse Project
Responded 6 Sept 2020
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much last year that you decided to come back the following year. It is a shame that we were unable to welcome you back this year but we do hope to see you in the future on your next visit to Exmouth. Kind Regards Management and Staff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LDG wrote a review Aug 2020
Secret Harbour, Australia704 contributions104 helpful votes
We were allocated a spot on top of the hill for our caravan site , just outside the toilet and shower amenities. As soon as we got there until we left , if the wind blew in a certain direction a terrible sewerage smell was travelling in the air . Most likely from the septics , it was so bad we had to close every window and couldn’t cook tea one outside one night due to the smell . A few were complaining and they tried burning in sense to cover the stench. Occasionally walking through the park you could smell it. Friendly staff brought it up 1 mark but amenities need to be cleaned more often and not enough toilet/showers for the amount of people staying there. Swimming pool isn’t eye catching , good thing it does have is sell fuel and have a cafe . Will opt not to hit this place up again but, oh and it’s near the main surf beach. If management read this , every person who comes into camp/caravan should be shown there allocated spot . Two days was in the office , people had went in the wrong location or had to move as someone was partly on there’s . Would be less of a head ache .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jana Weithardt, General Manager at The Ningaloo Lighthouse Project
Responded 6 Sept 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Unfortunately we had to deal with a failed pump during your stay and as you would have noticed Exmouth was extremely busy during your stay with no other camp sites available. We were experiencing an incredibly high influx of visitors in July and August and were trying our best to accommodate as many visitors as possible. With the failure of the pump this was challenging and due to Covid-19 it seems that replacement parts are hard to get and take their time. We are planning upgrades at the park in the very near future which will help in preventing these incidents from happening in the future. We hope you enjoyed Exmouth and the area. Kind Regards Management and Staff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AJB wrote a review Aug 2020
95 contributions7 helpful votes
Perfect location ,lovely friendly staff but ammenities run down and a bit tatty Sites where a good size in our area , good sized slab and trees for shade The park was full so toilets & showers needed more than a once daily clean. No free wifi as per advertised Cafe not open/ serving tghe lovely meals i was hoping to enjoy
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jana Weithardt, General Manager at The Ningaloo Lighthouse Project
Responded 6 Sept 2020
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the park. It has been an incredibly busy season for us in Exmouth due to travel restrictions and we have been working hard on maintaining cleanliness in the amenities as much as possible with a clean in the morning and an afternoon check also. We did offer Wifi last season, however due to our remote location it was very inconsistent resulting in many complaints so that we decided to discontinue this service. The cafe was originally planned to be open all day serving food and drinks. However when we had to close at the start of the season due to Covid-19 and then reopened the park with very short notice we were unfortunately unable to reopen with all planned offerings. We are closing for renovations at the end of the season and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards The LHHP Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andrew Wallace wrote a review Aug 2020
Perth, Australia18 contributions14 helpful votes
Stayed in a cabin that sleeps 5, 1 double bed and 3 bunks. The double bed is very small and certainly not big enough for a 6 foot male and wife. The bunks are comfortable and perfect for kids. There is no hot water at the unit which is annoying. The toilet is off the main bedroom area and had a sliding door that is quite noisy so you’ll be woken all night when someone uses the toilet and when they open and close the sliding door. There is no door to the main bedroom, so not a lot of privacy for parents. The showers are 50 mts away and you can only shower in bore water that is very high in salt content, so basically you never feel really clean. The location is perfect and right across from the beach which is good fishing but not much for swimming. There is no oven either, only a microwave oven in the cabin, there is a bbq in the patio right outside the unit. Would I stay here again? Yes I would, but I like the simple things in life, if you like an upmarket caravan park or cabin, then this is definitely not the place for you.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jana Weithardt, General Manager at The Ningaloo Lighthouse Project
Responded 7 Aug 2020
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. The beds in the cabins are standard double beds so we are sorry to hear that you found them a little to small for your size. Unfortunately a larger bed would not fit in the room. The cabins are our most basic budget accommodation with toilet, however no shower. The showers are located nearby and we ensure that our pre-arrival letter informs our guests regarding the facilities provided in the cabins and also the water on site. Our showers are fed by bore water (cold) and fresh water (hot). The bore water is a little salty due to our close proximity to the ocean. The beach across the road is not ideal for swimming but it is a great place to enjoy the ocean and wildlife, go fishing or for a stroll down the beach. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards The LHHP Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Noelene F wrote a review July 2020
norseman5 contributions3 helpful votes
This park has absolutely gone to the pack. It is full of backpackers who are not so clean in the bathrooms. Park there cars anywhere they like, the showers and toilets are filthy, the water pressure is well non existent, I will never stay here ever again the price they charge is a absolutely joke for filthy toilets and showers.....
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jana Weithardt, General Manager at The Ningaloo Lighthouse Project
Responded 7 Aug 2020
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We are sorry to hear that it was not what you expected. At this time of year Exmouth is usually very busy which has been accelerated due to the travel restrictions and it has been hard for everyone to find a place to stay. It is disappointing when guests do not adhere to the rules especially at times like these when we are all trying our best to accommodate guests and provide a place to stay for everyone. We hope you enjoyed the area and nature this place has to offer. Kind Regards The LHHP Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Martybossy wrote a review July 2020
Port Kennedy, Australia208 contributions85 helpful votes
This was the second stay in the park. This time we booked an one bedroom cabin. The cabin was reasonably clean. There is a toilet in the room but no bathroom which was fine for us. The showers in the ablution block is close by. There is enough cookware present only you need to still use the communal kitchen for cooking your meal because there is no stove in the kitchen. There is an electric pan available though. Maybe provide a little electric stove aswell?! The cabin itself is a bit tired and small, especially with more then 2 persons but we found it affordable and it does the job. The foldable bed which was put in because we were with 5 person was a pain. It was hard to sleep on and was very noisy. The camp guests in the park can be a bit noisy at night.....especially in school holidays. But after a full day snorkelling we were very tired and it wasn’t bothering us too much. The park has facilities like fresh coffee and fuel....the entrance of the National Park is a 30 minutes drive away and closer by you can walk (or drive) up to the Vlamingh Lighthouse with nice views of the area. The SS Mildura wreck is also 10 min drive away. Will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jana Weithardt, General Manager at The Ningaloo Lighthouse Project
Responded 7 Aug 2020
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you had a good time and enjoyed your time here. We agree that the location is great if you are planning to go to the local beaches and into the national park for snorkelling and daily excursions. In school holidays we do experience a little bit of noise which is to be expected when we are at full capacity, however we do ask everyone to be mindful of others and if there are issues we are happy to handle those with our after hours emergency call service. We are planning renovations in the near future to upgrade our accommodation and facilities and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards The LHHP Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Blitzen123 wrote a review Nov 2019
46 contributions34 helpful votes
A brilliant place to stay, staff friendly and amenities great. However the internet was almost non existent. Which while at times is a nice change, when you are trying to organise aspects of your trip it gets difficult.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jana Weithardt, General Manager at The Ningaloo Lighthouse Project
Responded 7 Aug 2020
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the park. Unfortunately the internet does not work well a lot of the times due to our remote location. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards The LHHP Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Exmouth area.
LOCATION
AustraliaWestern AustraliaExmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE NINGALOO LIGHTHOUSE PROJECT (AU$51): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Exmouth) - Photos of Campground - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Ningaloo Lighthouse Project
Which popular attractions are close to The Ningaloo Lighthouse Project?
Nearby attractions include Vlamingh Head Lighthouse (0.3 km), Ningaloo Coast World Heritage Area (1.5 km), and Ningaloo Reef (1.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Ningaloo Lighthouse Project?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and free internet access.
Which room amenities are available at The Ningaloo Lighthouse Project?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Ningaloo Lighthouse Project?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Ningaloo Lighthouse Project?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Ningaloo Lighthouse Project?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Ningaloo Lighthouse Project?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Is The Ningaloo Lighthouse Project accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.